Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 22, 2011
Messages
128
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Radeon 6900xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ :wave: is there going to be an update to the hackindrom app for OC 0.7.7? Do we need to do it manually or are there problems with this release?

Absolutely love the app, makes it SO easy!

cheers!
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi
Just a quick question...
I'm currently running a very good designare system with Mojave 10.14.6 with Clover, and I'm still on bios version F7.

I would now like to make a clone system on a different M.2 drive, to experiment with a Big Sur system on Opencore.
I also want to try switching my current Mojave system from Clover to Opencore. Always on a cloned backup drive of course.

However, very importantly, my Mojave system has to continue to work also.
Based on some reading, I'll have to update my BIOS to F8 or F9g or F9i to use Opencore.
Will this newer BIOS version interfere with my current Mojave&Clover system? Should this still boot?
Keeping that system working is the most important for now :)
 
Last edited:

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
211
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator WiFi
CPU
i9-13900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJThanks your support

This USB-C not working problem is serious for those who upgrade, as there is no way to go back.

I have a doubt about this, because I have two OWC, Thunderbolt and they are connected to the USB-C port with Apple adapter, if I update to F9 I won't be able to access these drives at all?

Or would it be possible somehow?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2018
Messages
76
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi
Just a quick question...
I'm currently running a very good designare system with Mojave 10.14.6 with Clover, and I'm still on bios version F7.

I would now like to make a clone system on a different M.2 drive, to experiment with a Big Sur system on Opencore.
I also want to try switching my current Mojave system from Clover to Opencore. Always on a cloned backup drive of course.

However, very importantly, my Mojave system has to continue to work also.
Based on some reading, I'll have to update my BIOS to F8 or F9g or F9i to use Opencore.
Will this newer BIOS version interfere with my current Mojave&Clover system? Should this still boot?
Keeping that system working is the most important for now :)
I am currently on BIOS F8 using Opencore 0.7.7 and able to boot from Mojave to Monterey. But for Catalina and Mojave, I do have to set APFS MinDate and Minversion to -1 then SecureBootModel to Disabled.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,483
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

I am having the hardest time trying to upgrade from Big Sur to Monterey. The installing goes through but every time nothing actually gets installed. Do you have any suggestions? Im on OC .7.7 and Big Sur 11.4
Because I haven’t published the OC 0.7.7 EFI yet, are you sure you’re on 0.7.7? If so, is it based on 0.7.6 from this thread?

When you say that nothing gets installed, what specifically do you see (or not see)?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rag
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
79
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because I haven’t published the OC 0.7.7 EFI yet, are you sure you’re on 0.7.7? If so, is it based on 0.7.6 from this thread?

When you say that nothing gets installed, what specifically do you see (or not see)?
I downgraded to OC 0.7.4 for the reasons you mentioned above. What I see is the installer going through its normal process, then it reboots. Per the installation guide, I select the "boot from MacOs install" option. It reboots and continues installing and the reboots again. On the second reboot I select my HD and once everything loads, I look at "About this Mac" and it tells me I am still on Big Sur.

Another strange thing is that both hackindrom and Hackintool say that my OC is 0.6.3. However, when I mount my EFI hackindrom shows the correct OC version of OV 0.7.4.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 17.45.34.png
    Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 17.45.34.png
    202.2 KB · Views: 31
  • Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.26.15.png
    Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.26.15.png
    65.1 KB · Views: 30
  • Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.25.49.png
    Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.25.49.png
    92 KB · Views: 27
  • Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.26.57.png
    Screen Shot 2022-01-12 at 18.26.57.png
    81.8 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,483
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I downgraded to OC 0.7.4 for the reasons you mentioned above. What I see is the installer going through its normal process, then it reboots. Per the installation guide, I select the "boot from MacOs install" option. It reboots and continues installing and the reboots again. On the second reboot I select my HD and once everything loads, I look at "About this Mac" and it tells me I am still on Big Sur.

Another strange thing is that both hackindrom and Hackintool say that my OC is 0.6.3. However, when I mount my EFI hackindrom shows the correct OC version of OV 0.7.4.
OpenCore 0.7.4 is not compatible with Monterey. We need minimum of 0.7.5.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,483
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I updated to 0.7.6 and still no dice.

I am still getting the hackintool and hackindrom errors.
Are there multiple SSDs in your system with their own EFI partitions? If so, the computer may be booting from the wrong SSD.
 
Top