Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,496
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

I'm having an issue trying to restore my main NVME drive from a backup I made a month ago. I'm running Big Sur.

I followed the steps in this mini guide for a Big Sur bootable backup last month and it worked great, as I am now running off that backup I made. I ran into a weird probably non-hackintosh related issue that made me want to revert to my backup. I took my USB SSD backup and connected it via SATA, erased my NVME drive and followed the same steps from the guide to clone my SSD to my NVME, but I can't seem to make the NVME bootable.

I've tried 2 versions of the EFIClone script, the first being EFIClone-v4 from here, the second being EFIClone from CaseySJ's github. I've tried it several times from both a failed clone and from a freshly erased drive, but there seems to be an issue with mounting the EFI.

When running `tail -f EFIClone.log`, I get `Mounting EFI source partition failed.` shown in the first image I've attached.

When running the script outside of CCC as instructed inside the script: `EFIClone.sh / /Volumes/Big\ Sur\ 2` I get the same error, shown in my second attachment.

I have set the test switch to off, I've made sure the CCC scripts folder is secured, I have changed basically no settings in the CCC task besides adding the script "postflight" and turning the safety net on/off, I've tried re-downloading the EFIClone script a few times just to make sure I didn't accidentally change something, and I've tried mounting the EFI of the source disk manually before running the task/script. Not really sure where to go from here. The only thing I can think of that I haven't tried is buying a new SSD and cloning to that in case the NVME drive is causing issues as a destination. I also haven't tried buying an NVME enclosure, just in case for some reason USB is required to do the clone.

Any ideas? Thanks :)
First of all, thank you for the clear description.

Some questions:
  • Are you able to mount the source EFI partition using EFI Agent, OpenCore Configurator, Hackintool, or any other app?
  • If so, does that partition contain a full EFI folder?
  • If so, one quick solution is to manually copy the EFI folder from source to destination.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
First of all, thank you for the clear description.

Some questions:
  • Are you able to mount the source EFI partition using EFI Agent, OpenCore Configurator, Hackintool, or any other app?
  • If so, does that partition contain a full EFI folder?
  • If so, one quick solution is to manually copy the EFI folder from source to destination.

Thanks for the quick reply!

• Yes, I can mount the source EFI no problem with clover, opencore, hackintool, or EFI agent;
• The source drive appears to contain a full EFI folder. Here is the pastebin of 'tree -F' inside that folder, not sure if I'm missing anything, but at this point this is the only EFI partition in my PC that has anything in it, so that EFI folder does allow me to boot from the source:

./
├── EFI/
│ ├── BOOT/
│ │ └── BOOTx64.efi*
│ └── OC/
│ ├── ACPI/
│ │ ├── SSDT-DESIGNARE-Z390-NO-CNVW.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-DMAC.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-DMAR.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-DTPG.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-EC.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-NVRAM.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-PLUG.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml*
│ │ ├── SSDT-USBW.aml*
│ │ └── SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml*
│ ├── Drivers/
│ │ ├── AudioDxe.efi*
│ │ ├── CrScreenshotDxe.efi*
│ │ ├── HfsPlus.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenCanopy.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenLinuxBoot.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenRuntime.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenUsbKbDxe.efi*
│ │ ├── btrfs_x64.efi*
│ │ └── ext4_x64.efi*
│ ├── Kexts/
│ │ ├── AppleALC.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── AppleALC*
│ │ ├── BlueToolFixup.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── BlueToolFixup*
│ │ ├── BrcmFirmwareData.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── BrcmFirmwareData*
│ │ ├── BrcmPatchRAM3.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── BrcmPatchRAM3*
│ │ ├── BrightnessKeys.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── BrightnessKeys*
│ │ ├── CpuTscSync.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── CpuTscSync*
│ │ ├── IntelMausi.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── IntelMausi*
│ │ ├── Lilu.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── Lilu*
│ │ ├── NVMeFix.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── NVMeFix*
│ │ ├── RestrictEvents.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── RestrictEvents*
│ │ ├── SMCProcessor.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── SMCProcessor*
│ │ ├── SMCSuperIO.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── SMCSuperIO*
│ │ ├── SmallTree-Intel-211-82576.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ ├── MacOS/
│ │ │ │ └── SmallTreeIntel82576*
│ │ │ ├── Resources/
│ │ │ │ └── English.lproj/
│ │ │ │ └── InfoPlist.strings*
│ │ │ └── _CodeSignature/
│ │ │ └── CodeResources*
│ │ ├── USBInjectAll-071.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── USBInjectAll*
│ │ ├── USBInjectAll-076.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ ├── MacOS/
│ │ │ │ └── USBInjectAll*
│ │ │ └── _CodeSignature/
│ │ │ └── CodeResources*
│ │ ├── USBWakeFixup.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── USBWakeFixup*
│ │ ├── VirtualSMC.kext/
│ │ │ └── Contents/
│ │ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ │ └── VirtualSMC*
│ │ └── WhateverGreen.kext/
│ │ └── Contents/
│ │ ├── Info.plist*
│ │ └── MacOS/
│ │ └── WhateverGreen*
│ ├── OpenCore.efi*
│ ├── Resources/
│ │ ├── Audio/
│ │ │ ├── AXEFIAudio_Beep.mp3*
│ │ │ ├── AXEFIAudio_Click.mp3*
│ │ │ ├── AXEFIAudio_VoiceOver_Boot.mp3*
│ │ │ └── OCEFIAudio_VoiceOver_Boot.mp3*
│ │ ├── Font/
│ │ │ ├── Font_1x.bin*
│ │ │ ├── Font_1x.png*
│ │ │ ├── Font_2x.bin*
│ │ │ └── Font_2x.png*
│ │ ├── Image/
│ │ │ └── Acidanthera/
│ │ │ ├── Chardonnay/
│ │ │ │ ├── AppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── AppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── BtnFocus.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Cursor.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Dot.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Enter.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtAppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtAppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtHardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── HardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Left.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Lock.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Password.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Restart.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Right.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Selected.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Selector.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── SetDefault.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Shell.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ShutDown.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Tool.icns*
│ │ │ │ └── Windows.icns*
│ │ │ ├── GoldenGate/
│ │ │ │ ├── AppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── AppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── BtnFocus.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Cursor.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Dot.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Enter.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtAppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtAppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ExtHardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── HardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Left.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Lock.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Password.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Restart.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Right.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Selected.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Selector.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── SetDefault.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Shell.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── ShutDown.icns*
│ │ │ │ ├── Tool.icns*
│ │ │ │ └── Windows.icns*
│ │ │ └── Syrah/
│ │ │ ├── AppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ ├── AppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ ├── BtnFocus.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Cursor.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Dot.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Enter.icns*
│ │ │ ├── ExtAppleRecv.icns*
│ │ │ ├── ExtAppleTM.icns*
│ │ │ ├── ExtHardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ ├── HardDrive.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Left.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Lock.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Password.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Restart.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Right.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Selected.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Selector.icns*
│ │ │ ├── SetDefault.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Shell.icns*
│ │ │ ├── ShutDown.icns*
│ │ │ ├── Tool.icns*
│ │ │ └── Windows.icns*
│ │ └── Label/
│ │ ├── Apple.l2x*
│ │ ├── Apple.lbl*
│ │ ├── AppleRecv.l2x*
│ │ ├── AppleRecv.lbl*
│ │ ├── AppleTM.l2x*
│ │ ├── AppleTM.lbl*
│ │ ├── EFIBoot.l2x*
│ │ ├── EFIBoot.lbl*
│ │ ├── Other.l2x*
│ │ ├── Other.lbl*
│ │ ├── ResetNVRAM.l2x*
│ │ ├── ResetNVRAM.lbl*
│ │ ├── SIPDisabled.l2x*
│ │ ├── SIPDisabled.lbl*
│ │ ├── SIPEnabled.l2x*
│ │ ├── SIPEnabled.lbl*
│ │ ├── Shell.l2x*
│ │ ├── Shell.lbl*
│ │ ├── Tool.l2x*
│ │ ├── Tool.lbl*
│ │ ├── Windows.l2x*
│ │ └── Windows.lbl*
│ ├── Tools/
│ │ ├── BootKicker.efi*
│ │ ├── CFGLock.efi*
│ │ ├── ChipTune.efi*
│ │ ├── CleanNvram.efi*
│ │ ├── ControlMsrE2.efi*
│ │ ├── CsrUtil.efi*
│ │ ├── GopStop.efi*
│ │ ├── HdaCodecDump.efi*
│ │ ├── KeyTester.efi*
│ │ ├── MmapDump.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenControl.efi*
│ │ ├── OpenShell.efi*
│ │ ├── ResetSystem.efi*
│ │ ├── RtcRw.efi*
│ │ ├── TpmInfo.efi*
│ │ └── VerifyMsrE2.efi*
│ ├── config-AMD-GPU.plist*
│ └── config.plist*
└── tree2.txt*

74 directories, 176 files

• I just tried manually copying the whole EFI folder. It did show up in the bootloader as 'EFI', but when I try to boot from it I just get an endless black screen. Is there anything else I'd have to do besides manually copy it?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390
CPU
Intel Core i9-9900K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB
Hello everyone,

I just updated to opencore 083 utilizing HackinDROM and everything seems to work normally except a message at startup screen:

"OCS: No schema for LegacyEnable at 2 index, context <NVRAM>!"

My current OS Bigsur 11.7.1

I'm not sure what it is. Could you please advise? Thanks in advance!


UPD

I tried option Validate in oc 083 and the error message disappeared.
I'm not sure if it was the right move though. Just come across somebody's comments here suggesting that step.
So I checked the config.plist and could see that LegacyEnable entry has been removed.

Thank you!
 
Last edited:

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,950
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CueMaxX

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for the detailed post.

As you can see, Thunderbolt Bus is not getting activated on Asus EX-3. It is fully activated on GC-TR.

We always had a difficult time with the Asus EX-3. I even damaged mine after a botched firmware flashing attempt!

@NorthAmTransAm - do you have any recommendations for salvaging the Asus EX-3? I have always recommended GC-TR ever since damaging the Asus EX-3.
Hey old friend!

I have a feeling that that card mixed specifically with the ASUS Prime z370-a II and that single byte change in the firmware was a lucky combination. It was caveman math to figure all of that out and in the end I discovered that using SSDT's and patches to get a full Thunderbolt Bus was a more consistent method than patched firmware. The card also needed a header to work in any case.

As always, GC-Titan 2.0 is the way unless i've fallen behind. Its been such a busy year I might have missed something.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the quick reply!

alright, a bit of an update.

I bought a new SSD (Samsung 870 EVO) just to see if the NVME was the issue. I did manage to clone my working install (860) to the new drive (870) without getting any errors from the script. The EFI copied successfully, using the same steps as I tried for the NVME, which failed. I used an online diffchecker tool to compare the output of `tree`(which just outputs the directory structure) for both EFI partitions, and to compare the config.plist from both EFI partitions, they are both identical. There is no difference between either of these drives now.

For now, I am happy to continue troubleshooting with just the SSDs, as I don't really care about the NVME drive and this seems to be getting me further.

If I unplug my working OS drive (860), and boot right off the new drive (870), It does boot into the opencore bootloader, but my only option to select on the default screen is "OpenShell.efi". Choosing that option gives me the first attachment.

If I instead hit the space bar during that default bootloader screen that only shows "OpenShell.efi", I get some more options.

•OpenShell.efi
•memcheck
•Shutdown
•CFGLock
•Toggle SIP (Disabled)
•Reset NVRAM

If I plug back in my working OS drive (860) and boot with both drives, I of course see the "Big Sur" option in the bootloader from my working drive, and then I see another option just called "EFI", which I think is from my new drive (870). Choosing that option gives me the infinite black screen again.

I double checked all my my BIOS settings to the original post on page 1 and they all line up, with the exception that the Thunderbolt options simply aren't present anywhere in my settings. I am on BIOS version F9g.

I also tried putting my new drive (870) into the SATA port that the working drive (860) is usually in.

Update edit: Ok, I think I figured it out. I just discovered CCC's "Legacy Bootable Copy Assistant". Basically before running the CCC task, I right clicked the destination drive and chose "Legacy Bootable Copy Assistant", and this returns no script errors on both my NVME and the new SSD, and allows me to boot from the bootloader. Do you have any experience with this? Is this safe to run off of? So far everything seems to be fine. If so, this should probably be added to the Big Sur backup mini-guide.
 

Attachments

  • 1.png
    1.png
    554.2 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2018
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi Fellas, long time no see.

So I was able to get some new components at a fair price (i.e. Graphic Card), and it's time for me also to update from Mojave directly to Ventura.

I updated Clover, (yes, I'm still with that) and all kext, backed up everything and boots fine.

However, when I try to start the updater it just reboots into Mojave no matter what. I was wondering if maybe some boot arguments or boot options are preventing the update to run. Maybe you have an Idea.

Screenshot 2022-11-26 at 14.33.40.jpg


*edit I was able to solve it, had some volumes hidden, but the installer now gets stuck at apple logo.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Switched over from M.2 Samsung 970 Plus to WDC Black 770
Also managed to drop the tiny M.2 cover screw inside the case....geez that was some anxiety
However, after 2 strong cups of coffee and some choice verbiage, the screw surrendered meekly

Back up & running Mojave, though now I seem to have 2 EFI entries in OC, though there are no more Clover folders anywhere on any disk. I set the default to the WDC 770 using Startup Disk in the mac
WDC 770 is running hotter at 40C, than the Samsung. Will keep it running for a few hours & see if the temp stabilizes back down to 25-28C, otherwise I will open it up again & replace the thermal pad

At this point, I think I'm good to go for an in-place update to Monterey, using the same OC-0.8.3 & that should be good enough for another year or so
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Hi all,

This is going to be a long shot but is anyone using the RX 5700 XT graphics card with a dual-boot hackintosh? Whenever I am on MacOS, it is working fine but I have been having issues with running on Windows 11 with the drivers crashing randomly and I have to hard-restart

Not sure if anyone else is having a similar issue and knows of any type of fix
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,496
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Fellas, long time no see.

So I was able to get some new components at a fair price (i.e. Graphic Card), and it's time for me also to update from Mojave directly to Ventura.

I updated Clover, (yes, I'm still with that) and all kext, backed up everything and boots fine.

However, when I try to start the updater it just reboots into Mojave no matter what. I was wondering if maybe some boot arguments or boot options are preventing the update to run. Maybe you have an Idea.

View attachment 558772

*edit I was able to solve it, had some volumes hidden, but the installer now gets stuck at apple logo.
Hello @xanderevo,

Long time indeed! I would suggest looking at these two steps from the Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

The steps are:
  1. Update to BIOS F9i and use the BIOS configuration guide for Firmware F8 and newer to configure BIOS after the date. Be sure to also set Boot --> CFG-Lock --> Disabled.
  2. Then try the procedure to replace Clover with OpenCore. Be sure to make a full bootable clone of Mojave and attempt the procedure on the clone.
Screen Shot 2022-11-26 at 11.33.07 AM.png
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
And it failed and trying to restore Mojave back from the clone ssd

The error was unable to load AppleUSB20Port…..enumeration error, followed by a swift error. Pix attached

@CaseySJ , any pointers on this ?
This is a plain in place upgrade from Mojave to Monterey using the same OC I switched to from Clover

I can post more info once my restore is complete
 

Attachments

  • 696D3EF2-03E3-4DD8-B27E-B8D825F08D0D.jpeg
    696D3EF2-03E3-4DD8-B27E-B8D825F08D0D.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 4
Top