Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,227
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just updated my primary Designare Z390 from Big Sur 11.6.1 to Monterey 12.0.1. No problems experienced. Namely:
  • OpenCore 0.7.4.
  • Boot time is normal with ADATA SX8200 Pro NVMe SSD.
  • Fenvi FV-T919 WiFi and Bluetooth working normally without using BlueToolFixup.kext
  • As expected, Intel i211 Ethernet port does not connect because Monterey impairs the SmallTreeIntel82576 kext.
  • Intel i219 Ethernet port driven by IntelMausi.kext is okay.
All of my previous Monterey installations were on secondary Hackintosh systems, and all were fresh installs. This is my first in-place upgrade.

Note: Samsung 970 Evo and Evo Plus NVMe SSDs -- and possibly Samsung 980 NVMe SSDs -- may lead to significantly increased boot times due to trim-related issues. If macOS is installed on one of these drives, it may be best to wait a little while to see whether Acidanthera (developers of OpenCore) find a solution.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,022
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As a workaround, I'm using an SATA SSD (APFS) for the OS, other SATA SSDs (HFS+Encrypted) for most of my media, and the PCIe 970s (HFS+Encrypted) for samples and recording.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
251
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As a workaround, I'm using an SATA SSD (APFS) for the OS, other SATA SSDs (HFS+Encrypted) for most of my media, and the PCIe 970s (HFS+Encrypted) for samples and recording.

@jiffyslot @CaseySJ

I see a faster boot of Monterey 12.0.1 using a Samsung 860 EVO SSD connected to SATA Port 2 -- about 26 seconds, compared to 68 seconds with the Samsung 970 EVO @ M2M.

This was even a little faster than Big Sur 11.6.1 on the 970 EVO which took 34 seconds to boot.

The 860 EVO "trims took" 1.066 sec.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,227
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Crashing appeared to be a few corrupted transcoded clips in the timeline. All is well now. I have run some tests comparing the Vega 56 and W6800. I can honestly say that I am disappointed in my purchase. I tested render time with 2min of 4K60 footage with color grading and nose reduction from three different cameras (BMPCC4K, iPhone 12 Pro, and GoPro 6). In the past these would cause the CPU to ramp to 100% until the Vega filled to 8GB. Now with the W6800, it does the same but stops at about 18GB VRAM and then basically sits idle. See the table for results. Money probably would have been better spent on a new MBP with an M1 max chip as I am still rocking a 2013 MBP which can't be updated to Monterey.

View attachment 532189

I have only used Resolve once with the Vega 56 and everything including CPU ramped to 100%. My UPS actually got overloaded because of it and wouldn't stop alarming. I haven't used it since but I am now wondering if Resolve would utilize the full performance of the W6800.
Very good information. I lifted some benchmarks from recent YouTube reviews of the new M1 Pro and Max laptops in the post below. HEVC workflows are significantly improved, but ProRes workflows are mind-bogglingly improved per Rene Ritchie’s video.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
88
Motherboard
ASRock W480 Creator
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Very good information. I lifted some benchmarks from recent YouTube reviews of the new M1 Pro and Max laptops in the post below. HEVC workflows are significantly improved, but ProRes workflows are mind-bogglingly improved per Rene Ritchie’s video.
@pierceal It would be nice to know how the 6800/XT/6900XT performed in these same workloads. I agree that this is pretty poor for the W6800.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
242
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A
CPU
7960X
Graphics
6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Note: Samsung 970 Evo and Evo Plus NVMe SSDs -- and possibly Samsung 980 NVMe SSDs -- may lead to significantly increased boot times due to trim-related issues. If macOS is installed on one of these drives, it may be best to wait a little while to see whether Acidanthera (developers of OpenCore) find a solution.

It would honestly be so nice if someone could buy 10 different NVME ssd's and compare boot speed on opencore, but that is kinda messy job to do! :lol: But really good info to know when looking for a SSD to your hack.
 
Joined
May 1, 2020
Messages
11
Motherboard
Designare Z390
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
Radeon Pro W6800
@pierceal It would be nice to know how the 6800/XT/6900XT performed in these same workloads. I agree that this is pretty poor for the W6800.
I originally thought I was VRAM limited because of how the Vega was behaving. The largest amount of time is used rendering the FCPX noise reduction effect. I may try neat video to see if that is faster. But even then the Vega may still be on par with the W6800.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
172
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Sapphire RX580 Pulse 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This also shows normal sleep/wake. What I am looking for is something like this:
  • 2021-10-26 09:00:00 Sleep Entering Sleep state due to idle period (or something like that)
  • 2021-10-26 09:00:02 Wake due to: blah blah blah
Notice that there's a time difference of 2 seconds between Sleep and Wake. So let's try this experiment:
  1. Set your idle sleep time to about 5 minutes.
  2. Leave the system alone.
  3. Let it try to enter sleep.
  4. If the monitor goes dark, but fans continue to spin, give it a full 90 seconds. Don't touch or interrupt the system.
  5. If the fans stay on after 90 seconds, press a key to turn on the monitor.
  6. Then wait about 5 minutes for a second sleep cycle to begin.
  7. Repeat steps 2 through 5.
  8. Now grab the sleep/wake log once again.
Bash:
pmset -g log | grep -e "Sleep.*due to" -e "Wake.*due to"

Hi @CaseySJ

I did that experiment, and to my surprise, it didn't affect the log at all:

Code:
...
2021-10-26 05:17:30 -0300 Sleep                   Entering Sleep state due to 'Maintenance Sleep':TCPKeepAlive=active Using AC (Charge:0%) 7205 secs
2021-10-26 07:17:35 -0300 DarkWake                DarkWake from Normal Sleep [CDN] : due to RTC/Maintenance Using AC (Charge:0%) 45 secs
2021-10-26 07:18:20 -0300 Sleep                   Entering Sleep state due to 'Maintenance Sleep':TCPKeepAlive=active Using AC (Charge:0%) 4338 secs
2021-10-26 08:30:38 -0300 Wake                    Wake from Normal Sleep [CDNVA] : due to XDCI CNVW USBW/User Using AC (Charge:0%)
2021-10-26 23:47:20 -0300 Sleep                   Entering Sleep state due to 'Software Sleep pid=153':TCPKeepAlive=disabled Using AC (Charge:0%) 38863 secs
2021-10-27 10:35:03 -0300 Wake                    Wake from Normal Sleep [CDNVA] : due to XDCI CNVW USBW/User Using AC (Charge:0%)

Now, 2021-10-26 23:47:20 is the time I went to bed yesterday, and again I manually triggered the sleep process.
This morning the computer was still sleeping, and I woke it up around 10h30.

After that, I did the tests you requested, and they don't even show up on the log.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Messages
70
Motherboard
GA-Z390-DESIGNARE
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I may need to create a formal one soon. But in the meantime, please use this one (only 3 steps):
Note that on Z390 Designare the Intel i211 Ethernet port (closest to WiFi connector) will not work in Monterey. The other Ethernet port will work.

Thanks! Although I was actually thinking about doing a clean install, so might wait for the guide, because I'm running Clover now and think it might be a good idea to go over to OpenCore. Or is it?
 
Top