Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 1, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Let's try this:
  • At the OpenCore Picker, press and release CMD-V to toggle Verbose mode.
  • Then select the Catalina drive.
  • You'll see a lot of log message scroll by. When the boot freezes, take a photo and post. But remove any GPS/location information from the photo before posting.
Another option:
  • Compress and post your EFI folder, but remove serial numbers from PlatformInfo section of config.plist before compressing.
Thank you very much for your help, I finally found the issue : I had to disable CSM Support in BIOS. Now I am booting fine, but the computer didn't wake after sleep mode.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
69
Motherboard
Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Hi @CaseySJ. Been a while since I posted, my rig has been running well and I'm on 10.14.6.

Recently, a friend sold me his RX 5700xt to replace my RX 580 pulse. I haven't installed it yet, but I was just wondering if it's plug and play? I think it is, which is why I bought it.

I'd also really like to switch to OC from clover and install Big Sur. Do you have any tips other than the guide you posted on switching from clover to OC? When I installed everything using your original guides, we didn't use Hackinrom or anything like that (it was a long time ago). I've been trying to read up, but am not sure where to begin.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,384
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ. Been a while since I posted, my rig has been running well and I'm on 10.14.6.

Recently, a friend sold me his RX 5700xt to replace my RX 580 pulse. I haven't installed it yet, but I was just wondering if it's plug and play? I think it is, which is why I bought it.

I'd also really like to switch to OC from clover and install Big Sur. Do you have any tips other than the guide you posted on switching from clover to OC? When I installed everything using your original guides, we didn't use Hackinrom or anything like that (it was a long time ago). I've been trying to read up, but am not sure where to begin.
Hello @vidvi,

It should be relatively straightforward to upgrade from Clover to OpenCore, as follows:
  • Start with a full bootable backup of Mojave. I cannot over-stress the importance of this step.
  • Then follow the Clover-to-OpenCore guide.
    • The boot argument agdpmod=pikera is necessary for RX 5700 XT. This is already present in the OpenCore config.plist
  • When OpenCore is installed, boot back into Mojave to make sure everything is okay.
  • Then Big Sur can be installed from System Preferences --> Software Update.
    • However, some older third-party audio kernel extensions (kexts) can cause boot problems in Big Sur. If in doubt, simply post a screenshot of /Library/Extensions before starting Big Sur installation.
  • If you have any questions or run into problems, feel free to post.
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2019
Messages
69
Motherboard
Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX580 Pulse
Hello @vidvi,

It should be relatively straightforward to upgrade from Clover to OpenCore, as follows:
  • Start with a full bootable backup of Mojave. I cannot over-stress the importance of this step.
  • Then follow the Clover-to-OpenCore guide.
    • The boot argument agdpmod=pikera is necessary for RX 5700 XT. This is already present in the OpenCore config.plist
  • When OpenCore is installed, boot back into Mojave to make sure everything is okay.
  • Then Big Sur can be installed from System Preferences --> Software Update.
    • However, some older third-party audio kernel extensions (kexts) can cause boot problems in Big Sur. If in doubt, simply post a screenshot of /Library/Extensions before starting Big Sur installation.
  • If you have any questions or run into problems, feel free to post.
Thank you! Appreciate the quick reply. What does agdpmod=pikera do in our case? I googled around a bit and got this:
  • Renames board-id to board-ix effectively disabling boardID checks, this is based off of Pike.R.A's work here(opens new window)
  • This is also required for all Navi GPUs due to the difference in framework with the x6000 drivers
I guess OSX doesn't like the 5700 xt as much as the 580?

I'm currently spoofing a 2019 iMac. Do you think it's still okay to continue doing that?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,384
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you! Appreciate the quick reply. What does agdpmod=pikera do in our case? I googled around a bit and got this:
  • Renames board-id to board-ix effectively disabling boardID checks, this is based off of Pike.R.A's work here(opens new window)
  • This is also required for all Navi GPUs due to the difference in framework with the x6000 drivers
I guess OSX doesn't like the 5700 xt as much as the 580?
A well-known Hackintosh blogger with the pseudonym Piker Alpha (or pikera) developed this particular patch. Without it, AMD 5000 and 6000 series GPUs will not turn on in macOS. AGDP refers to Apple Graphics Display Policy. So the patch is enabled with the boot argument agdpmod=pikera. Ironically, we believe he now works at Apple.

I'm currently spoofing a 2019 iMac. Do you think it's still okay to continue doing that?
Yes, iMac19,1 continues to be a good choice.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think that Win11 is nothing more than GUI changes to make Windows look more modern and an effort to sell new PCs. That's why they've set the hardware requirements so high. They expect everyone to have an 8th gen or better CPU and TPM 2.0 support. In the real world though, any 8-10 year old PC with enough ram and an i3 or better could run Windows 11.
I'm running the latest Dev build of Windows 11 Pro on my Gigabyte TRX40 Designare and my Z390 Designare. I feared it would be just a facelift as well, but have been very happy to find that's not the case. Windows 11 is much faster than 10, and there are articles out there discussing this. Networking is much faster too. They have rearranged things (once again); however, this time it was done very logically. It is very easy to find just about anything, unlike prior reshuffles where it seemed they were trying to make us mad. I was able to do both a clean install and an upgrade, and shockingly, EVERYTHING works! (The ONLY exception is that Intel teaming of network adapters has an issue where once setup, it goes to disabled but I can't figure out how or where to enable the team. I have to uninstall the Intel software to get networking back.)

I am really loving Windows 11, and I can see it becoming the most loved version since XP and Windows 7.
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am really loving Windows 11, and I can see it becoming the most loved version since XP and Windows 7.
Exactly, I agree with you. I never missed Windows. I only used it in unique moments for 15 years. I was a happy user of Win 95 and Win XP; they were two systems that marked a moment. Windows seems to bring this experience back to me. Things really seem to fit together perfectly when you're looking for something in Windows 11, everything very neat. Another detail I updated from Win 10 and also did a clean install. Whenever I ran my MAC with Windows, the thing was very confusing when you were going to install Windows from scratch in the formatting of the drive (M2). Now I simply had to format the partition everything was installed without any problem. I also made a boot disk, as Microsoft recommends on the website, and it also worked perfectly. I work with large format prints (Fine Art), and there is a problem with Canon printers, on Mac OS, simply large files, in measures 60" MACOS can't print, I've talked to several engineers within Canon. But nobody solves the years the subject. So when I need large prints, I'm forced to use Windows. Another detail is the bar that organizes the desktop; this excellent. One detail that I feel is the fact of having a Raid 0, formatted on Mac, and despite to use a converter for Windows to read, I feel a delay in Lightroom, when opening large libraries, I think it's the problem of the HPFS formatting type. But that's not really a problem. But it's good to know that Windows is evolving, and forcing Apple to improve as well.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
813
Motherboard
GA-Z390-Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 590
I think that Win11 is nothing more than GUI changes to make Windows look more modern and an effort to sell new PCs. That's why they've set the hardware requirements so high. They expect everyone to have an 8th gen or better CPU and TPM 2.0 support. In the real world though, any 8-10 year old PC with enough ram and an i3 or better could run Windows 11.
There must be tens of millions of families with students who rely on their laptops for school work, and who very likely have older laptops, and may not be able to afford new ones. Hopefully by the time of Win10 support expiration, MS is shamed into backing down from the 8th-gen or better requirement for Win11.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all. Updated to Big Sur 11.6 on this build with OC 0.7.3. Been having USB issues galore since the update. Sometimes at boot by Bluetooth (via PCIE card) doesn’t work and I need to reboot. Other USB devices suddenly picky about what port or hub they’re plugged into. 1 of my USB hubs won’t work with this update now (hoo too branded). Also, some USB devices won’t persist and stay connected when switching users, and only a full reboot will bring them back online.

Anyone else having issues?

Also, my shutdown issue (won’t shutdown - just reboots) seems to be getting worse. Was occasional, now it’s pretty much every time. It’s weird, if I use terminal command - sudo shutdown -h it shuts down every time, but if I use the standard Apple icon shutdown for the menubar, it doesn’t.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Z490 Vision D
CPU
Intel i9 10850k
Graphics
AMD 5700XT Saphire
Mac
  1. iMac
The following OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI folders have been uploaded to HackinDROM (v2.0.0 or newer needed):
  • Gigabyte Z390 Designare
  • Gigabyte Z390 Designare w/Intel Wireless
  • Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
  • Gigabyte Z490 Vision D w/Intel Wireless
  • Gigabyte Z490 Vision G (not D)
  • Gigabyte B550 Vision D
  • Gigabyte B550 Vision D (BIOS F13)
  • Asus X99 Deluxe II
  • ASRock X570 Taichi
Just double checking that if we use HackinDROM 2.0, that handles everything and we don't need to download the zip file or manually update config with text editor? HackinDROM 2.0 is an "all in one solution" for the opencore update?
 
Top