Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, but follow the guide on how to properly disable AppleVTD. A link to the guide is posted in the OpenCore 0.7.3 (yes 0.7.3) mini-guide.


Please see screenshot in the post below for answer.
Thanks CaseySJ, all works fine. :clap:
:headbang:
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i7 9700k
Graphics
MSI Radeon R9 270X Gaming 2G
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@zipb

I've got 9.14.5 installed which worked fine until I've started changing so many things in my system while trying to get rid of the ominous 40 second AVB disconnects. I really cannot tell for sure what has caused UAD to get instable but will report back once I crack the disconnection issue.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@zipb

I've got 9.14.5 installed which worked fine until I've started changing so many things in my system while trying to get rid of the ominous 40 second AVB disconnects. I really cannot tell for sure what has caused UAD to get instable but will report back once I crack the disconnection issue.
For me, if booting is slow, then the UAD card is not found and then nothing works. If the card is seen, all is fine.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For me, if booting is slow, then the UAD card is not found and then nothing works. If the card is seen, all is fine.

Are you talking about a UAD PCIe card?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
137
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
In what sense is your UAD card giving your grieve? I've had erratic behaviour with my UAD2 Quad since I upgraded to Big Sur. It was rock solid for years, never a problem. In BS, installing the software/driver was really hard, and yesterday after a crash the whole card disappeared and rebooting takes minutes instead of seconds.
I also had trouble with the UAD card in Big Sur before enabling VT-D, BTW.
Yeah alot of Zanny stuff going on ATM :) ...lol. For the uad card on my 390 des, i had a issue with i think .73 oc where the uad card upon boot just was disable. I dont know why and i dont know what happened for it to come back. I think im latest uad and it fixed it.
For me there is windows 11 and Monterey that i run on a amd and intel system so my hands are full but i think im generally good. I run a carbon system on intel 380 and a rme ufx+ on my amd system. At some point i may try the carbon on amd system.

@CaseySJ a heads up, the 074 on my aero-g board you update is good, there is a new beta bios for that board, i test tb and its acts like previous beta. I am running final windows 11 and 11.6 big sur.. All is well. I still have a outstanding issue, it sees beta 8 monterey but upon upgrade as in last version it hangs after reboot. I know we discussed this, but im just going to wait until final release to deal with this. I have beta 6 working fine on my amd system.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
@CaseySJ a heads up, the 074 on my aero-g board you update is good, there is a new beta bios for that board, i test tb and its acts like previous beta. I am running final windows 11 and 11.6 big sur.. All is well. I still have a outstanding issue, it sees beta 8 monterey but upon upgrade as in last version it hangs after reboot. I know we discussed this, but im just going to wait until final release to deal with this. I have beta 6 working fine on my amd system.
@mrfatcatt,

Does this mean that even when you start the Monterey Beta 8 installation process again from System Preferences --> Software Update, it downloads properly but hangs after the first reboot (on AMD Ryzen X570S Aero G)?

HackinDROM app does not apply changes that we make to various quirks and features (hmm, Doug Demuro?), so it's always a good idea to open the new config.plist in OpenCore Configurator 2.51.0.0 and ensure that it's set to 0.7.4 Release Version.

Then check the following settings (make any changes needed):
Screen Shot 2021-10-06 at 11.00.23 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-06 at 11.01.05 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-06 at 11.02.25 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-10-06 at 11.03.41 AM.png

Finally:
  • When the system reboots and OpenCanopy Picker appears, check if there's either a Preboot volume or a Macintosh HD volume. Manually select either one if it's not already selected! It is absolutely necessary to boot one of these volumes after the first reboot.
  • After a subsequent reboot, if either Preboot or Macintosh HD appear again in OpenCanopy Picker, select them again, otherwise select the Monterey disk.
Update:
  • Just went from Beta 6 to Beta 8 on my ASRock X570 Taichi using the OpenCore 0.7.4 EFI with SecureBootModel set to Default.
Screen Shot 2021-10-06 at 11.29.33 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you talking about a UAD PCIe card?
Yes. After an extended power off(a night's sleep) it is seen again, BTW.
Big Sur sure doesn't impress me. Still feels like a .0 version. Lots of little things, and plenty of weird behaviour in Cubase and Logic Pro X. And Monterey is imminent...
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes. After an extended power off(a night's sleep) it is seen again, BTW.
Big Sur sure doesn't impress me. Still feels like a .0 version. Lots of little things, and plenty of weird behaviour in Cubase and Logic Pro X. And Monterey is imminent...
With my card it will misfire at boot on a real Mac or Hack. You can try force loading the driver with terminal.

Man, I’ve had such good success with Big Sur and UAD. I wonder if somethings up with your setup.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,159
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With my card it will misfire at boot on a real Mac or Hack. You can try force loading the driver with terminal.

Man, I’ve had such good success with Big Sur and UAD. I wonder if somethings up with your setup.
If it's not seen(no device found) loading the driver with kextload will not help. Nothing happens.

I don't think a real Mac would do much better, BTW. Maybe maintenance would be easier.

What makes Logic and Cubase unstable is a combination of 3rd party plugins. It will work fine one day, but after a restart the project suddenly refuses to load or crashes. The crash logs points at some random 3rd party plugin, but that's not it. Reshuffling the way the plugins load will often fix the problem.

I have less trouble with Bitwig, it might be that they have better protection/sandboxing against misbehaving plugins.

On the other hand, I use Bitwig more for sketching and as a playground, the real work is done in Logic or Cubase.

And I like to test new plugins, so my system is always in a state of flux.

What doesn't help either is that I never commit stuff to plain audio, I will keep MIDI with lots of software instruments and plugins until I bounce a master. I could freeze/commit stuff, but the whole composing/recording/mixing/mastering stuff is now a fluid process, and committing breaks the flow for me.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If it's not seen(no device found) loading the driver with kextload will not help. Nothing happens.

I don't think a real Mac would do much better, BTW. Maybe maintenance would be easier.

What makes Logic and Cubase unstable is a combination of 3rd party plugins. It will work fine one day, but after a restart the project suddenly refuses to load or crashes. The crash logs points at some random 3rd party plugin, but that's not it. Reshuffling the way the plugins load will often fix the problem.

I have less trouble with Bitwig, it might be that they have better protection/sandboxing against misbehaving plugins.

On the other hand, I use Bitwig more for sketching and as a playground, the real work is done in Logic or Cubase.

And I like to test new plugins, so my system is always in a state of flux.

What doesn't help either is that I never commit stuff to plain audio, I will keep MIDI with lots of software instruments and plugins until I bounce a master. I could freeze/commit stuff, but the whole composing/recording/mixing/mastering stuff is now a fluid process, and committing breaks the flow for me.
I’ve got some plugins that cause issues as well. Thats the way it goes!

And of course don’t use anything pirated. Ethics aside, they cause big issues.
 
Top