Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OpenCore configuration is okay. Some comments:
  • Do you think the problem started with Big Sur 11.6?
  • Do you think the problem started with OpenCore 0.7.3?
  • Have you seen this post?

My shutdown issue began in OC 0.6.9 and has been there ever since.
My USB issues began in Big Sur 11.6 - right away, post update.
I've taken the steps in that post in the past. All my USB 2.0 devices are running through a USB 2.0 hub and that is attached to a USB 2.0 MOBO port on the rear.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
FWIW, with Big Sur 11.6 (20G165) and OpenCore 073 and 074:

When I click About This Mac and hit the Software Update button, the screen goes black for about 5 seconds before displaying this:
Black Screen on Update Check.png




If I try the same function only a few minutes later, then no black screen. If I try it hours later, black screen again. I am not using iCloud accounts or services on this machine.
 

Attachments

  • EFI OC 073 and 074.zip
    11.4 MB · Views: 19

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,458
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think that Win11 is nothing more than GUI changes to make Windows look more modern and an effort to sell new PCs. That's why they've set the hardware requirements so high. They expect everyone to have an 8th gen or better CPU and TPM 2.0 support. In the real world though, any 8-10 year old PC with enough ram and an i3 or better could run Windows 11.
Exactly.

I have always thought once Windows 11 was announced that its "artificial" hardware requirements are ridiculous.

My own Windows PC, built in 2016, which is still a powerful PC with an 8 core CPU and 64 GB RAM, is not officially supported by Windows 11. Do I care? Not one bit.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Is anyone else having issues with their Radeon card not getting utilized for video rendering? I noticed a slowdown in workflow recently and I'm not sure what I broke in OpenCore. Compressor/Final Cut both use the CPU much more than the GPU, and according to VideoProc my GPU is recognized and ready to be utilized.

I'm using OC 7.3, Big Sur 11.6.1, and a Radeon VII. I've tried both iMacPro1,1 and Imac19,0, but I had the issue since OC 6.9 at least.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
160
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone else having issues with their Radeon card not getting utilized for video rendering? I noticed a slowdown in workflow recently and I'm not sure what I broke in OpenCore. Compressor/Final Cut both use the CPU much more than the GPU, and according to VideoProc my GPU is recognized and ready to be utilized.

I'm using OC 7.3, Big Sur 11.6.1, and a Radeon VII. I've tried both iMacPro1,1 and Imac19,0, but I had the issue since OC 6.9 at least.
I haven’t had video issues since 0.6.9 but I’ve had other issues. I’m using a 5700xt though. Currently my USB is a little borked and shutdown won’t work for me properly.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,928
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I haven’t had video issues since 0.6.9 but I’ve had other issues. I’m using a 5700xt though. Currently my USB is a little borked and shutdown won’t work for me properly.
Regarding shutdown, some have had success by disabling Wake on LAN in BIOS.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2019
Messages
119
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
I've done a few searches without luck and have likely missed the discussions on this. Has anyone found how to get Apple lossless music and atmos to work? I am running an AMD gpu, couple threads were mentioned that but I could make sense of them
 
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
74
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. iMac
Is anyone else having issues with their Radeon card not getting utilized for video rendering? I noticed a slowdown in workflow recently and I'm not sure what I broke in OpenCore. Compressor/Final Cut both use the CPU much more than the GPU, and according to VideoProc my GPU is recognized and ready to be utilized.

I'm using OC 7.3, Big Sur 11.6.1, and a Radeon VII. I've tried both iMacPro1,1 and Imac19,0, but I had the issue since OC 6.9 at least.
Your Radeon card is toast. I’ll buy it from you for $50.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone else having issues with their Radeon card not getting utilized for video rendering? I noticed a slowdown in workflow recently and I'm not sure what I broke in OpenCore. Compressor/Final Cut both use the CPU much more than the GPU, and according to VideoProc my GPU is recognized and ready to be utilized.

I'm using OC 7.3, Big Sur 11.6.1, and a Radeon VII. I've tried both iMacPro1,1 and Imac19,0, but I had the issue since OC 6.9 at least.
Can you test its usage via Compressor and/or FCPX?
 
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
74
Motherboard
Designare z390
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Vega64
Mac
  1. iMac
Your Radeon card is toast. I’ll buy it from you for $50.
Jokes aside: I have a system with a Vega 64 (using Radeon boost) and it’s fine, so I’d double-check your config. I do have a different build with two RVIIs in a cubix xpander w/o RSB (because the UI card in the computer is an RX590 and it hates RSB) but that’s still on 0.7.2. I’ll try to find some time tomorrow to vet for you, update it to 0.7.3 and report back, but I expect it also to be just fine. I am using iMacPro1,1 on both, however—and Catalina.
 
Top