Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Are any Thunderbolt devices connected?

Have you already tried disconnecting all external Thunderbolt and USB devices except keyboard/mouse?
Tried with all peripherals disconnected, no change. Also created an external disk with Mojave OS and 0.8.3 EFI folder, booted from that- no change when shutting down, the computer still turns on after 2 seconds.
Sorry for sounding like a noob, but isn't there a turn on switch on motherboards for testing purposes (although I read the manual for the Giga Designare MB and could not find it) that could be faulty and just keeps turning the unit on?

Also, I noticed something strange. In my boot menu there is an EFI boot option that takes me to Welcome to Clover 5122 and then returns to boot menu? I migrated my computer form Clover to OC, but did not see that boot option before my new MB install. I checked my EFI folder on my startup disk and see no traces of Clover anywhere... Does it even matter if I boot from my disk that only has OC EFI data on it?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried with all peripherals disconnected, no change. Also created an external disk with Mojave OS and 0.8.3 EFI folder, booted from that- no change when shutting down, the computer still turns on after 2 seconds.
Sorry for sounding like a noob, but isn't there a turn on switch on motherboards for testing purposes (although I read the manual for the Giga Designare MB and could not find it) that could be faulty and just keeps turning the unit on?
This motherboard does not have a power-on switch built-in, but we can buy standalone power-on switches such as this one:

I would also suggest re-flashing the BIOS. By the way, do you have Windows or Linux installed on this machine? If so, do those operating systems shut the system down properly?

Also, I noticed something strange. In my boot menu there is an EFI boot option that takes me to Welcome to Clover 5122 and then returns to boot menu? I migrated my computer form Clover to OC, but did not see that boot option before my new MB install. I checked my EFI folder on my startup disk and see no traces of Clover anywhere... Does it even matter if I boot from my disk that only has OC EFI data on it?
This should be okay. It just means there's another disk in the system that has Clover on it.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
This motherboard does not have a power-on switch built-in, but we can buy standalone power-on switches such as this one:

I would also suggest re-flashing the BIOS. By the way, do you have Windows or Linux installed on this machine? If so, do those operating systems shut the system down properly?


This should be okay. It just means there's another disk in the system that has Clover on it.
No Windows or Linux on the machine. When you say re-flash BIOS, do you mean resetting CMOS or reinstalling BIOS with the same BIOS version?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
32
Motherboard
Giabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9700k
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Screen recordings are typically saved to desktop, but when you press CMD-Shift-5 you will see an Options pop-up where you can change the output location.

So select Options and see what the current output location is and, if necessary, change it to some other folder.

Regarding DRM content on the tv app in macOS Catalina, are you currently using a shikigva boot argument? And what system product name are you using (iMac19,1)? Refer to the chart at the top of this article on the WhateverGreen GitHub page.
I've tried saving to different locations (including an external drive with permissions ignored) without any luck.
I'm using iMac 19.1 for my SMBIOS and these boot args:
Code:
keepsyms=1 debug=0x100  alcid=11 shikigva=80 igfxrpsc=1
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No Windows or Linux on the machine. When you say re-flash BIOS, do you mean resetting CMOS or reinstalling BIOS with the same BIOS version?
We can flash a different BIOS such as F9g or re-flash the same one. I would suggest F9g first.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried re-flashing with both versions of BIOS, no change.
It would be a good idea to run Linux. Most Linux distributions, including Ubuntu, can be run directly from a USB flash disk. We simply download the .iso file and use Balena Etcher to write it to a USB flash disk. Then we boot from USB and run Linux without installing it.

If Linux also fails to shutdown the system properly, then you can file a support ticket with Gigabyte on their website.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Since upgrading to Monterrey I seem to be having some issues with MacOS thinking it has run out of memory or behaving as if it has but from what I am seeing there is plenty of overhead. Most of the times it is just happening in the background but I did get the error message below and it looks like one application is using way more memory than is installed. Most of the time finder and applications are just generally kind of slow, lots of beach balls. I have plenty of free space on my system disk and the drive is healthy, any suggestions?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 10.07.58 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-08-17 at 10.07.58 AM.png
    60.2 KB · Views: 15

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,079
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since upgrading to Monterrey I seem to be having some issues with MacOS thinking it has run out of memory or behaving as if it has but from what I am seeing there is plenty of overhead. Most of the times it is just happening in the background but I did get the error message below and it looks like one application is using way more memory than is installed. Most of the time finder and applications are just generally kind of slow, lots of beach balls. I have plenty of free space on my system disk and the drive is healthy, any suggestions?
There seems to be a horrible memory leak in the Amazon Music app (272GB is beyond insane). Are you using the latest version? If you quit and restart the application, does it once again consume horrendous amounts of memory?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2019
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
There seems to be a horrible memory leak in the Amazon Music app (272GB is beyond insane). Are you using the latest version? If you quit and restart the application, does it once again consume horrendous amounts of memory?
Up to date and no that's been the only visible sign of anything not working correctly, any ideas on diagnostics or logs to look at?
 
Top