Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I tried to upgrade from opencore 0.6.7 to 0.7.3 with mojave but I keep getting this message about apple boot security. Any ideas ?
I set securebootmodel to j137.
Some questions:
  • Which version of macOS are you running?
  • What is your System Product Name? iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 or ...?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Good morning, I don't know if it's the place, but I'm downloading the new Monterey beta, is it possible to run with the current 0.73, or I would have to make some change. If the subject cannot be discussed here, I apologize and you can delete. Thanks

Is anyone having problems installing Monterey public beta 7 on this Designare Z390 build? Until beta 7 I have had no problems installing updates via Software Update.

The update was downloaded (via Content Casing where beta 7 had been downloaded and cached to an iMac). Software update went through the 30 minute preparation stage, then did a brief display of the Apple logo and progress bar, then rebooted to the OC picker, and OC pre-selected the Install HD (or whatever it was named.) Then the Apple logo and progress bar were displayed doing about 10 minutes of processing.

Then another reboot to the OC picker. In previous installs the Install HD icon in the picker disappeared and the Monterey drive was pre-selected for additional processing. With beta 7 the Install HD remained displayed, but the Monterey drive was pre-selected and booted.

However the hack was booted back to the Monterey desktop and the drive was not updated.

I have tried doing the update using csr settings of E7030000, 67000000, and 00000000 without success.

It looks like I should try doing a straight download from Apple servers and try again unless someone has other suggestions.

@Rag @NCMacGuy

As @Feartech mentioned, Monterey Public Beta 7 will not install using OpenCore 0.7.3. Fortunately a solution was added to OpenCore, which will be available next month when 0.7.4 is officially released. If you would like to install Beta 7 before that time, then the latest interim build needs to be installed from the link provided.

It may also be necessary to enable Advise Features and set OpenCore Configurator to 0.7.4 Development Version, as shown:
Screen Shot 2021-09-23 at 11.45.43 AM.png

On Z490 Vision D we successfully installed Monterey Public Beta 7 yesterday:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
373
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Rag @NCMacGuy

As @Feartech mentioned, Monterey Public Beta 7 will not install using OpenCore 0.7.3. Fortunately a solution was added to OpenCore, which will be available next month when 0.7.4 is officially released. If you would like to install Beta 7 before that time, then the latest interim build needs to be installed from the link provided.

It may also be necessary to enable Advise Features and set OpenCore Configurator to 0.7.4 Development Version, as shown:
View attachment 529554
On Z490 Vision D we successfully installed Monterey Public Beta 7 yesterday:
Advise Features don't need it anymore.
 

Attachments

  • 1.png
    1.png
    141.8 KB · Views: 31
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As @Feartech mentioned, Monterey Public Beta 7 will not install using OpenCore 0.7.3. Fortunately a solution was added to OpenCore, which will be available next month when 0.7.4 is officially released. If you would like to install Beta 7 before that time, then the latest interim build needs to be installed from the link provided.

It may also be necessary to enable Advise Features and set OpenCore Configurator to 0.7.4 Development Version, as shown:
View attachment 529554
On Z490 Vision D we successfully installed Monterey Public Beta 7 yesterday:

@CaseySJ @Feartech

Thank you both for your guidance, it worked as you suggested! My Z390 Designair is now running Monterey Public Beta 7. :)

I downloaded the OpenCore 0.7.4 RELEASE file, upgraded OpenCore Configurator to the latest version and changed it to "0.7.4 Development Configuration." I copied my current EFI to a USB thumb drive and changed the appropriate files in my EFI/OC folder for OC 0.7.4. I then enabled "Revise Features" in OC Config as suggested, I figured it wouldn't hurt if it wasn't needed. The test USB booted fine with the OC 0.7.4 and config.plist file.

I then copied the new EFI folder to my Monterey boot drive, and proceeded to install Monterey Beta 7 successfully. The update ran just like the previous betas had.

Next time I will avoid the "bleeding edge!"
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
373
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Feartech

Thank you both for your guidance, it worked as you suggested! My Z390 Designair is now running Monterey Public Beta 7. :)

I downloaded the OpenCore 0.7.4 RELEASE file, upgraded OpenCore Configurator to the latest version and changed it to "0.7.4 Development Configuration." I copied my current EFI to a USB thumb drive and changed the appropriate files in my EFI/OC folder for OC 0.7.4. I then enabled "Revise Features" in OC Config as suggested, I figured it wouldn't hurt if it wasn't needed. The test USB booted fine with the OC 0.7.4 and config.plist file.

I then copied the new EFI folder to my Monterey boot drive, and proceeded to install Monterey Beta 7 successfully. The update ran just like the previous betas had.

Next time I will avoid the "bleeding edge!"
Please tell me, what SMBIOS you used when updated?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone having problems installing Monterey public beta 7 on this Designare Z390 build? Until beta 7 I have had no problems installing updates via Software Update.

The update was downloaded (via Content Casing where beta 7 had been downloaded and cached to an iMac). Software update went through the 30 minute preparation stage, then did a brief display of the Apple logo and progress bar, then rebooted to the OC picker, and OC pre-selected the Install HD (or whatever it was named.) Then the Apple logo and progress bar were displayed doing about 10 minutes of processing.

Then another reboot to the OC picker. In previous installs the Install HD icon in the picker disappeared and the Monterey drive was pre-selected for additional processing. With beta 7 the Install HD remained displayed, but the Monterey drive was pre-selected and booted.

However the hack was booted back to the Monterey desktop and the drive was not updated.

I have tried doing the update using csr settings of E7030000, 67000000, and 00000000 without success.

It looks like I should try doing a straight download from Apple servers and try again unless someone has other suggestions.
After the update has finished downloading, restart but select the temporary "Macintosh HD" icon for boot in the Open Core picker.
 

Attachments

  • Info.png
    Info.png
    44.2 KB · Views: 41
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
51
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some questions:
  • Which version of macOS are you running?
  • What is your System Product Name? iMac19,1 or iMacPro1,1 or ...?

Running Mojave 10.14.6 with iMac19,1
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
136
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I copied my current EFI to a USB thumb drive and changed the appropriate files in my EFI/OC folder for OC 0.7.4. I then enabled "Revise Features" in OC Config as suggested, I figured it wouldn't hurt if it wasn't needed. The test USB booted fine with the OC 0.7.4 and config.plist file.
@NCMacGuy MacGuy Thanks for your information, but I was in doubt and could not do as above. Download the 0.74 release file, but inside the folder is a huge amount of folders and files, which I don't know which ones are correct to replace, have x64, IA31 and Utilities folders? Could you tell me which correct files should be replaced? Thanks,
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@NCMacGuy MacGuy Thanks for your information, but I was in doubt and could not do as above. Download the 0.74 release file, but inside the folder is a huge amount of folders and files, which I don't know which ones are correct to replace, have x64, IA31 and Utilities folders? Could you tell me which correct files should be replaced? Thanks,
@Rag

Open the X64 folder, then the EFI folder. I copied and pasted replacing the indicated files into my EFI folder in the equivalent positions:

BOOTx64.efi
OpenCore.efi

The entire Tools folder (over-kill, one only needs the ones specified in your config.plist)
All Drivers folder .efi files in your current Drivers folders

There were no updated Kexts at the time.

Copy the indicated files:

OpenCore 0.7.4 Release.png

You will also need to open your EFI config.plist file with the latest OpenCore Configurator app which is set to "0.7.4 Development Configuration." I opened the PlatformInfo and UEFI sections and change and reset a random value to force OpenCore Configurator to think it needs to Save the config.plist so it will save the file in the OC 0.7.4 format.

Hope that helps.
 
Last edited:
Top