Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,918
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Had some issues with a previous installation. So I went back to my Mojave 10.14.6 backup. Pretty standard build. But I flashed the Thunderbolt EEPROM without issues and had been running it like this for quite some time.

Followed the guide to replace Clover with OpenCore a number of times. Disabled SecureBootModel and removed agdpmod=pikera due to running a Vega 56. In verbose mode it halts here:
My previous experience tells me that I've done something wrong, which is why I've tried so many times before posting. Any clues?
@makonats,

Couple of suggestions:
  • It would be good to post a screenshot of the /Library/Extensions folder. I'd like to see if there might be any suspicious kernel extensions.
  • It would also be helpful to compress and post your OpenCore EFI folder, but remove serial numbers from PlatformInfo section before compressing and posting.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ,

Thank you for your reply. Hard to believe that this build is already so old - must be on Pandemic time :)


Image 2-12-21 at 12.22 pm.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • EFI copy.zip
    4.6 MB · Views: 12
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Some comments and suggestions:
  • Only one USB port map is allowed. System will not boot with two USB port maps!
  • In Hackintool we can click the "clear" button followed by "refresh" button in order to see the updated USB map:
View attachment 536016
  • It's actually better to download IORegistryExplorer from here.
Please note that the new USB port map defines exactly 15 ports, which is the technical maximum without a kernel patch. A side-effect of limiting the number of ports is that USB 2.0 devices will not work on some USB 3.0 (blue or red) ports. It's best to attach USB 2.0 devices to black USB ports, which are USB 2.0.


Instructions:
  • Download IORegistryExplorer from link above.
  • Mount EFI partition and make the changes shown below to OpenCore's config.plist:
View attachment 536020
  • Reboot and log back in. Now all USB ports should be enabled.
  • Run IORegistryExplorer and select File --> Save As... and save the IOReg file; then post that file.
This will give us a clear look at all USB ports and help us determine where Bluetooth is located.
Hi @CaseySJ ,

I did followed your instructions, reboot is OK and all USB ports are working properly!

Now, here is my IOreg to determine where Bluetooth is located ;-)

Frank
 

Attachments

  • Studiomaca.ioreg
    14.7 MB · Views: 9

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,918
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ,

Thank you for your reply. Hard to believe that this build is already so old - must be on Pandemic time :)


View attachment 536066
Seems your OpenCore EFI Folder is 0.7.4 so please try the attached ZIP, which contains OpenCore 0.7.5. Inside the ZIP is a folder named EFI.

Simply add serial numbers into PlatformInfo --> DataHub section before use.

Some notes:
  • To enable verbose mode, press and release CMD-V at the OpenCore boot picker before selecting the Mojave boot disk.
  • I've made these changes:
    • Removed agdpmod=pikera
    • Disabled AppleVTD
    • Disabled SIP (system integrity protection)
    • Set SecureBootModel to Disabled
 

Attachments

  • OC-075-DESIGNARE-Z390-makonats.zip
    7.1 MB · Views: 12

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,918
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ ,

I did followed your instructions, reboot is OK and all USB ports are working properly!

Now, here is my IOreg to determine where Bluetooth is located ;-)

Frank
The IOReg file is very helpful, but it tells us that no Bluetooth device is connected to a USB port.

Some questions:
  • Which WiFi/BT device are you using? Fenvi FV-T919?
  • Is the Bluetooth USB data cable connected to one of the two internal F_USB headers on the motherboard?
Z390-Aorus-Pro.png
 
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
74
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. iMac
@faithie999,

I just attempted the procedure on my Monterey 12.1 Beta 3 installation. It works just fine...

Some suggestions:
  • Do not use sudo. I'll modify the guide momentarily.
  • After typing diskutil mount diskXsY where X and Y are determined from diskutil list, try the following:
Bash:
cd /Volumes
ls -l
  • What do you see? Is there a Preboot folder present?
  • If Preboot is present, type:
Bash:
cd Preboot
ls -l
  • What do you see? Do you see one or more UUIDs like this: a9b6e929-6158-4042-9fd4-cefd5e3cb57d ?
FWIW:

I reinstalled the latest Intel Power Gadget (SIP is disabled) with my recent BigSur CCC back-n-forth and it automatically updated the Preboot volume names to what I renamed the drive to (using disk utility) without having to do all this manual renaming trickery.

I don’t know if this works with Monterey, nor if IPG can still be used (and I’m sure any installer that updates the preboot info might do the same) but worked for me easy peasy.

J
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2021
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
The IOReg file is very helpful, but it tells us that no Bluetooth device is connected to a USB port.

Some questions:
  • Which WiFi/BT device are you using? Fenvi FV-T919?
  • Is the Bluetooth USB data cable connected to one of the two internal F_USB headers on the motherboard?
View attachment 536096
You're the man!

My DATA cable in the F_USB header wasn't plugged anymore ... oups sorry for this!

Everyhting works now!!! You're a king!!!
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
816
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
@faithie999,

I just attempted the procedure on my Monterey 12.1 Beta 3 installation. It works just fine...

Mea culpa. Mea culpa maxima.

when I read the guide my eyes immediately jumped to the code for terminal entries. I missed the "boot to Recovery".

I was ultimately successful. the only quirk I encountered was that once in the vi editor, after deleting the existing name, the newly-typed first 2 characters didn't show up on the screen. so I typed two characters then typed what I wanted the name to be, and exited.

thanks for your help and your patience!!

ken
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,918
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mea culpa. Mea culpa maxima.

when I read the guide my eyes immediately jumped to the code for terminal entries. I missed the "boot to Recovery".

I was ultimately successful. the only quirk I encountered was that once in the vi editor, after deleting the existing name, the newly-typed first 2 characters didn't show up on the screen. so I typed two characters then typed what I wanted the name to be, and exited.

thanks for your help and your patience!!

ken
I revamped that entire guide yesterday. It was too cluttered and outdated!

 
Joined
May 21, 2019
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi CaseySJ and others,

My build has been running very well thanks to this thread. Thanks for the great support.

Since a few weeks though, 1 in 5 boots or so the Bluetooth is completely dead. A reboot usually solves the issue. My wireless mouse (Logitech 2.4GHz) works, but the apple keyboard and other BT devices don't.

I'm on Catalina and OpenCore. What info should I collect in order to find out what's causing the issue? I'm using the suggested Fenvi card.
 
Top