Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sorry, guiscard, on two systems here the GPU utilization is working as expected, on both 0.7.2 and 0.7.3. However, and again, I'm on Catalina, and further, I don't use FCPx or Compressor, but Resolve, Adobe, and Avid. Try running Geekbench and Cinebench to test out your GPU utilization. For a comparison, and using Radeon Boost, my Vega 64 runs a 73k GeekBench Metal score, and on the system with the Radeon VIIs, it can pull 100k scores. Start with that and if your scores are in the ballpark of mine (with RB), I'd start taking a closer look at your config.plist, and/or issues with BigSur and FCP/Compressor. i.e., you say you tried the two main SMBIOS flavors, but did you correctly configure/remove your GPU device properties for each?
Good luck,
J
Sorry for the late reply. I was traveling. I thought my GPU device properties were configured correctly. Where would you suggest I find the correct properties? The Dortana guide isn't very specific on Radeon VIIs.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,251
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmm? Cloning to an SSD, updating that SSD and booting worked fine. Updating the original NVMe drive did not.
When you cloned Big Sur to the external SSD, that SSD was initially empty so CCC used “APFS Replicator” to clone the internal disk to the external disk. This creates a bootable backup.

But when you cloned the external disk to the internal disk, did you first erase/re-format the internal disk? With Big Sur and newer versions of macOS (including Monterey) it is necessary to reformat the DESTINATION disk in order to clone the read-only “System” volume.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
69
Motherboard
Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Is there anything I need to know before running windows 10 (dual boot) with OC 0.7.4? I have it installed on an internal SSD and haven't booted it up in a very long time.

Any gotchas or things I should avoid? I'm scared I'm going to destroy the big sur side just booting into it lol.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When you cloned Big Sur to the external SSD, that SSD was initially empty so CCC used “APFS Replicator” to clone the internal disk to the external disk. This creates a bootable backup.

But when you cloned the external disk to the internal disk, did you first erase/re-format the internal disk? With Big Sur and newer versions of macOS (including Monterey) it is necessary to reformat the DESTINATION disk in order to clone the read-only “System” volume.
I did not clone my working Monterey system on a sata drive back onto my internal NVME main drive.

I had a working Big Sur system running on an NVME drive. I cloned that system onto a sata SSD drive, updated the ssd to Monterey, and verified that it worked.

Once I verified that I had no bugs/ broken features, I proceeded to update my internal NVME drive as well to Monterey from Big Sur.

Both drives started with the same Big Sur installation (minus some data such as movies that were not important for my test, so those were not cloned), and both drives were independently updated to Monterey using the same installer
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,170
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,251
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there anything I need to know before running windows 10 (dual boot) with OC 0.7.4? I have it installed on an internal SSD and haven't booted it up in a very long time.

Any gotchas or things I should avoid? I'm scared I'm going to destroy the big sur side just booting into it lol.
It's always advisable to manually verify config.plist settings. With OpenCore 0.7.4 we should verify the following:
  1. ACPI --> Add --> SSDT-DMAR.aml --> Checked on
  2. ACPI --> Delete --> DMAR --> Checked on
  3. Kernel --> CustomSMBIOSGuid --> Enabled
  4. PlatformInfo --> UpdateSMBIOSMode --> Custom
  5. PlatformInfo --> DataHub --> AdviseFeatures --> Enabled
  6. BIOS --> VT-d --> Enabled
P.S. Always have a bootable backup of macOS.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,251
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did not clone my working Monterey system on a sata drive back onto my internal NVME main drive.

I had a working Big Sur system running on an NVME drive. I cloned that system onto a sata SSD drive, updated the ssd to Monterey, and verified that it worked.

Once I verified that I had no bugs/ broken features, I proceeded to update my internal NVME drive as well to Monterey from Big Sur.

Both drives started with the same Big Sur installation (minus some data such as movies that were not important for my test, so those were not cloned), and both drives were independently updated to Monterey using the same installer
Some things to consider:
  • In the bottom right corner of OpenCore Picker we'll see the version string. It should say REL-074-(Date). That tells us we've booted from the right EFI partition.
  • At the same OpenCore Picker we can press and release CMD-V and then select our macOS boot icon. This enables Verbose mode. If the boot process freezes, we can often get some hints from the last few log lines.
  • It's also a good idea to perform a cold start:
    • Shutdown the system
    • Flip power switch on PSU to OFF for 10 seconds
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some things to consider:
  • In the bottom right corner of OpenCore Picker we'll see the version string. It should say REL-074-(Date). That tells us we've booted from the right EFI partition.
  • At the same OpenCore Picker we can press and release CMD-V and then select our macOS boot icon. This enables Verbose mode. If the boot process freezes, we can often get some hints from the last few log lines.
  • It's also a good idea to perform a cold start:
    • Shutdown the system
    • Flip power switch on PSU to OFF for 10 seconds
I will try those tonight and get back to you. I'm fairly confident the correct version of OC is used, because my previous OC version was 0.6.4 and it does not boot Monterey at all.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some things to consider:
  • In the bottom right corner of OpenCore Picker we'll see the version string. It should say REL-074-(Date). That tells us we've booted from the right EFI partition.
  • At the same OpenCore Picker we can press and release CMD-V and then select our macOS boot icon. This enables Verbose mode. If the boot process freezes, we can often get some hints from the last few log lines.
  • It's also a good idea to perform a cold start:
    • Shutdown the system
    • Flip power switch on PSU to OFF for 10 seconds
I think that my NVME drive somehow died.

It let it sit for ~1hr, and it ended up booting, but it had some permission errors. I tried to wipe it, but the data partition would always fail to unmount. It erased 40% of the way on the command line before throwing an error. Tried erasing it on a real Mac, but no luck. The drive is running extremely hot, even when not in use. I will try with another drive and let you know in a few days how it goes. Most likely the issue was hardware-based, and somehow upgrading the drive killed it.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2014
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5 9600K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I used HackinDROM to update my install today, and it went flawlessly. Which I have to say "Wow", we certainly have come far.

While I was playing around with the system (9900k and RX580), I went in and changed the platform ID so that the system would be headless

'headless platform ID 0x3E980003'

I don't know if I see any difference or not yet.

I've got an extra 5600 XT that I was going to put into the system. (No game playing, exclusively used for development with dual monitors, YouTube video playback, a million chrome browser tabs - I don't do any video rendering or anything like that.) I was wondering if it's worth it now to change the SMBIOS to an iMacPro1,1 from IMac19,1 since the video card is going to be so much 'faster'.

I occasionally notice some slow downs when I have a million windows on the screen.
 
Top