Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
438
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Does anyone have Sidecar working without glitches? When I use SideCar the screen is blocky and pixellated. It makes the connects fine, just looks glitchy and slow frame rate. Even when using a USB cable.

This happens with my RX560 and my Vega 56. Same no matter what.
It work perfectly on my machine. Check IGPU config. It is not GPU issue.
 

Ali

Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@ CaseySj,
Thank you for your suggestions of a possible solution to stability problems.
So far I have tested the effects of removing Broadcom WiFi/BT card. Unfortunately there is no progress in stability. The system continues to crash as before.
Tomorrow I am going to test the effects of the removing graphic card on the stability of the system.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 (Desktop 9 Series)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi, @CaseySJ, I have been using my build without any issues for months. Now today morning, when i turned the CPU on, I am not getting any signal to my display (HDMI through RX 580), and also a red led (On VGA) is turned ON on Mobo. When I switch the HDMI cable to my built-in mobo port (red led is gone), I get the signal. But the issue is I get the display till the 1st Apple logo bootscreen - loading bar comes - loads almost to the full bar; after that the screen goes blank in between (HDMI symbol comes on top left corner) then nothing is coming on my display. Usually it goes blank and comes back and loads fully(on Rx 580)......Any help would be appreciated....thanks in advance

Update: I tried changing the card to slot 2 and still no luck....Tried turning on Without the card also....
Is there any way I could switch to Intel iGPU and make the HDMI port work till the the card's issue is fixed?......Thanks in advance!!!

- Mojave 10.14.6
- Using 2 displays through RX 580, one 1080p and one 720p (i think)
- Mobo - Z390 Designare
- Intel i9 9900k
-Samsung 970 EVO 500GB SSD
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,119
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, @CaseySJ, I have been using my build without any issues for months. Now today morning, when i turned the CPU on, I am not getting any signal to my display (HDMI through RX 580), and also a red led (On VGA) is turned ON on Mobo. When I switch the HDMI cable to my built-in mobo port (red led is gone), I get the signal. But the issue is I get the display till the 1st Apple logo bootscreen - loading bar comes - loads almost to the full bar; after that the screen goes blank in between (HDMI symbol comes on top left corner) then nothing is coming on my display. Usually it goes blank and comes back and loads fully(on Rx 580)......Any help would be appreciated....thanks in advance

Update: I tried changing the card to slot 2 and still no luck....Tried turning on Without the card also....
Is there any way I could switch to Intel iGPU and make the HDMI port work till the the card's issue is fixed?......Thanks in advance!!!

- Mojave 10.14.6
- Using 2 displays through RX 580, one 1080p and one 720p (i think)
- Mobo - Z390 Designare
- Intel i9 9900k
-Samsung 970 EVO 500GB SSD
Hello @Z390HTosh,

Oh no, it looks as if your RX 580 may have a fault. If you have another motherboard, please try installing the RX 580 into that. If the same problem occurs then there's good reason to believe the GPU is bad.

To switch to Intel iGPU, we can do the following from a working Mac or Hack:
  • Edit your config.plist from the EFI/OC folder in the EFI partition using TextEdit or BBEdit.
  • Find the section DeviceProperties. It should look like this:
XML:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,3/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Network controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,1/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Ethernet controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel i211 PCI Express GIgabit Ethernet</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,20,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>USB controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel PCH xHCI Host Controller</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
  • See that first section beginning with <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>? It looks like this:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
  • Replace just this section with the following:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
  • Save the file.
  • Boot the Hackintosh with the modified config.plist.
  • You may connect monitor to either of these ports located on the rear IO panel:
    • HDMI port (using HDMI to HDMI cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 1 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 2 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It work perfectly on my machine. Check IGPU config. It is not GPU issue.
Thanks Stefan! I clean installed Big Sur on another HD and Sidecar is smooth as butter. It must be something not Opencore related. Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 (Desktop 9 Series)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @Z390HTosh,

Oh no, it looks as if your RX 580 may have a fault. If you have another motherboard, please try installing the RX 580 into that. If the same problem occurs then there's good reason to believe the GPU is bad.

To switch to Intel iGPU, we can do the following from a working Mac or Hack:
  • Edit your config.plist from the EFI/OC folder in the EFI partition using TextEdit or BBEdit.
  • Find the section DeviceProperties. It should look like this:
XML:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,3/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Network controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,1/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Ethernet controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel i211 PCI Express GIgabit Ethernet</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,20,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>USB controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel PCH xHCI Host Controller</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
  • See that first section beginning with <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>? It looks like this:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
  • Replace just this section with the following:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
  • Save the file.
  • Boot the Hackintosh with the modified config.plist.
  • You may connect monitor to either of these ports located on the rear IO panel:
    • HDMI port (using HDMI to HDMI cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 1 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 2 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
A huge thanks for your reply....
First, I am going to check my RX 580 on another motherboard. Then I will do the patch to use iGPU.
I have some doubts....
-At the moment I can't boot my hackintosh so how can I access my EFI, I can't do safe boot also. (I have a CCC back up of boot drive on another external drive, too.)
-Once I repair my RX 580, will I be able to switch back to it? Do I need to remove the patches?..

Again thanks a lot for looking into my issues!!!!
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
244
Motherboard
ASRock Z390 Phantom
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
A huge thanks for your reply....
First, I am going to check my RX 580 on another motherboard. Then I will do the patch to use iGPU.
I have some doubts....
-At the moment I can't boot my hackintosh so how can I access my EFI, I can't do safe boot also. (I have a CCC back up of boot drive on another external drive, too.)
-Once I repair my RX 580, will I be able to switch back to it? Do I need to remove the patches?..

Again thanks a lot for looking into my issues!!!!

You can use any bootable Linux ISO on a USB to boot the computer, and then modify the EFI for IGPU only configuration. Before you modify the config.plist, you can make a copy in the same EFI folder - this will help you restore easily when your RX580 is back.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 (Desktop 9 Series)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can use any bootable linux ISO on a USB to boot the computer and then modify the EFI for IGPU only configuration. Before you modify the config.plist you can make a copy in the same EFI folder - this will help you restore easily when your RX580 is back.
Thanks for the reply!!!!..I didn't think of swapping back the RX 580 plist hahahaha....thank you...will try...
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2021
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Intel UHD 630 (Desktop 9 Series)
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello @Z390HTosh,

Oh no, it looks as if your RX 580 may have a fault. If you have another motherboard, please try installing the RX 580 into that. If the same problem occurs then there's good reason to believe the GPU is bad.

To switch to Intel iGPU, we can do the following from a working Mac or Hack:
  • Edit your config.plist from the EFI/OC folder in the EFI partition using TextEdit or BBEdit.
  • Find the section DeviceProperties. It should look like this:
XML:
    <key>DeviceProperties</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Add</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,31,3</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x3)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,3/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Network controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1C,0x1)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,28,1/0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Ethernet controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel i211 PCI Express GIgabit Ethernet</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x14,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,20,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>USB controller</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel PCH xHCI Host Controller</string>
            </dict>
        </dict>
  • See that first section beginning with <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>? It looks like this:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>AwCYPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630</string>
            </dict>
  • Replace just this section with the following:
XML:
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>#AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>BwCbPg==</data>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Display controller</string>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>BgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>AgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>AAQAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>BAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>xwMAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>AwAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>EgAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>AAgAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>IAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>/////w==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>AQAAAA==</data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel UHD Graphics 630 (Desktop 9 Series)</string>
            </dict>
  • Save the file.
  • Boot the Hackintosh with the modified config.plist.
  • You may connect monitor to either of these ports located on the rear IO panel:
    • HDMI port (using HDMI to HDMI cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 1 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
    • Thunderbolt/USB-C port 2 (using a USB-C to DP cable)
Hi @CaseySJ! I have managed to access my EFI through Ubuntu from a bootable USB. My config.plist is in the folder EFI/Clover. I am using Clover, not OpenCore method. I can't find any of the above line of codes in the file. What am I missing?...Do you need me to attach my config.plist?

Update: from your build guide, under "injecting audio and enabling Onboard HDMI", should I just follow those instructions? Will that be compatible?
 
Last edited:
Top