Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
There's a prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI for Z390 Designare located in the link below (can also be referenced from Quick Reference spoiler at the top of Post 1). This EFI does not contain serial numbers, so it's meant for upgrades in which existing serial numbers are copied to the new config.plist.
We also use the HackinDROM App, which can perform both (a) OpenCore upgrades from old version of OC to new version of OC, and (b) OpenCore first-time installation in which new serial numbers are generated by the app. A link to HackinDROM is also present in the above post.
@CaseySJ Thanks for the info above. Ok, I used the prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI and manually configured the config.plist to include the platform identifiers. Now I at least get to the picker GUI. As soon as I choose the boot disk and hit enter, it doesn't get very far (see screenshot). My system specs are Designare (BIOS F8), i9-9900k, RX5700 XT.
 

Attachments

  • locked.png
    locked.png
    977 KB · Views: 28
  • EFI.zip
    5.8 MB · Views: 10
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
51
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
CPU
i9-7960
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I tried to upgrade from opencore 0.6.7 to 0.7.3 with mojave but I keep getting this message about apple boot security. Any ideas ?
I set securebootmodel to j137.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0574.jpg
    IMG_0574.jpg
    299.5 KB · Views: 16

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,879
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I tried to upgrade from opencore 0.6.7 to 0.7.3 with mojave but I keep getting this message about apple boot security. Any ideas ?
I set securebootmodel to j137.
compare your config.plist with the sample.plist
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
136
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Good morning, I don't know if it's the place, but I'm downloading the new Monterey beta, is it possible to run with the current 0.73, or I would have to make some change. If the subject cannot be discussed here, I apologize and you can delete. Thanks
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,879
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone having problems installing Monterey public beta 7 on this Designare Z390 build? Until beta 7 I have had no problems installing updates via Software Update.

The update was downloaded (via Content Casing where beta 7 had been downloaded and cached to an iMac). Software update went through the 30 minute preparation stage, then did a brief display of the Apple logo and progress bar, then rebooted to the OC picker, and OC pre-selected the Install HD (or whatever it was named.) Then the Apple logo and progress bar were displayed doing about 10 minutes of processing.

Then another reboot to the OC picker. In previous installs the Install HD icon in the picker disappeared and the Monterey drive was pre-selected for additional processing. With beta 7 the Install HD remained displayed, but the Monterey drive was pre-selected and booted.

However the hack was booted back to the Monterey desktop and the drive was not updated.

I have tried doing the update using csr settings of E7030000, 67000000, and 00000000 without success.

It looks like I should try doing a straight download from Apple servers and try again unless someone has other suggestions.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,879
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is anyone having problems installing Monterey public beta 7 on this Designare Z390 build? Until beta 7 I have had no problems installing updates via Software Update.

The update was downloaded (via Content Casing where beta 7 had been downloaded and cached to an iMac). Software update went through the 30 minute preparation stage, then did a brief display of the Apple logo and progress bar, then rebooted to the OC picker, and OC pre-selected the Install HD (or whatever it was named.) Then the Apple logo and progress bar were displayed doing about 10 minutes of processing.

Then another reboot to the OC picker. In previous installs the Install HD icon in the picker disappeared and the Monterey drive was pre-selected for additional processing. With beta 7 the Install HD remained displayed, but the Monterey drive was pre-selected and booted.

However the hack was booted back to the Monterey desktop and the drive was not updated.

I have tried doing the update using csr settings of E7030000, 67000000, and 00000000 without success.

It looks like I should try doing a straight download from Apple servers and try again unless someone has other suggestions.
may need latest opencore with latest commits:
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Have you encountered random graphics freezing?

I'm using a 9900K and a Vega 64 LC edition, and sometimes when I'm typing in iMessage, or watching YouTube videos, then everything but my mouse freezes for 3-4 seconds, and then resumes.

The worst is when I walk away for 2-3 hours and the screensaver comes on and then freezes, and it doesn't get restored. I just get a frozen screensaver and have to do a hard reboot.

I'm using your latest 0.7.3 OC, but modified it:
  • I disabled the Wifi and I don't use vt-d (Windows seems to slow down and give me issues with vt-d enabled)
  • Disabled the Slot 1 PCI-E, my 3090 is in that slot
  • Use CommenderFix.kext because I have a CommanderPro
  • Use custom USBMap.kext
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
377
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Have you encountered random graphics freezing?

I'm using a 9900K and a Vega 64 LC edition, and sometimes when I'm typing in iMessage, or watching YouTube videos, then everything but my mouse freezes for 3-4 seconds, and then resumes.

The worst is when I walk away for 2-3 hours and the screensaver comes on and then freezes, and it doesn't get restored. I just get a frozen screensaver and have to do a hard reboot.

I'm using your latest 0.7.3 OC, but modified it:
  • I disabled the Wifi and I don't use vt-d (Windows seems to slow down and give me issues with vt-d enabled)
  • Disabled the Slot 1 PCI-E, my 3090 is in that slot
  • Use CommenderFix.kext because I have a CommanderPro
  • Use custom USBMap.kext
Check trim compatibility of your disk.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,012
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Thanks for the info above. Ok, I used the prebuilt OpenCore 0.7.3 EFI and manually configured the config.plist to include the platform identifiers. Now I at least get to the picker GUI. As soon as I choose the boot disk and hit enter, it doesn't get very far (see screenshot). My system specs are Designare (BIOS F8), i9-9900k, RX5700 XT.
Please check if CFG-Lock is Disabled in BIOS Setup --> Boot section.
 
Top