Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Monterey still working well after all the fixes
@CaseySJ, you might want to add my HDR fix for LG monitors to page 1, as a few people seem to be running into the same issue
This issue also happens with my wife’s 2022 16” MacBook Pro attached to the same monitor

Should I enable SIP etc, ie all options ?
This was disabled back in the day on Mojave when I was using Clover

1. cmd + R, recovery mode and csrutils enable
I don’t know if recovery mode actually works on a hackintosh

2. Enable it via OpenCore config.plist
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hello,

Coming back here after years of perfectly working built. Today I removed my NVMe disk from the Hackintosh, and suddenly I can't boot anymore on Catalina. I have 2 partitions, 1 is the main OS X and the other is a clone I keep for safety.
When I boot, I get this message on the BIOS screen even before getting to Clover bootloader: OCC Missing compatible GOP.

Then, in Clover, when I select OS X or the CLONE OS X, it will load and then black screen. (No idea if it's started or not.) I tried CMOS clearing, didn't help.

In Windows, I can't see my 2 OS X partitions (I use Macdrive). I can see them in Macdrive disk management. But they don't mount, and I have no option to repair them.

Side note, I don't know if its relevant but before removing the NVMe drive today, I had suddenly 2 partitions for the 2 system disks. There were a new Catalina-Data and Clone-Data partitions. I looked it up online, and I saw that it could happen with Catalina but wasn't a big deal. However I didn't have time to check more. Unfortunately I also updated the Clone drive before all the problems happened so the Clone and Catalina system disks are the same.
I tried verbose, safe mode... Didn't help. It loads but then it just goes black and the screen turns off to sleep.

I also tried disconnecting all drives besides Catalina, but same issues.

Any idea what may have happened and where I should start? Thanks a lot!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

Coming back here after years of perfectly working built. Today I removed my NVMe disk from the Hackintosh, and suddenly I can't boot anymore on Catalina. I have 2 partitions, 1 is the main OS X and the other is a clone I keep for safety.
When I boot, I get this message on the BIOS screen even before getting to Clover bootloader: OCC Missing compatible GOP.

Then, in Clover, when I select OS X or the CLONE OS X, it will load and then black screen. (No idea if it's started or not.) I tried CMOS clearing, didn't help.

In Windows, I can't see my 2 OS X partitions (I use Macdrive). I can see them in Macdrive disk management. But they don't mount, and I have no option to repair them.

Side note, I don't know if its relevant but before removing the NVMe drive today, I had suddenly 2 partitions for the 2 system disks. There were a new Catalina-Data and Clone-Data partitions. I looked it up online, and I saw that it could happen with Catalina but wasn't a big deal. However I didn't have time to check more. Unfortunately I also updated the Clone drive before all the problems happened so the Clone and Catalina system disks are the same.
I tried verbose, safe mode... Didn't help. It loads but then it just goes black and the screen turns off to sleep.

I also tried disconnecting all drives besides Catalina, but same issues.

Any idea what may have happened and where I should start? Thanks a lot!!!!

Any idea what may have happened and where I should start? Thanks a lot!!!!

If you are using the z390 Designaire motherboard, you could make a USB stick and put Casey's OC EFI on the EFI partition of the USB drive. Then boot into the OpenCore shell; mount your HDD; and optionally the EFI on the HDD. Mv EFI -> EFI.Clover, and copy the new one over from the USB. Of course, remove any Clover scripts

At the very least ,you will be able to view your drives from OC shell; mount them; and make sure everything is OK.

1. This will transition you over from Clover to OC directly, if you are using the same hardware as on this thread

2. You should be able to boot back into OSX Catalina, and, eventually, do an in-place upgrade to Monterey.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Yep, just with OpenCore I cannot boot on Windows, fron BIOS works, from OpenCore boot into a black screen.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
If you are using the z390 Designaire motherboard, you could make a USB stick and put Casey's OC EFI on the EFI partition of the USB drive. Then boot into the OpenCore shell; mount your HDD; and optionally the EFI on the HDD. Mv EFI -> EFI.Clover, and copy the new one over from the USB. Of course, remove any Clover scripts

At the very least ,you will be able to view your drives from OC shell; mount them; and make sure everything is OK.

1. This will transition you over from Clover to OC directly, if you are using the same hardware as on this thread

2. You should be able to boot back into OSX Catalina, and, eventually, do an in-place upgrade to Monterey.
Thanks that’s exactly the kind of answer I needed. Will try and keep you updated
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks that’s exactly the kind of answer I needed. Will try and keep you updated

See my prior posts in my attempts in the last few pages.
I can only help with what I know or have attempted and Casey's EFI & OpenCore transition has worked well so far for me.

Casey has much better experience on this hardware if it's something else.

Just FYI, I have experienced multiple Finder restarts in the middle of work & one hard freeze/lockup 5 min ago.

All my data is intact, so I don't know what is causing the finder to relaunch all of a sudden.
It could be either iTerm or MonitorControl or maybe the M.2 WD 770 is running hot at 42C, and I need open the cover & apply a new thermal pad.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Anyone able to dualboot with OpenCore?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Stuck on this while booting from BIOS is no issue.

So it's completely broken with OpenCore I need to boot from BIOS.
 

Attachments

  • 20221128_215128.jpg
    20221128_215128.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Strangely it also have this while booting OpenCore.
 

Attachments

  • 20221128_215324.jpg
    20221128_215324.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 10
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@xanderevo

What BIOS version are you running ? I'm on F9g.

I believe the Z390 board has a dual BIOS so you could fallback on the backup BIOS if need be
The board should boot up the BIOS without any OS, and you should not be "stuck" at the logo.
 
Top