Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,481
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ thanks for truly phenomenal work on this one!
Would you be able to eloborate on "Going the Extra Mile" for Pro Audio app users? Many of the explanations seem to center around video/graphic apps, rendering, etc. I'm curious to hear what the recommended settings would be for Pro Audio App users (Logic Pro X) on Catalina.
Thanks!
Hello @bluestarstudios

Because professional audio is not GPU intensive (unlike pro video), any system product name is okay. As for platform ID, we should always use an AMD GPU if one is available, even an entry level model. If discrete GPU is absolutely out of the question (it is a tough market for GPUs) then iGPU is okay, but some glitches might be encountered (although these are few and far between for most people now).

So AMD GPU with Platform ID 0x3E980003 and any recent system product name such as iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 is okay.
 
Joined
May 25, 2020
Messages
37
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello @bluestarstudios

Because professional audio is not GPU intensive (unlike pro video), any system product name is okay. As for platform ID, we should always use an AMD GPU if one is available, even an entry level model. If discrete GPU is absolutely out of the question (it is a tough market for GPUs) then iGPU is okay, but some glitches might be encountered (although these are few and far between for most people now).

So AMD GPU with Platform ID 0x3E980003 and any recent system product name such as iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 is okay.
Good to know! Since I have an AMD RX 580 with an i9-9900, I went with the iMac19,1 with Platform ID 0x3E980003. Seems like it was the closest setup. Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
1,128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good to know! Since I have an AMD RX 580 with an i9-9900, I went with the iMac19,1 with Platform ID 0x3E980003. Seems like it was the closest setup. Thanks!
I think you're going to really like that machine for a DAW.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Designare
CPU
Intel 9900K 5.2Ghz
Graphics
Asus Strix RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just upgraded from Catalina with Clover and F8 to Monterey with OC 0.7.7 on new fresh M.2, everything seems fine so far. Sadly, Chelsio 40gbe nic drivers don't work anymore. Oh! I noticed some strange artifacts happen to the YouTube videos when playing. But for like few seconds the whole picture becomes like pinkinsh violet and comes back. I tried to replicate it by going backward in the video but nothing. So I suspect it's something with rendering, or decoding.

My setup is iMac 19.1 - RX 580 - shikigva=80 maybe someone knows something.

EDIT1: Strange both my LAN ports work even if the description said it would not.
EDIT2: Attached screenshot of artifacts
1643356889198.jpeg

EDIT3: Managed to fix it with NVRAM reset, now everything looks okay. Just strange issues with RX580 DP port with (DP to HDMI adapter) on boot doesn't show 60Hz, but after replug, it shows 60hz...
EDIT4: The artifacts apparently are related to overclocking CPU... After everything was working I went back and did my overclock and it returned back...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
128
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Radeon 6900xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...olt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.316533/post-2095044

@CaseySJ do you know how to start an OC Machine with ALT+T so that the machine starts correctly in Target mode? Apparently even correctly selected the Target Mode option, the hackintosh restart in the same way as normal boot.
I had this problem with a Samsung 950 Pro NVME drive. The issue went away after I cloned to a WD750. I believe it has to do with the firmware on the drive.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,481
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ,

I have finally updated to Monterey and OC .7.7.0. But now, my startup time is between 3-5minutes long. Not sure what's going on. Can you help me please?
Please see the release notes related to Monterey in the OpenCore 0.7.7 Mini-Guide.
To determine if your system has the problem, simply post the output of this command:
Bash:
log show --last boot | grep "trims took"
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please see the release notes related to Monterey in the OpenCore 0.7.7 Mini-Guide.
To determine if your system has the problem, simply post the output of this command:
Bash:
log show --last boot | grep "trims took"

2022-01-28 15:03:42.302288-0600 0x504 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk1 scan took 186.149347 s, trims took 185.914432 s
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,481
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
2022-01-28 15:03:42.302288-0600 0x504 Default 0x0 0 0 kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk1 scan took 186.149347 s, trims took 185.914432 s
You must be using a Samsung NVMe SSD, hence trim is taking 186 seconds or 3 minutes. There is no known solution other than replacing Samsung with a different brand such as WD. The WD 750 series are an excellent choice that many of us are now using.

It is possible to clone the Samsung SSD to a temporary SSD X, then erase the Samsung SSD and clone SSD X back to the Samsung. This should reduce trim time considerably, but that time will grow progressively over time.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You must be using a Samsung NVMe SSD, hence trim is taking 186 seconds or 3 minutes. There is no known solution other than replacing Samsung with a different brand such as WD. The WD 750 series are an excellent choice that many of us are now using.

It is possible to clone the Samsung SSD to a temporary SSD X, then erase the Samsung SSD and clone SSD X back to the Samsung. This should reduce trim time considerably, but that time will grow progressively over time.
like this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07M64QXMN/?tag=tonymacx86com-20 ?
 
Top