Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 12, 2021
Messages
178
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z590 Maximus XIII Hero
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
W5700 Pro
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
1. Get Hackintosh up and running with opencore
2. Get another SSD to install windows 11 on.
3. unplug the hackintosh SSD while installing windows 11.
4. when windows 11 is working fine, plug the SSD with MacOS back in, and set that as first boot device.
5. Find both your volumes in opencore picker, and control + enter the MacOS Partition, cause it's highly illegal to have windows 11 as the primary boot. ;)

This is the easiest way, to prevent f**ing up your boot. =)

Fair warning to anyone who wants to add Ubuntu to NVMe hackintosh, even if it's on another drive... Ubuntu boot config does not play well with OC

Re messing up hackintosh in EFI in dual-boot scenarios. I installed Win10 and upgraded to Win11 on a SATA drive with OC / Big Sur on NVMe, and this caused no problems for the NVMe. But adding Ubuntu to the same SATA drive repeatedly clobbers the NVMe EFI folder even though

To be clear:
NVMe: OC+MacOS
SATA: Ubuntu, Windows

I am careful to tell Unity (Ubuntu's installer) that the installation is on the SATA. It puts Ubuntu where I want, updates that drives boot loader, then goes ahead on its own and writes over the NVMe anyway — including when performing yearly incremental dist-upgrades e.g. 21.10.

Ubuntu Unity overwrites:
EFI/BOOT/BOOTx64.efi
and adds an EFI/Ubuntu folder which sometimes gets seen by the chain loader associated with dual-boot Windows / Ubuntu when booting from the SATA.

When Unity skroggs the NVMe EFI part, it doesn't touch the EFI/OC folder, so you won't lose your hack configuration, but the whole thing is still a PITA.

Beyond having Unity working behind my back, the general capability of boot-loaders from one OS realm to load neighbor OSes turns into a byzantine labyrinth of confusion over what will happen where choosing one thing in the BIOS leads to another whether you intended it or not which means keep a level head when trouble-shooting.

I submitted a bug report at Canonical 6 mos ago and there was a follow-up question from their support which I answered, but when Ubuntu 21.10 came out, my NVMe EFI got stepped on again. So they either are clueless or don't think the behavior of jacking the EFI on a drive unrelated to the install is a problem. (Linus Toralds was right when he saw EFI coming decades ago and raised the red flag: EFI architecture is a nightmare.)

It amuse me to note that Windows has been well behaved for me by comparison, it's installers don't mess with any device except the target and multi-boot is not disturbed by its machinations. And Apple doesn't really use the EFI partition except as a temporary area, while hackers are using it to end-run Apple, so it all feels delightfully bizarre.

I keep a USB stick around with a known-good OC EFI so I can boot and fix the NVMe when this happens. But when also testing MacOS updates, OC updates, and config adjustments for problematic HW, keeping track of which OC vs which Mac while having 3rd party trounce EFI is exhausting.

I suppose this should be posted over in Boot Loaders but I am too pooped keeping track of this forum's insane filing system to worry about it. Maybe someone will find this vital lore over here on page 3404 of 'Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580'
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With a little bit of patience and care, it should be straightforward to upgrade. Let's take a look at the high-level procedure:
  1. Make a full bootable backup of Mojave. No excuses. This is an absolute requirement.
  2. Install BIOS F9g or F9i and disable CFG-Lock from Boot section of BIOS Setup.
    • The configure all BIOS parameters starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults).
    • Refer to Post 1. Open the spoiler Firmware F8 and Newer to see all BIOS settings.
  3. Replace Clover with OpenCore.
  4. Verify that Mojave works with OpenCore.
  5. Once you're satisfied with the changes made so far, you're ready to perform an in-place upgrade to Monterey from System Preferences --> Software Update.
Here are the relevant links from the Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1:
View attachment 532615
I have gotten to the step Replace Clover with OpenCore and read the mini guide but the guide says to follow four steps that are fully described in the OpenCore 0.7.0 guide below, which has been replaced with instructions to proceed with using HackinDROM app. HackinDROM app does not work in Mojave so I went to go use the online version. There really are no instructions. I have used Clover to get all the necessary data like SMUUID and such but I'm not sure what to do. I have downloaded pre-configured OpenCore EFI. Very confused.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,006
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have gotten to the step Replace Clover with OpenCore and read the mini guide but the guide says to follow four steps that are fully described in the OpenCore 0.7.0 guide below, which has been replaced with instructions to proceed with using HackinDROM app. HackinDROM app does not work in Mojave so I went to go use the online version. There really are no instructions. I have used Clover to get all the necessary data like SMUUID and such but I'm not sure what to do. I have downloaded pre-configured OpenCore EFI. Very confused.
No worries. Configuring OpenCore EFI is quite easy as follows:
  1. Download OpenCore 0.7.4 EFI folder from this post. Click the one on the left (4.6 MB).
  2. Rename the top level folder to simply EFI
  3. Now open the EFI/OC folder. Inside you'll find two .plist files.
  4. Because you have an AMD GPU, rename the file config-AMD-GPU.plist to just config.plist.
  5. Download latest version of OpenCore Configurator by clicking here. Current version is 2.52.0.1.
  6. Launch OpenCore Configurator. MacOS will throw a warning because this was downloaded from the Internet. Just go to System Preferences --> Security & Privacy --> General tab, and click Allow from the bottom right.
  7. Look at the title bar of OpenCore Configurator. Does it say OpenCore 0.7.4 Release Configuration? If not, follow these screenshots:
    Screen Shot 2021-10-30 at 12.14.23 PM.png
    View attachment 532638
  8. Now open config.plist from step 4 using OpenCore Configurator. Take a moment to flip through each of the sections on the left side. Get to know briefly what's there. This will become the central focus of your Hackintosh life!!
  9. Run Hackintool (it can downloaded from here by clicking Hackintool.zip).
  10. Launch Hackintool and keep it running.
  11. Now go back to OpenCore Configurator and select PlatformInfo --> DataHub
  12. Copy and paste the items below from Hackintool to OpenCore Configurator:
    Screen Shot 2021-10-30 at 12.20.41 PM.png
  13. Be very careful -- double-check everything.
  14. Save the file (CMD-S).
Now you're ready to test the new OpenCore configuration:
  1. Use a USB flash disk that has EFI partition. Or find a blank USB disk and format it in Disk Utility:
    • Name: Anything
    • Format: FAT32 (any option is okay)
    • Scheme: GUID Partition Map
  2. Mount EFI partition of USB flash disk.
  3. Copy the entire new EFI folder to the root level of the EFI partition on USB flash disk.
Now test to see if Mojave/Catalina will still work:
  • Reboot
  • When Gigabyte Splash screen appears, press F12 to open BIOS Boot Menu
  • Select the USB flash disk
  • You should see the new OpenCore Canopy (graphical boot picker)
  • Select your Mojave/Catalina disk
  • Does Mojave/Catalina boot up?
    • If so, use Mojave/Catalina for a little while to make sure everything is okay
    • Check your WiFi, Bluetooth, Audio, Ethernet ports, etc.
    • Check Sleep/Wake behavior
Once you're satisfied that Mojave/Catalina is working normally, do the following:
  • Mount the EFI partition of (a) Mojave/Catalina NVMe SSD and (b) USB flash disk.
  • In the Mojave/Catalina EFI partition, rename the "EFI" folder to something like "EFI-Clover"
  • Then copy the EFI folder from USB EFI partition to Mojave/Catalina EFI partition
  • Eject the USB flash disk
  • Reboot and let system boot from internal Mojave/Catalina SSD
  • Does it boot up properly?
If so, you're ready to begin System Preferences --> Software Update.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
196
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX-580
** Experiencing Slow Boot Times in Monterey? **

Please try this and report your results:
  • In Terminal, type:
Bash:
log show --last boot | grep "trims took"
  • Give it a few seconds to run then press CTRL-C to stop.
  • Post the output.
Here's the result from my Z490 Vision D with release version of Monterey:
Code:
kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk3 scan took 1.913441 s, trims took 1.786507 s
kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk2 scan took 2.299866 s, trims took 2.262432 s
Note that both operations took less than 3 seconds.
kernel: (apfs) spaceman_scan_free_blocks:3153: disk2 scan took 32.231385 s, trims took 32.046880 s

970 Pro m2
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
46
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
That's a good sign. Does Final Cut Pro stutter on all HEVC (H.265) video files or only some specific ones?

Hopefully other Final Cut Pro users can provide some hints.

I was trying to play a video, not encode one (decode is choppy). I don't have Final Cut Pro installed, so I imported the video into iMovie, and it plays horribly there.

The video (recorded on my cell phone), plays no problem on my phone.

EDIT:

Okay, I feel like an idiot for wasting your time on this... The file must have been partially corrupted when I copied it using Android File Transfer. I tested it on my Ubuntu server that has a GTX 1060 6GB and noticed it was choppy (copied from my Hack to the server). So I transfered a few more video files from my phone, and they all work great.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
200
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I seem to be experiencing higher than normal Fan speeds on my Hack since upgrading to Monterey. I'm running OC 0.7.4 using slightly modified "CaseySJ" config.plist (headless igpu w/ Vega64). Anybody else experiencing this?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No worries. Configuring OpenCore EFI is quite easy as follows:
  1. Download OpenCore 0.7.4 EFI folder from this post. Click the one on the left (4.6 MB).
  2. Rename the top level folder to simply EFI
  3. Now open the EFI/OC folder. Inside you'll find two .plist files.
  4. Because you have an AMD GPU, rename the file config-AMD-GPU.plist to just config.plist.
  5. Download latest version of OpenCore Configurator by clicking here. Current version is 2.52.0.1.
  6. Launch OpenCore Configurator. MacOS will throw a warning because this was downloaded from the Internet. Just go to System Preferences --> Security & Privacy --> General tab, and click Allow from the bottom right.
  7. Look at the title bar of OpenCore Configurator. Does it say OpenCore 0.7.4 Release Configuration? If not, follow these screenshots:
    View attachment 532637View attachment 532638
  8. Now open config.plist from step 4 using OpenCore Configurator. Take a moment to flip through each of the sections on the left side. Get to know briefly what's there. This will become the central focus of your Hackintosh life!!
  9. Run Hackintool (it can downloaded from here by clicking Hackintool.zip).
  10. Launch Hackintool and keep it running.
  11. Now go back to OpenCore Configurator and select PlatformInfo --> DataHub
  12. Copy and paste the items below from Hackintool to OpenCore Configurator:
    View attachment 532639
  13. Be very careful -- double-check everything.
  14. Save the file (CMD-S).
Now you're ready to test the new OpenCore configuration:
  1. Use a USB flash disk that has EFI partition. Or find a blank USB disk and format it in Disk Utility:
    • Name: Anything
    • Format: FAT32 (any option is okay)
    • Scheme: GUID Partition Map
  2. Mount EFI partition of USB flash disk.
  3. Copy the entire new EFI folder to the root level of the EFI partition on USB flash disk.
Now test to see if Mojave/Catalina will still work:
  • Reboot
  • When Gigabyte Splash screen appears, press F12 to open BIOS Boot Menu
  • Select the USB flash disk
  • You should see the new OpenCore Canopy (graphical boot picker)
  • Select your Mojave/Catalina disk
  • Does Mojave/Catalina boot up?
    • If so, use Mojave/Catalina for a little while to make sure everything is okay
    • Check your WiFi, Bluetooth, Audio, Ethernet ports, etc.
    • Check Sleep/Wake behavior
Once you're satisfied that Mojave/Catalina is working normally, do the following:
  • Mount the EFI partition of (a) Mojave/Catalina NVMe SSD and (b) USB flash disk.
  • In the Mojave/Catalina EFI partition, rename the "EFI" folder to something like "EFI-Clover"
  • Then copy the EFI folder from USB EFI partition to Mojave/Catalina EFI partition
  • Eject the USB flash disk
  • Reboot and let system boot from internal Mojave/Catalina SSD
  • Does it boot up properly?
If so, you're ready to begin System Preferences --> Software Update.
I must be missing something. I followed these instructions and here is what happens:
The OpenCore Canopy does launch but after I select the EFI drive I want to boot from the screen goes black and I and I get a DoNot Symbol (circle with the slash across it) and the machine eventually shuts off.
If I select the other drive (which is what I am supposed to do) the screen goes black and the apple logo comes up with a thermometer going like it is doing a system restore I think. This gets halfway through and the screen just goes black.
I still have my backup so after F12 I select that boot drive. Clover runs and I select my initial drive. Things come back except my dual monitors are just one, iTunes wants to launch but doesn't have my credentials, and 1Password keeps trying to verify (which I cancel).
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 DESIGNARE
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I must be missing something. I followed these instructions and here is what happens:
The OpenCore Canopy does launch but after I select the EFI drive I want to boot from the screen goes black and I and I get a DoNot Symbol (circle with the slash across it) and the machine eventually shuts off.
If I select the other drive (which is what I am supposed to do) the screen goes black and the apple logo comes up with a thermometer going like it is doing a system restore I think. This gets halfway through and the screen just goes black.
I still have my backup so after F12 I select that boot drive. Clover runs and I select my initial drive. Things come back except my dual monitors are just one, iTunes wants to launch but doesn't have my credentials, and 1Password keeps trying to verify (which I cancel).
I just removed the config-Intel-iGPU.plist from my EFI and now everything appears to be working under OpenCore.
Is this correct to do?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
341
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
I have a GC-Maple Ridge card coming. Anyone tried it on a Z390 board? Curious if it's possible to add TB4 to this chipset.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,006
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just removed the config-Intel-iGPU.plist from my EFI and now everything appears to be working under OpenCore.
Is this correct to do?
Removing that file has no effect, but any of these could have had a positive impact:
  • Cold boot
  • Reset NVRAM
  • Disable CFG-Lock in BIOS and configure the remaining parameters
 
Last edited:
Top