Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,936
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, would you know if this key would be requirement to run Monterey with a 6900 XT?
ResizeAppleGpuBars is only necessary when “Resizeable BAR Support” is enabled in BIOS. If so, we set the OpenCore quirk to 0, otherwise we can leave it alone (default = -1).
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
90
Motherboard
GA-Z390-DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ResizeAppleGpuBars is only necessary when “Resizeable BAR Support” is enabled in BIOS. If so, we set the OpenCore quirk to 0, otherwise we can leave it alone (default = -1).

Ok, Thanks! Does this mean I can take the plunge and upgrade from Catalina to Monterey at this point then, running Clover 5142 and latests kexts?
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
@CaseySJ if I could please trouble you with another question. would this card Asus Hyper m.2 work with with this build?

I bought the first pcie sata expansion card from the post on the first page, but it didnt work for me, and I'm thinking of buying an nvme pcie expansion card. if the Asus one that I mention above dose not work, do you know of any card that dose work?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,936
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, Thanks! Does this mean I can take the plunge and upgrade from Catalina to Monterey at this point then, running Clover 5142 and latests kexts?
Because I am no longer familiar with Clover, I cannot answer that question. As you can guess, I recommend OpenCore.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,936
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ if I could please trouble you with another question. would this card Asus Hyper m.2 work with with this build?

I bought the first pcie sata expansion card from the post on the first page, but it didnt work for me, and I'm thinking of buying an nvme pcie expansion card. if the Asus one that I mention above dose not work, do you know of any card that dose work?
I would not recommend such cards on the Z390 Designare because:
  • BIOS does not have a feature called "PCIe Bifurcation". This allows the lanes in a PCIe slot to be split into multiple 4-lane "virtual" slots.
  • This Asus card accommodates up to 4 PCIe NVMe SSDs. Each NVMe SSD works best when it's given 4 PCIe lanes.
  • In a x16 slot, all 4 NVMe SSDs can operate at full speed if the BIOS can bifurcate the slot into x4/x4/x4/x4.
  • If not, then it's best to check the instructions or technical specs of the card to see how it deals with cases where fewer PCIe lanes are available, and cases where bifurcation is simply not available.
You can see that Asus makes this quite clear on their website:

Screen Shot 2021-12-03 at 9.52.33 AM.png
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, Thanks! Does this mean I can take the plunge and upgrade from Catalina to Monterey at this point then, running Clover 5142 and latests kexts?
If you use the config.plist (for SMBIOS iMacPro1,1) I had attached in a previous post and you updated Clover, drivers, kexts ... there should be no problem updating to Monterey. Anyway, if you put your EFI Clover 5142 in the EFI partition of a USB key (without touching your current EFI), you don't risk trying to boot on it. If something is wrong, I suggest you attach your EFI as an attachment so I can see if something is wrong. Otherwise, it is very simple, if necessary and ONLY if Resizeable BAR Support is activated in the BIOS, to add the Quirk in question using PLIST Editor for example. (But I just read that you already did...)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @Velemer,

Are you using a USB Bluetooth dongle? If so, what is the make/model?
Hi CaseySJ

Yes this is a USB Bluetooth dongle. LogiLink bt0015 Chipset: CSR BC8510. This dongle worked well with Big sure and previous operating systems.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Ponkass : if you are using an iMac19,1 SMBIOS, the HWTarget item located in the RTVariables section must not be entered (leave blank), this item must only be entered for SMBIOS corresponding to Macs "T2 chip" like iMacPro1,1 .... On the other hand it is necessary that the Extended Firmware Features and Extended Firmware Features Mask are informed.

Have you tried clear NVRAM with F11 at the Clover boot ?

PS : can you communicate your EFI file here?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 570
In other words, every single step should be double checked.

Indeed.

I did that and found my config.plist still had the default "** Enter SMBIOS Name (e.g. iMac19,1) **" in the DataHub tab (I swear I corrected that!). I corrected that (for real, this time) and triple checked the rest of the inputs. I successfully booted into OC and then into my Mojave drive.

Only one anomaly - I was on the final step of setting the boot order in BIOS to boot from my new OpenCore EFI partition. I did that, saved and booted. It booted into OC, but I couldn't select a drive (stuck on the first selection). I was reaching for my wired keyboard to see if that would work, and OC disappeared and Clover started up (There was no re-boot that I could tell). Then my old Clover drive selection appeared. So I selected a drive and it hung. After a reboot, all was well.

Thanks again for all the work you do to keep us all up & running!
 
Top