Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
211
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator WiFi
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good morning, I found the problem because the 3740 HighPoint did not work. SSDT TB3HP was disabled ... Strangely this happened after installing the new FW, and coincidentally I was generating new versions of the EFI and this option appears unchecked.
 

Attachments

  • Captura de tela 15.09.2022 às 09.20.22 AM.png
    Captura de tela 15.09.2022 às 09.20.22 AM.png
    266.8 KB · Views: 25

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,496
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good morning, I found the problem because the 3740 HighPoint did not work. SSDT TB3HP was disabled ... Strangely this happened after installing the new FW, and coincidentally I was generating new versions of the EFI and this option appears unchecked.
@Rag,

There are two Thunderbolt Hot Plug SSDTs:
  • SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml
    • This is for on-board Thunderbolt controller (RP05)
  • SSDT-Z390-DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml
    • This is for add-in Thunderbolt card such as GC-Titan Ridge installed in middle long slot (PEG1) just under the GPU
Some comments:
  • These Thunderbolt hot-plug SSDTs will not affect your Highpoint RAID card (unless it is installed in middle long slot)
  • Which slot is your Highpoint RAID card installed in?
  • If you do not have an add-in Thunderbolt card such as GC-Titan Ridge, then uncheck the second SSDT above.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
Lenovo Yoga 720 15iKB
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 / GTX 1050
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @CaseySJ , please what is the latest SSDT-TbtOnPch SSDT? Got a Yoga 720 with this SSDT and it seems to exclude displays from the thunderbolt connection. Everything works: Hotplug, Wake from Sleep and Thunderbolt Bus but I am trying to use the laptop in clamshell mode alone however the display won't pick up after boot until I remove and replug the TB Cable. Please help?

_L6D is my Level-triggered GPE method
_E24 is my Edge-triggered GPE method

IOReg

Screen Shot 2022-09-16 at 4.36.03 AM.png


Screen Shot 2022-09-16 at 4.37.17 AM.png



Screen Shot 2022-09-16 at 4.37.47 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TbtOnPch-Yoga-720.aml
    4.5 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
Lenovo Yoga 720 15iKB
CPU
i7-7700HQ
Graphics
HD 630 / GTX 1050
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi @CaseySJ , please what is the latest SSDT-TbtOnPch SSDT? Got a Yoga 720 with this SSDT and it seems to exclude displays from the thunderbolt connection. Everything works: Hotplug, Wake from Sleep and Thunderbolt Bus but I am trying to use the laptop in clamshell mode alone however the display won't pick up after boot until I remove and replug the TB Cable. Please help?

_L6D is my Level-triggered GPE

IOReg

View attachment 554763

View attachment 554764


View attachment 554765

Okay, seems to be working now. I went with the initial SSDT-TbtOnPch that used Edge-Triggered and deactivated other patches. Seems I had to populate PCI devices in Device Properties tab of Open Core.

EDIT: Still having boot without display issues.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
1,128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The EFI folder has gained weight with all the Intel Ethernet and Bluetooth ROM stuff. Maybe we need a light version for all the folks that don't use the item stuff. I understand the the appeal of the one size fits all approach but carrying all that dead weight is gumming up the upgrade process.
I was able to thin out the kexts that I don't need, but I still can't find the answer to the question on resizing the EFI partition in Monterey using Disk Utility or Recovery. Google just returns answers relating to Windows and certain magical GPT apps. No one has tried this?
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
8,470
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.8.0
CPU
i5-10600k
Graphics
Dell RX560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was able to thin out the kexts that I don't need, but I still can't find the answer to the question on resizing the EFI partition in Monterey using Disk Utility or Recovery. Google just returns answers relating to Windows and certain magical GPT apps. No one has tried this?

You should not try to change the EFI partition size. It should be approx. 207MB. This is standard spec for an Apple GPT/GUID partitioned disk. Windows uses a different size but it isn't on a disk formatted in the same way.

If you fill the EFI partition - obviously something you would strive not to do and would be very difficult anyway - once the system is booted, what's in the EFI partition is irrelevant as it is not referred to again until the next boot.

:)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
59
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
MSI RX 6800 XT Gaming Z
Hi CaseySJ, I was wondering if you had any information on the display above 60 Hz. I recently installed an MSI 6800 XT card in my Hackintosh, but when I select the 119.88 hz (?!) frequency, I have the screen going black regularly. This stops as soon as I switch back to 60 Hz. The screen works fine under Windows beyond 60 Hz. All I have found so far are boot args -cdfon or -igfxmpc which seem to be related to the frequency problems, but I have not found any practical information about them. Before I try them without knowing if they are useful, I wanted to know if you know them and if they were useful in this case?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
38
Motherboard
Lenovo Y50-70
CPU
i7-4710HQ
Graphics
HD4600 + GTX 860M, 3840x2160
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ, I have a HP Tthunderbolt add-in PCIe card (15E8,JHL7340,but it shows as JHL7540 in both Windows and macOS) with only one typec-port. Can you please modify the firmware for me. And which SSDT should I use for hot plug support. Here is my origianl firmware and original HPTBT.aml(from system SSDT) ,the IORegistry shows it On RP09.
Thank you for your help.
 

Attachments

  • HP_Tormund_SSID846C_TR_HR_2C_C1_rev61_0_1_2_1_SEC3_sign.bin.zip
    223 KB · Views: 8
  • HPTBT.aml
    97.6 KB · Views: 10

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,496
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ, I was wondering if you had any information on the display above 60 Hz. I recently installed an MSI 6800 XT card in my Hackintosh, but when I select the 119.88 hz (?!) frequency, I have the screen going black regularly. This stops as soon as I switch back to 60 Hz. The screen works fine under Windows beyond 60 Hz. All I have found so far are boot args -cdfon or -igfxmpc which seem to be related to the frequency problems, but I have not found any practical information about them. Before I try them without knowing if they are useful, I wanted to know if you know them and if they were useful in this case?
Hello @Etyel,

In my experience it is not necessary to add any boot arguments. Instead, see if Variable Rate Refresh option is available in System Preferences --> Displays. Try connecting the monitor with HDMI and DisplayPort cables to see if VRR becomes available with one or the other.

Also, what is the make/model of your monitor?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,496
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ, I have a HP Tthunderbolt add-in PCIe card (15E8,JHL7340,but it shows as JHL7540 in both Windows and macOS) with only one typec-port. Can you please modify the firmware for me. And which SSDT should I use for hot plug support. Here is my origianl firmware and original HPTBT.aml(from system SSDT) ,the IORegistry shows it On RP09.
Thank you for your help.
Hello @Asrake,

Are you using an external CH341a Flash ROM reader/writer? The firmware file you posted seems to have been generated by a Windows or Linux application, which means it's not a complete image.

Once the firmware is modified, it cannot be flashed to the Thunderbolt controller via Windows or Linux. The only way to flash it back is by using an external CH341a Flash ROM reader/writer.
 
Top