Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 7, 2014
Messages
33
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i5 9600K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just to double-check: Was the Platform ID entered in reverse byte order, like this: 0300983E?


It is possible to experiment with a new System Product Name, but we should proceed with some caution, like this:
  • Log out of Apple ID from System Preferences --> Apple ID --> Overview. This will ensure that a new product does not get registered to your Apple ID.
  • Then simply change System Product Name from iMac19,1 to iMacPro1,1 and save config.plist.
  • Reboot.
  • Perform as many tests/benchmarks as you like in order to determine whether iMacPro1,1 makes any difference.
Well, I went through and generated a whole new SMBIOS and changed all those settings in the config.plist. I did log out of iCloud so no problems there. In ProperTree I do still have ig-platform-id set to 3E980003

However I DID go into my bios and disable the iGPU.
The GeekBench scores are higher in metal, but handbrake doesn't use the dGPU RX 580 currently to do any type of transcode so I think I still have something wrong somewhere. The tool vdaDecoderChecker says I'm good...


One thing i did notice is that the I still have the igpu listed in the config.plist
PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    33.5 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
74
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. iMac
Currently trying that. I realized that it's the Apple programs that aren't using the card. Luxmark maxes it out.
Doing a quick search it seems FCProX doesn’t list RVII as a supported GPU? Perhaps the unsupported firmware just gets worse with the upgraded OS? Try Radeon Boost as it makes a LARGE difference. I can’t help much beyond that b/c I don’t use FCPx. Although Avid and Adobe sort of use GPUs, it’s Resolve that REALLY does, and the RVII is great for that.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,004
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ I pulled the RX 6900XT from my hackintosh and switched to the iGPU. Not great, but it works. Any suggestions on Bios settings for reasonable performance?
Nope. Nada. None. :) We're talking UHD 630 here... But in all seriousness, one option is to add boot-arg igfxfw=2.
Screen Shot 2021-10-16 at 4.24.17 PM.png


...
Here's the 6900, now water cooled, in my new rig! Waiting for the new 1200W power supply to arrive. Getting closer to completion every day!
...
That's awesome. I was just watching Jayz2Cents unbox the Asus X570 Crosshair VIII Extreme and all I can say is wow!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,004
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I went through and generated a whole new SMBIOS and changed all those settings in the config.plist. I did log out of iCloud so no problems there. In ProperTree I do still have ig-platform-id set to 3E980003

However I DID go into my bios and disable the iGPU.
The GeekBench scores are higher in metal, but handbrake doesn't use the dGPU RX 580 currently to do any type of transcode so I think I still have something wrong somewhere. The tool vdaDecoderChecker says I'm good...


One thing i did notice is that the I still have the igpu listed in the config.plist
PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
Even with iMacPro1,1 it is actually okay to enable the iGPU. Might be something to try...;
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Even with iMacPro1,1 it is actually okay to enable the iGPU. Might be something to try...;
Thanks. IDK that this was still okay to do. If a iMP can use the iGPU for the green-apple-quick-sync, this config might be the way to go to make the RX580 do as much work as possible. I'm still using the low power patch or the RX580 and I really like it to stay at reduced performance when it's only doing screen draws for DAWs and their plugins.

I'm only keeping Mojave around for Photoshop CS6. Big Sur and that new beta have been killer with UAD, Pro Tools, Logic, VEP7, and Lightroom 4.4. For the first time in a long time, I am very optimistic about the upcoming OS.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Doing a quick search it seems FCProX doesn’t list RVII as a supported GPU? Perhaps the unsupported firmware just gets worse with the upgraded OS? Try Radeon Boost as it makes a LARGE difference. I can’t help much beyond that b/c I don’t use FCPx. Although Avid and Adobe sort of use GPUs, it’s Resolve that REALLY does, and the RVII is great for that.
It might be that something changed. I have Mojave still installed on another disk and it uses the VII with Final Cut Pro and the rendering is much quicker.

Edit: Here are a couple of screenshots. The first is Big Sur and OC running Geekbench (Metal and OpenCL), the second is the same two tests done on Mojave with Clover. Clearly some OSX rendering processes aren't using the Radeon fully in Big Sur, but others do.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 09.48.11.png
    Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 09.48.11.png
    23.9 KB · Views: 24
  • Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 9.51.50 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 9.51.50 AM.png
    26.5 KB · Views: 24
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
74
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. iMac
It might be that something changed. I have Mojave still installed on another disk and it uses the VII with Final Cut Pro and the rendering is much quicker.

Edit: Here are a couple of screenshots. The first is Big Sur and OC running Geekbench (Metal and OpenCL), the second is the same two tests done on Mojave with Clover. Clearly some OSX rendering processes aren't using the Radeon fully in Big Sur, but others do.
I think we’re getting some streams crossed here…I was suggesting an issue with FCPx and the GPU, not the OS. Your screen shot seems to suggest an issue with the latter.

What is your Geekbench 5 metal score in Mojave, and what is the score in BigSur?

In Mojave or Catalina and Radeon Boost, my RVIIs scored as high as 100k using Metal. Without Radeon Boost the score would be as low as 64k. If your score in BigSur doesn’t align with those, I’d say there’s definitely a problem (whether OC config, hardware or OS) but I guess I’d be surprised if Big Sur itself has caused this. Even if the card was running at a slower speed I’d think the OS would still be fully utilizing it, and your screenshot seems to suggest otherwise.

Maybe submit your OC efi?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2018
Messages
143
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580 & WX7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed something in windows today.
I wanted to get my system's info, and noticed it was all filled with my macOS informaiton.
Is there a way to keep windows information to my actual build?
 
Top