Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
42
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Definitely not. I don't have anymore the TR2.0 (when I wrote a few mins about it, I was confirming that TBTFlash.exe worked) but the bus was activated as I could see the devices connected
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,500
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Definitely not. I don't have anymore the TR2.0 (when I wrote a few mins about it, I was confirming that TBTFlash.exe worked) but the bus was activated as I could see the devices connected
The screenshots in this post show a fully rendered Thunderbolt Bus:
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
42
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The screenshots in this post show a fully rendered Thunderbolt Bus:
yeah. at this point how can the BIOS interfere with the TB3 card if the TB3 card has its own firmware?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,500
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yeah. at this point how can the BIOS interfere with the TB3 card if the TB3 card has its own firmware?
I don’t know what you mean. BIOS does not interfere with Thunderbolt. Even on-board Thunderbolt has its own firmware chip (it does not use BIOS chip).

In any case, your motherboard’s Thunderbolt firmware has not been changed.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
42
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 5370
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I don’t know what you mean. BIOS does not interfere with Thunderbolt. Even on-board Thunderbolt has its own firmware chip (it does not use BIOS chip).

In any case, your motherboard’s Thunderbolt firmware has not been changed.
Oh alright. I asked that because I read on this thread that newer BIOS versions (such as F9I) may not be compatible with TB3 HotPlug. In any case I'll let you know if I can succeed with the TBTFlash.exe, otherwise I'll try the SPI Flasher way.
Eventually can you please send me the latest available modded firmware?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,500
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh alright. I asked that because I read on this thread that newer BIOS versions (such as F9I) may not be compatible with TB3 HotPlug. In any case I'll let you know if I can succeed with the TBTFlash.exe, otherwise I'll try the SPI Flasher way.
Eventually can you please send me the latest available modded firmware?
The most recent modified firmware for this motherboard is located in the post below. We have two choices:
  • NVM33
  • NVM67 — for better compatibility with USB4 hubs
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte aorus z270x gaming k5
CPU
i5-7400
Graphics
R9 380
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
As you can see, Thunderbolt Bus is not getting activated on Asus EX-3. It is fully activated on GC-TR.

We always had a difficult time with the Asus EX-3. I even damaged mine after a botched firmware flashing attempt!

@CaseySJ , thank you for your fast reply! Can you tell me:

  • Has anyone been able at all to enable the Thunderbolt Bus with the ASUS ThunderboltEX3 Rev B yet or is it a technical limitation with Alpine Ridge, and I can stop trying?
  • Is there a reliable way to determine whether Thunderbolt Bus has been enabled? How can I see that in IOReg or is there another way to check that?
  • Is it only the firmware that decides about Thunderbolt Bus, and can I rely on the SSDT being totally error-free and does not require additional modification?
Best wishes
-cuemaxx
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,500
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ , thank you for your fast reply! Can you tell me:

  • Has anyone been able at all to enable the Thunderbolt Bus with the ASUS ThunderboltEX3 Rev B yet or is it a technical limitation with Alpine ridge and I can stop trying?
  • Is there a reliable way to determine whether Thunderbolt Bus has been enabled? How can I see that in IOREG or is there another way to check that?
  • Is it only the firmware that decides about Thunderbolt Bus and can I rely on the SSDT being totally error-free and does not require additional modification?
Best wishes
-cuemaxx
For Alpine Ridge controllers we can try enabling Thunderbolt Bus with a SSDT. This may not yield the best results but it’s an alternative to flashing the firmware.

We have a compilation of these SSDTs and how to use them:

Please note however that it’s difficult to provide support for systems not listed there. The best solution by far is a GC-Titan Ridge so we encourage everyone to go that route.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2015
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's already shared. Please see spoiler at the top of Post 1 labeled Quick Reference to Mini-Guides and Micro-Guides. In Section 1 of that you'll find a list of OpenCore releases.
Thanks for this. I have used this EFI folder but it has led to the ACPI error that @larrythedirtbag had listed out in his post. Trying to resolve that error and hoped he had made the right adjustment to his config.plist
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello,

I'm having an issue trying to restore my main NVME drive from a backup I made a month ago. I'm running Big Sur.

I followed the steps in this mini guide for a Big Sur bootable backup last month and it worked great, as I am now running off that backup I made. I ran into a weird probably non-hackintosh related issue that made me want to revert to my backup. I took my USB SSD backup and connected it via SATA, erased my NVME drive and followed the same steps from the guide to clone my SSD to my NVME, but I can't seem to make the NVME bootable.

I've tried 2 versions of the EFIClone script, the first being EFIClone-v4 from here, the second being EFIClone from CaseySJ's github. I've tried it several times from both a failed clone and from a freshly erased drive, but there seems to be an issue with mounting the EFI.

When running `tail -f EFIClone.log`, I get `Mounting EFI source partition failed.` shown in the first image I've attached.

When running the script outside of CCC as instructed inside the script: `EFIClone.sh / /Volumes/Big\ Sur\ 2` I get the same error, shown in my second attachment.

I have set the test switch to off, I've made sure the CCC scripts folder is secured, I have changed basically no settings in the CCC task besides adding the script "postflight" and turning the safety net on/off, I've tried re-downloading the EFIClone script a few times just to make sure I didn't accidentally change something, and I've tried mounting the EFI of the source disk manually before running the task/script. Not really sure where to go from here. The only thing I can think of that I haven't tried is buying a new SSD and cloning to that in case the NVME drive is causing issues as a destination. I also haven't tried buying an NVME enclosure, just in case for some reason USB is required to do the clone.

Any ideas? Thanks :)
 

Attachments

  • tail.png
    tail.png
    43.7 KB · Views: 6
  • term.png
    term.png
    12 KB · Views: 5
Top