Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Enabling AppleVTD on Z390 Designare with No Impact to WiFi/Ethernet **
Credit: @yosoyoco


Finally we are able to enable AppleVTD without incurring the side effects of broken WiFi and Ethernet. Thanks to @yosoyoco for solving the final piece of the puzzle!

Steps:
  • BIOS --> Enable VT-d
  • OpenCore --> Uncheck DisableIoMapper from Kernel Quirks
  • OpenCore --> Remove dart=0 from boot-args if it exists
  • OpenCore --> Add SSDT-DMAR.aml (attached) to ACPI --> Add section as shown
  • OpenCore --> Delete DMAR from ACPI --> Delete section as shown
  • Reboot
Once this has been more fully tested I'll incorporate it into next month's OpenCore 0.7.2 release.

Warning:
  • The attached SSDT is only for Gigabyte Z390 Designare only.

I don't get this. At this step:
  • OpenCore --> Add SSDT-DMAR.aml (attached) to ACPI --> Add section as shown
I already have a SSDT-DMAR enabled in my OC 0.7.3 EFI. But when I disable DisableIoMapper, no ethernet or wifi. So clearly, this is the wrong one.
So I figured I would download the one attached to this message and put it in the EFI/ACPI folder. Now I have a DMAR and DMAR 1. I enable DMAR 1 and disable DMAR. Disable DisableIoMapper. Reboot. Ethernet is gone.
The delete part, there's nothing there to delete?
What am I missing?

Best,

Zip
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,981
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't get this. At this step:
  • OpenCore --> Add SSDT-DMAR.aml (attached) to ACPI --> Add section as shown
I already have a SSDT-DMAR enabled in my OC 0.7.3 EFI. But when I disable DisableIoMapper, no ethernet or wifi. So clearly, this is the wrong one.
So I figured I would download the one attached to this message and put it in the EFI/ACPI folder. Now I have a DMAR and DMAR 1. I enable DMAR 1 and disable DMAR. Disable DisableIoMapper. Reboot. Ethernet is gone.
The delete part, there's nothing there to delete?
What am I missing?

Best,

Zip
Depending on how OpenCore was updated, it’s possible that not all of the settings from new config.plist were copied to the previous config.plist. But if you follow the instructions in the post you quoted, you can manually check and make any necessary changes. For example, if the ACPI —> Delete section is missing an entry, simply add the missing entry manually.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Depending on how OpenCore was updated, it’s possible that not all of the settings from new config.plist were copied to the previous config.plist. But if you follow the instructions in the post you quoted, you can manually check and make any necessary changes. For example, if the ACPI —> Delete section is missing an entry, simply add the missing entry manually.
Copied to the previous config.plist? You mean from? I used the hackindrom 2.0 tool for the OC upgrade.

Manually? You mean copy/paste in the config.plist with a plain text editor?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,981
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Copied to the previous config.plist? You mean from? I used the hackindrom 2.0 tool for the OC upgrade.

Manually? You mean copy/paste in the config.plist with a plain text editor?
If the only thing missing is the ACPI --> Delete entry, just use OpenCore Configurator to add the entry shown in the 2nd screenshot. Just ensure that OpenCore Configurator is set to OpenCore 0.7.3 Release Version (it should say so in the title bar of the App).
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I missed the + - signs in the lower right corner(that's why I hate this flat GUI nonsense, why not make it proper hard-to-miss buttons) of the delete window. I hit plus, chose DMAR from the drop down menu, hit enabled and rebooted. This seems to have fixed it, I have vt-d enabled now.
Thanks for the help.

Why do we need to disable AND delete the DMAR, btw?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,853
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I missed the + - signs in the lower right corner(that's why I hate this flat GUI nonsense, why not make it proper hard-to-miss buttons) of the delete window. I hit plus, chose DMAR from the drop down menu, hit enabled and rebooted. This seems to have fixed it, I have vt-d enabled now.
Thanks for the help.

Why do we need to disable AND delete the DMAR, btw?
may be best to use a proper plist editor, something PlistEditpro or Xcode
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,113
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
may be best to use a proper plist editor, something PlistEditpro or Xcode
Yes. But Xcode is huge, and PlistEditpro costs money. I have been an avid BBEdit user for years, works if you are careful. But it's not a model of clarity, hard to tell/boring to check for old entries etc.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,853
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes. But Xcode is huge, and PlistEditpro costs money. I have been an avid BBEdit user for years, works if you are careful. But it's not a model of clarity, hard to tell/boring to check for old entries etc.
true, but they are both better than configurators..
 
Top