Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@Inqnuam Just updated from 0.7.4 to 0.7.6 with HackinDROM and noticed a small bug. I have a customized copy of SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml that HackinDROM has kept enabled while leaving Casey's version in the folder but disabled for previous updates, but this time the update process didn't see the file and reenabled Casey's version so I had to manually add my version back in and disable the original.

I've named my custom version SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7-CUSTOM.aml if that helps with debugging.
Have you switched off update blue button before the update
Screenshot 2021-12-09 at 20.02.41.png


Also please provide your EFI ill verify if that is an issue or what
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,916
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi All.
I see that a new bios has been posted for Designare. Has anyone been brave enough to try it? Wondering if it fixes any of the thunderbolt issues previous betas had. Aorus Master has similar issues and they have released a similar bios, but I'm afraid I won't be able to flash back to a working version. Would also like the security updates.
View attachment 536800
@canyondust has successfully tested the new capsule BIOS for Z490 Vision D, but I cannot say whether the same will be true with F9 BIOS for Z390 Designare. I would recommend extreme caution.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@canyondust has successfully tested the new capsule BIOS for Z490 Vision D, but I cannot say whether the same will be true with F9 BIOS for Z390 Designare. I would recommend extreme caution.
I agree. It's odd that there is no option for reversion. I'm guessing that this update also overwrites the backup BIOS.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,916
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I agree. It's odd that there is no option for reversion. I'm guessing that this update also overwrites the backup BIOS.
Even though I used a CH341a SPI ROM reader to clone the BIOS of my Z390 Designare, I am still hesitant to flash this new-fangled capsule thingy. On the Z390 Designare it is technically possible to flash the cloned BIOS back using the same CH341a reader/writer, but this is not possible on newer motherboards because they don't use the same tried-and-true 8-pin SPI ROM chips. Instead a different chip package is used that isn't compatible with our SOIC8 clips.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
484
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Even though I used a CH341a SPI ROM reader to clone the BIOS of my Z390 Designare, I am still hesitant to flash this new-fangled capsule thingy. On the Z390 Designare it is technically possible to flash the cloned BIOS back using the same CH341a reader/writer, but this is not possible on newer motherboards because they don't use the same tried-and-true 8-pin SPI ROM chips. Instead a different chip package is used that isn't compatible with our SOIC8 clips.
Was wondering if you could use a modified efiflash.exe to force flash back. I believe I have used one that bypasses the usual checks.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
289
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Upgraded to 12.0.1 Monterey and the system is running fine. The only thing that doesn't work is i211 ethernet port which I was aware from before. I was using it to connect my 2 systems with an ethernet cable. Now ofc the speed between my systems limits to 10mb/s (was 100mb/s before). Is there any chance to see a new driver that works on Monterey soon?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-12-10 at 8.50.11 AM.png
    Screenshot 2021-12-10 at 8.50.11 AM.png
    213.5 KB · Views: 28
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
I9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
If I have the RX580 on a triple monitor setup is it possible to use the rx580 and the integrated 630 graphics card to dive the 3 monitors in both OSX and Windows? I'm noticing when transcoding using a few programs it won't use the Intel Quicksync unless a monitor is plugged in
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,916
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I have the RX580 on a triple monitor setup is it possible to use the rx580 and the integrated 630 graphics card to dive the 3 monitors in both OSX and Windows? I'm noticing when transcoding using a few programs it won't use the Intel Quicksync unless a monitor is plugged in
Yes that is possible. It will be necessary to switch to config-Intel-iGPU.plist or do the following:
  • In your existing config.plist, locate the dictionary block shown below:
Screen Shot 2021-12-10 at 8.30.10 AM.png

  • ... and replace that block with this:
XML:
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>mD4AAA==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
I9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Yes that is possible. It will be necessary to switch to config-Intel-iGPU.plist or do the following:
  • In your existing config.plist, locate the dictionary block shown below:
View attachment 536899
  • ... and replace that block with this:
XML:
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>mD4AAA==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
Ok so at this point I would just plug one of my monitors into the integrated hdmi port and everything should work as normal right?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Editing this post since I got it working:

I just installed Big Sur successfully (so far) from scratch by hopping between guides in this thread. In case anybody needs to hear it, here's the steps I did. This is using a Big Sur 11.5 installer. 11.6 Probably works too.

  • Format a flash drive (I used a 32 GB 3.1. The times I tried with a 16 GB 2.0 did NOT work)
    • show all devices, select parent drive
    • Big-Sur, macOS extended (journaled), GUID Partition map
  • sudo Applications/Install\ macOS\Big\ Sur.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Big-Sur
  • Download opencore configurator 0.7.6, set settings to "OC 0.7.6 Release Version"
  • Download OC-076-DESIGNAIRE-Z390 (from this post), unzip, rename folder to 'EFI'
  • mount EFI partition on my Big-Sur flash drive with EFI Mounter v3, move newly renamed 'EFI' folder to the EFI partition at top most level
  • rename 'config-Intel-iGPU.plist' to 'config.plist'
  • open 'config.plist' in opencore configurator 0.7.6
  • using this image for reference, open hackintool 3.7.5 and copy over 'serial number', 'system ID', 'ROM', and 'board serial number' to the 'PlatformInfo --> DataHub' section.

**** this image also says to enter the 'system product name' such as iMac19,1. I have no clue what I'm supposed to choose here, I just went with iMac19,1. I believe my last mojave install i used something like iMac1,1, not sure. How am I supposed to figure this out?

  • save, close
  • updated designaire BIOS to F9g. The guide post linked to a beta version of F9g that was uploaded to this thread, but using that file to update my BIOS, the BIOS would always read that it was still on F8. I downloaded F9G from the gigabyte website and updated successfully using that.
  • Edited BIOS using the spoiler on post 1 "version f8 or newer"
  • Tweaker
    • Advanced CPU Settings → Enabled
    • Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.) → Profile 1
  • Settings
    • Internal Graphics → Enabled
    • Above 4G Decoding → Enabled
    • Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration
      • Security Level → No Security
      • Discrete Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration
        • Thunderbolt USB Support → Enabled
        • GPIO3 Force Pwr → Enabled
    • USB Configuration
      • XHCI Handoff → Enabled
  • Boot
    • Windows 8/10 Features → Other OS
    • CSM Support → Disabled
  • Boot → CFG-Lock → Disabled
  • The guide says "Save & Exit → Save Profiles → Save to Profile 1", this was not an option for me. Save and Exit just has a yes/no confirmation, which I chose yes.
  • Shut down PC and DISCONNECT ETHERNET CABLE
  • Booted with F12 to get to OpenCore, chose Install macOS Big Sur.
  • Open Terminal and change the date to 08/15/2021. 'date 0815111121'
    • this is just because i used 11.5. Choose a date shortly after the date whatever version you're using was released. A few times I disconnected my ethernet while I was already booted just before entering the date command and it did not work.
  • Chose Disk utility and formatted my NVME drive
  • Name: Big Sur
  • Format: APFS
  • Scheme: GUID Partition Map
  • Chose Install macOS Big Sur.
  • PC rebooted 4 times, each time I chose either "install macOS Big Sur" or "Big Sur" after the 2nd reboot.
  • Once Big Sur booted, copied the EFI from the USB drive onto the EFI of the Big Sur Drive. I used EFI Agent this time.

This process failed for me a few times at the "this installer is damaged" part. I went from a 16GB 2.0 flash drive, macos 11.6, and disconnecting my ethernet just before entering the date command, to a 32GB 3.1 flash drive, 11.5, and disconnecting before I even booted for the install process. Not sure which piece there is the key.

Hope this helps someone! Also let me know if I'm missing something important, or what I should be choosing for the System Product Name. I'm not sure how to figure that out or if it matters!
 
Last edited:
Top