Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thanks Casey, I'll try first to switch to opencore and then try again, also if last time it updated without issues this time the installation stops.

We'll see...

however if can help someone here in the forum I used an app called SuperDuper, it cloned both HDD and EFI with 1 click, and was bootable.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
All good, I was able to switch to open core and install ventura, but I get a kernel panic after 15 or 20 seconds after being logged in.

all kext are updated this is the folder:
Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.03.20.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.02.12.jpg
    Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.02.12.jpg
    468.8 KB · Views: 8

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,491
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
All good, I was able to switch to open core and install ventura, but I get a kernel panic after 15 or 20 seconds after being logged in.

all kext are updated this is the folder:
View attachment 558790
This seems like a problem with the APFS volume or SSD.
  • What is the make/model of your NVMe SSD?
  • Another possible cause might be some incompatible third-party drivers carried over from Mojave. What files do you see in /Library/Extensions?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Samsung NVME 980, attached /System/Library/Extensions and the panic log.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.16.11.jpg
    Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.16.11.jpg
    197.4 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.19.05.jpg
    Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 23.19.05.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 11
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I disconnected the AMD 580 (it's still in the slot) & just running iGFX out via TB/USB-C to the monitor when I did my Monterey in place upgrade. (UHD 630)
I'm wondering if thats the cause of the USB enumeration error, though there is a secondary error after the try/catch where L/E cannot be opened.
For some reason this was a file rather than a dir so I dropped to the terminal & fixed that and created an Extensions dir

Will try another install attempt as I don't see any reason for an install failure with internal gfx & there are no usb devices attached to the machine apart from the Logitech usb dongle for keyboard/mouse on the front USB 2.0 port
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Samsung NVME 980, attached /System/Library/Extensions and the panic log.

Are you running a raid config ? If not then you may not need that SoftRaid.kext

Also DigiDesign.....if you are using the DAW, make sure it is compatible with Ventura as Avid was somewhat notorious, back in the day for compatibility & driver issues, especially when using ProTools

You may want to disconnect some of the devices & restart & see if you can get the cpu to fault again & that might point to one of the drivers for your external devices, causing the issue (I'm guessing here based on the stacktrace you posted)


Casey will give you better insight into your issue.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Madmax, yes I disconnected everything except mouse and keyboard, and yes in my system there are 5 HDD and a windows dual boot (all disconnected for the update)

I need to have a look into startup apps, as the system crashes random after 15-30 seconds, don't think it's a config issue or a kext, otherwise won't be booting (Wifi also greyed out with a line on it)

I tried to remove all unnecessary from extensions like gpusensor etc... but without luck.

Anyway I have a Mojave backup, maybe I'll try Catalina or Monterey first if this does not work.

Yep, that's the reason why I never updated, but the new graphic card won't work without it.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Madmax, yes I disconnected everything except mouse and keyboard, and yes in my system there are 5 HDD and a windows dual boot (all disconnected for the update)

I need to have a look into startup apps, as the system crashes random after 15-30 seconds, don't think it's a config issue or a kext, otherwise won't be booting (Wifi also greyed out with a line on it)

I tried to remove all unnecessary from extensions like gpusensor etc... but without luck.

Anyway I have a Mojave backup, maybe I'll try Catalina or Monterey first if this does not work.

Yep, that's the reason why I never updated, but the new graphic card won't work without it.
Make a test user and login as that after restart and see if the crash happens
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...and we are in Monterey 12.6.1
The issue was the L/E being a file & not a dir. I think when I switched from Clover to OC, I nuked the Extensions dir & did a touch extensions, instead of a mkdir

**** poor use of logging from the devs when using opendir(). Should have printed out a better message.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,031
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...and we are in Monterey 12.6.1
The issue was the L/E being a file & not a dir. I think when I switched from Clover to OC, I nuked the Extensions dir & did a touch extensions, instead of a mkdir

**** poor use of logging from the devs when using opendir(). Should have printed out a better message.
there are some kexts provided by Apple that should be in /L/E
 
Top