Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed something in windows today.
I wanted to get my system's info, and noticed it was all filled with my macOS informaiton.
Is there a way to keep windows information to my actual build?
With OpenCore 0.7.3 and up we have this:

Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 2.18.39 PM.png
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With OpenCore 074, did they ever figure out a fix for "SetApfsTrimTimeout" in regard to the hammering that Samsung M2/NVME SSDs were getting? I haven't seen it mentioned as resolved over at Github. Is it the kind of thing that would be silently fixed?
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think that my NVME drive somehow died.

It let it sit for ~1hr, and it ended up booting, but it had some permission errors. I tried to wipe it, but the data partition would always fail to unmount. It erased 40% of the way on the command line before throwing an error. Tried erasing it on a real Mac, but no luck. The drive is running extremely hot, even when not in use. I will try with another drive and let you know in a few days how it goes. Most likely the issue was hardware-based, and somehow upgrading the drive killed it.
@CaseySJ It seems that updating to Monterey killed my main OS drive and my time machine drive.

After updating, my time machine drive has been stuck in read only mode, and I can no longer access previous backups of my hackintosh. I can however access other backups. I cannot fix permissions or mount it normally on other machines either. I have no idea how this could have happened.

Booting up is also somewhat problematic. Sometimes the hackintosh will boot, sometimes it'll stay stuck on the loading bar. This is never a problem when booting to a sata SSD, only when booting to the NVME ssd. I also had to disconnect my windows SSD, otherwise the NVME SSD would never boot.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello !! Mr Casey

Since OC 0.7.4 sometimes this error appears (at Bios boot) :

"Failed to find SB model disable halting on critical error"

Dortania says "This is a typo, ensure that in your config.plist Misc -> Security -> SecureBootModel is set to Disabled" but now it is set to default (for Monterey ß10...)

What to do, please? Thank you in advance (as always !!)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello !! Mr Casey

Since OC 0.7.4 sometimes this error appears (at Bios boot) :

"Failed to find SB model disable halting on critical error"

Dortania says "This is a typo, ensure that in your config.plist Misc -> Security -> SecureBootModel is set to Disabled" but now it is set to default (for Monterey ß10...)

What to do, please? Thank you in advance (as always !!)
Hello @zgonda,

Please open config.plist in a text editor such as TextEdit or BBEdit, search for “SecureBootModel” and post a screenshot.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ It seems that updating to Monterey killed my main OS drive and my time machine drive.

After updating, my time machine drive has been stuck in read only mode, and I can no longer access previous backups of my hackintosh. I can however access other backups. I cannot fix permissions or mount it normally on other machines either. I have no idea how this could have happened.

Booting up is also somewhat problematic. Sometimes the hackintosh will boot, sometimes it'll stay stuck on the loading bar. This is never a problem when booting to a sata SSD, only when booting to the NVME ssd. I also had to disconnect my windows SSD, otherwise the NVME SSD would never boot.
Some questions:
  • What is the make/model of the macOS NVMe SSD?
  • What is the make/model of the Time Machine SSD?
  • What is the make/model of the Windows SSD?
Whenever we install or remove devices from the motherboard we should always flip power switch on PSU to OFF position or physically disconnect power cable. Otherwise we risk electrical fault.

Having said that, one of my SATA SSDs also failed two weeks ago. Disk Utility could not successfully format the disk even though it connected and appeared in IOReg. The formatting procedure would begin and subsequently fail. Not wanting to take any chances, I replaced the disk. Will see if the warranty is still good — if so, will send it back to manufacturer.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Voilà :

Thank you !
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-10-18 à 13.11.13.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-10-18 à 13.11.13.png
    93.5 KB · Views: 24
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
try changing SecureBootModel to Disabled
But if I change I will no longer be able to get the updates for Monterey. Isn't that what is said here ? :

"** OpenCore 0.7.4 EFI for Designare Z390 ** (CaseySJ)
.../...
  • SecureBootModel (Misc --> Security) has been changed to Default because OpenCore 0.7.4 applies the correct settings based on macOS version and System Product Name."
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,838
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
But if I change I will no longer be able to get the updates for Monterey. Isn't that what is said here ? :

"** OpenCore 0.7.4 EFI for Designare Z390 ** (CaseySJ)
.../...
  • SecureBootModel (Misc --> Security) has been changed to Default because OpenCore 0.7.4 applies the correct settings based on macOS version and System Product Name."
oh ok... I didn't have that issue though
 
Top