Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,462
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you install using the CH341A method? That is my plan later today since I can't get the windows installer to work.
Yes it has to be installed with CH341a. I used a Pomona 5250 SOIC clip and was pleasantly surprised that it worked on first attempt. It can be difficult to read the flash chip so if you’ve not done this before, be very patient and very gentle with the clip. Some folks have accidentally dislodged nearby surface mount resistors, so exercise patience and extreme care.
 
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
ATI 5700xt
Great, I have the Pomina already waiting for the Noyito CH341A, should be here today...
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
128
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Radeon 6900xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone else having Bluetooth breaking after a long sleep? Just started in 12.3.1.

I'm using the Broadcom from the guide BCM_20702B0
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,462
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone else having Bluetooth breaking after a long sleep? Just started in 12.3.1.

I'm using the Broadcom from the guide BCM_20702B0
Try disabling both of the following, then reboot:
  • config.plist --> ACPI --> SSDT-USBW.aml
  • config.plist --> Kernel --> USBWakeFixup.kext
 
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
ATI 5700xt
Great, I have the Pomina already waiting for the Noyito CH341A, should be here today...
Did the update last night. Seemed to go smoothly, but Windows is throwing a fit. Says "device instance not migrated from prior O/S." Going to dig into this a while and see what I can figure out. Can always flash back to prior version.

(I have 3 Z390 Designares so I can have one down for a while to learn how to make this work)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,462
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did the update last night. Seemed to go smoothly, but Windows is throwing a fit. Says "device instance not migrated from prior O/S." Going to dig into this a while and see what I can figure out. Can always flash back to prior version.

(I have 3 Z390 Designares so I can have one down for a while to learn how to make this work)
A flashed Thunderbolt firmware is known to cause problems in Windows and possibly Linux. We state this warning at the top of the Thunderbolt Repository.
 
Joined
May 1, 2022
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
ATI 5700xt
I know, but I figured the file from Gigabyte was safe (I used the orginal .BIN they sent me). On this machine Thunderbolt is not make or break for me, but on the other two it is.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,462
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I know, but I figured the file from Gigabyte was safe (I used the orginal .BIN they sent me). On this machine Thunderbolt is not make or break for me, but on the other two it is.
The original file they sent you is very likely safe. But the 4 bytes I modified "voids the warranty" so to speak! :)
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,361
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The original file they sent you is very likely safe. But the 4 bytes I modified "voids the warranty" so to speak! :)
Can I use the umodified file to update my FW firmware in Win10? This didn't work? A bad idea? My TB is currently not completely stable so I was thinking of redoing the TB FW anyway.
 
Top