Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Hello @Chevron

If you are using one of the OpenCore EFI folders from this thread, then Thunderbolt is already set up and enabled, including hot plug. Have you tried connecting and using a Thunderbolt device?

Hey @CaseySJ

Yes I did use an OpenCore EFI folder from this thread. I have "SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml" and "SSDT-Z390-"DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml" in the OpenCore folder, however when I go to the System Report Thunderbolt/USB 4 it says No Drivers Are Loaded
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,453
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, Guys! Quick Question. I am still on Catalina and thinking of going to Big Sur or Monterey. I use my Hack for music production and plugin compatibility is the main reason I am holding back stil. Are any of you in the same boat? Does anyone have expirience with music plugins (Waves Fabfilter kontakt izotope, etc.) and Big Sur or/and Monterey ?

P.S. Also UAD Apollo x4 and driver compatibility is a concern.
I moved from Mojave to Big Sur a couple of months ago. I also have an UAD2 card and I use stuff from the plugin manufacturers you mention. Big Sur has tightened security that is buggy, kexts will give you trouble. In the end it worked. Not a walk in the park.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
315
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed after updating to Monterey that Airdrop doesn't work or it works whenever it chooses to. I tried to send documents from my 2 hackintoshes but Airdrop while it shows up and finds my M1 Macbook Air and iPhone 13, it cannot send them. When I tried the opposite with my mba and iphone I could send w/o issues to my 2 hackintoshes. So in the end they can receive but they can't send files. Anyone with a similar issue?
I hope it's not related to bluetooth because I ordered a few days ago a Logitech G903 and Mx Master 3 for my systems and I hope they work w/o issues. Also to mention that both systems have Fenvi T919s on them and I never had a problem on Big Sur or previews macOS.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hey, Guys! Quick Question. I am still on Catalina and thinking of going to Big Sur or Monterey. I use my Hack for music production and plugin compatibility is the main reason I am holding back stil. Are any of you in the same boat? Does anyone have expirience with music plugins (Waves Fabfilter kontakt izotope, etc.) and Big Sur or/and Monterey ?

P.S. Also UAD Apollo x4 and driver compatibility is a concern.
I use Waves V13, Komplete Ultimate 13 with no problems on Big Sur 10.6.2 . I did an in place upgrade last March. Interface is a Apogee Symphony MKII thunderbolt on stock Designare (no firmware upgrade). Hope this helps. I would never upgrade to Monterey this soon.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,710
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ

Yes I did use an OpenCore EFI folder from this thread. I have "SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml" and "SSDT-Z390-"DESIGNARE-TB3HP-V4.aml" in the OpenCore folder, however when I go to the System Report Thunderbolt/USB 4 it says No Drivers Are Loaded
In the post-install verification section of my build guides I mention that this message (no drivers are loaded) should be ignored. We should look at System Information --> PCI or just connect a Thunderbolt device.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,710
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed after updating to Monterey that Airdrop doesn't work or it works whenever it chooses to. I tried to send documents from my 2 hackintoshes but Airdrop while it shows up and finds my M1 Macbook Air and iPhone 13, it cannot send them. When I tried the opposite with my mba and iphone I could send w/o issues to my 2 hackintoshes. So in the end they can receive but they can't send files. Anyone with a similar issue?
I hope it's not related to bluetooth because I ordered a few days ago a Logitech G903 and Mx Master 3 for my systems and I hope they work w/o issues. Also to mention that both systems have Fenvi T919s on them and I never had a problem on Big Sur or previews macOS.
Bluetooth peripherals (keyboards, mice, BT speakers, etc.) generally work very well in Monterey with Fenvi FV-T919. For AirDrop and other Continuity-related issues it might be good to try this:
  • iPhone --> shutdown and restart
  • Hackintosh --> Reset NVRAM (press spacebar at OpenCore boot picker and select Reset NVRAM)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,710
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
it's quite weird, i just bought a thunderbolt 4 dock:https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09MG5GJQL/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

it is recognisable when I adopt tian ridge V1 V2 cards with orginial firmwares (Yes I have both of them), but they dont recognise the TB4 dock with the modified firmwares.

my mobo is Asus x299 sage 10g
A couple of people reported similar issue recently. The following warning has been added to all 3 flashing guides:

Screen Shot 2021-12-19 at 7.45.31 AM.png
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
554
Motherboard
Dell XPS 8930
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@CaseySJ, you are such a dedicated professor to this mad science! I too am very curious to know if the new capsule bios improves the usb-c over thunderbolt situation on our patched AIC's. I read on a Gigabyte forum that there might be a way to use the motherboard switches to only flash the main bios and preserve the backup. Maybe that's a possibility?
Is there a switch on the Designare Z390?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
592
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Is there a switch on the Designare Z390?
I don't have the Designare, but after browsing its manual I'm not seeing it. Here's what I have for the master, although I'm not sure it would help with the new capsule bios.

AorusMaster.jpg
 
Top