Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Finally starting my upgrade journey to Monterey.

I have updated my Designare BIOS to F9i (from F9b) and it still boots into Mojave fine with Clover (5119)

I created a USB drive with your preconfigured OpenCore 0.7.6 and added the required fields with OpenCore Configurator (looked at config.plist and values are there)

When I select the USB drive using F12 I see the OC GUI and select my Mojave drive
  • I see the Apple logo but no progress bar
  • Get an immediate reboot
  • Select USB with F12 again
  • No OC GUI, straight to Apple logo and progress bar but slower than with Clover
  • When progress reaches about 80% the logo and bar disappear, the second of my three monitors wakes up but nothing else happens.
  • SSH fails so it's not just a graphics issue.
Any thoughts on next troubleshooting steps? I've tried with and without kexts in /Library/Extensions with the same results.

Merry Christmas and thanks again!
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
95
Motherboard
GA-H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@CaseySJ
Finally starting my upgrade journey to Monterey.

I have updated my Designare BIOS to F9i (from F9b) and it still boots into Mojave fine with Clover (5119)

I created a USB drive with your preconfigured OpenCore 0.7.6 and added the required fields with OpenCore Configurator (looked at config.plist and values are there)

When I select the USB drive using F12 I see the OC GUI and select my Mojave drive
  • I see the Apple logo but no progress bar
  • Get an immediate reboot
  • Select USB with F12 again
  • No OC GUI, straight to Apple logo and progress bar but slower than with Clover
  • When progress reaches about 80% the logo and bar disappear, the second of my three monitors wakes up but nothing else happens.
  • SSH fails so it's not just a graphics issue.
Any thoughts on next troubleshooting steps? I've tried with and without kexts in /Library/Extensions with the same results.

Merry Christmas and thanks again!

My first step would be open the config.plist and add a -v to the boot-args so you get to see where it fails, not some fancy graphics that tell you nothing. Second step would be to clone the install to another drive and then boot into it and follow the Clover to OC guide as I see no mention of it being done, use the clone until certain you have it completely working. This guide gets rid of the leftovers from Clover that may interfere. Third, a NVRAM reset in the OC boot menu should be used to make certain nothing of that remains. Lastly, post the screen shot of the failure point.

 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,950
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Finally starting my upgrade journey to Monterey.

I have updated my Designare BIOS to F9i (from F9b) and it still boots into Mojave fine with Clover (5119)

I created a USB drive with your preconfigured OpenCore 0.7.6 and added the required fields with OpenCore Configurator (looked at config.plist and values are there)

When I select the USB drive using F12 I see the OC GUI and select my Mojave drive
  • I see the Apple logo but no progress bar
  • Get an immediate reboot
  • Select USB with F12 again
  • No OC GUI, straight to Apple logo and progress bar but slower than with Clover
  • When progress reaches about 80% the logo and bar disappear, the second of my three monitors wakes up but nothing else happens.
  • SSH fails so it's not just a graphics issue.
Any thoughts on next troubleshooting steps? I've tried with and without kexts in /Library/Extensions with the same results.

Merry Christmas and thanks again!
Hello @Tea-Bone

Merry Christmas! Let’s see if we can melt your troubles away. :)

At OpenCore boot picker, press and release CMD-V to enable verbose mode. Then see where boot process gets stuck.

Also confirm that “SecureBootModel” is disabled. And check that all required PlatformInfo —> DataHub fields are populated.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @Tea-Bone

Merry Christmas! Let’s see if we can melt your troubles away. :)

At OpenCore boot picker, press and release CMD-V to enable verbose mode. Then see where boot process gets stuck.

Also confirm that “SecureBootModel” is disabled. And check that all required PlatformInfo —> DataHub fields are populated.
Wow, quick melt.

SecureBootModel was the problem. I changed it from Default to Disabled and tried again. This time it went to the logo and just froze. I did it again verbose and saw that it complained about having conflicting kexts prelinked so I moved the junk back out of /Library/Extensions and it booted right up. It made me re-approve a bunch of legit kexts and seems to be fully functional. I'll give it a day and then copy the new EFI to my boot disk.

Thanks as always.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Things were working nicely and I upgraded to Monterey without issue this afternoon. Only post-upgrade issue is nightmare boot times.

Code:
DS9:~ teabone$ log show --last boot | grep "trims took"
2021-12-26 20:09:08.364049-0500 0x38f      Default     0x0                  0      0    kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk4 scan took 263.811007 s, trims took 263.400423 s
2021-12-26 20:09:18.494400-0500 0x9b4      Default     0x0                  0      0    kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk6 scan took 1.710653 s, trims took 0.850992 s
2021-12-26 20:09:50.604406-0500 0x96f      Default     0x0                  0      0    kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk3 scan took 34.510641 s, trims took 34.218856 s
  • disk4: Boot disk - Samsung 970 EVO 1TB NVMe
  • disk6: Home disk - Inland 2TB NVMe
  • disk3: Storage "fusion drive" - SanDisk 240 GB SATA SSD + HGST 6TB HDD
Unless there's an update or a crash I don't really reboot very often, but I'd love to smooth this out a bit because I know something's going to go wrong in the middle of a conference call and I'll be bounced for way too long.

Oh, and I'm having trouble getting Apple Watch unlock to re-connect.
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,917
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
TRIM is broken for Samsung NVMe drives that are used as macOS boot drives. The problem shows up mostly in Monterey. They are not for use with APFS. Only way to fix it is to go with a different brand. WD SN750 is one of the better choices. Not the SE version. You can disable TRIM for the Samsung NVMe drives but I wouldn't suggest that for long term scenarios.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
TRIM is broken for Samsung NVMe drives that are used as macOS boot drives. The problem shows up mostly in Monterey. They are not for use with APFS. Only way to fix it is to go with a different brand. WD SN750 is one of the better choices. Not the SE version. You can disable TRIM for the Samsung NVMe drives but I wouldn't suggest that for long term scenarios.

@trs96
Thanks! I grabbed a WD SN750 1TB at my local Micro Center. Any advice on the cleanest way to migrate my system over to the new SSD, I can't forum posts that have a clear path for Monterey.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,917
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Any advice on the cleanest way to migrate my system over to the new SSD
This thread has a guide to make a bootable clone with CCC or you can simply make a TM backup of the old drive and then clean install Monterey to the SN750 with Casey's EFI for the Z390, restore the TM backup during setup. Casey's EFI folders are always up to date with the latest OC and kexts that you'd need for Monterey 12.1.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This thread has a guide to make a bootable clone with CCC or you can simply make a TM backup of the old drive and then clean install Monterey to the SN750 with Casey's EFI for the Z390, restore the TM backup during setup. Casey's EFI folders are always up to date with the latest OC and kexts that you'd need for Monterey 12.1.
@CaseySJ and @trs96

I'm 100% on Monterey now! WD boots like a charm, just had to dig up that "Legacy Bootable" feature in CCC, they don't really advertise it. I've been using Macs as long as they've been around but never had to get this deep in the weeds. I'm more used to the Linux world world these days where things are a wee bit better documented.

Thanks so much for the pointers in the right direction. This is like UNIX + black magic (to protect me?). Let's see how long they let this unicorn called MacOS x86 survive.
 
Top