Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did this, same situation.


Checked the cables, the desktop was not moved, so little chance something got unseated.

Resat both modules, also tested with each one individually

Powering the PSU lights up the Designare, but not the bottom right leds.

It doesn't power on, neither CPU fan nor hard disks boot up.

CMOS reset also doesn't seem to do anything. It's as if something's preventing it from booting.
Are you using a screwdriver to short the power pins in order to boot the motherboard? If so, please take a look at the 4 small red LEDs on the extreme bottom right corner of motherboard. They are labeled:
  • VGA | CPU
  • BOOT | DRAM
Which of these LEDs turns on?

On a successful boot, all 4 should slowly turn off. BOOT will be the last one to turn off -- it will turn off after we choose an O/S from OpenCore Picker.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Are you using a screwdriver to short the power pins in order to boot the motherboard? If so, please take a look at the 4 small red LEDs on the extreme bottom right corner of motherboard. They are labeled:
  • VGA | CPU
  • BOOT | DRAM
Which of these LEDs turns on?

On a successful boot, all 4 should slowly turn off. BOOT will be the last one to turn off -- it will turn off after we choose an O/S from OpenCore Picker.
I'm using a scewdriver indeed, test with 2 different ones in case.
None of the LEDs turn on.
As I said the board doesn't seem to initiate a boot at all, even when shorting the power pins. It does turn on some other LEDs. Should some be turning on even before a boot of the computer?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using a scewdriver indeed, test with 2 different ones in case.
None of the LEDs turn on.
As I said the board doesn't seem to initiate a boot at all, even when shorting the power pins. It does turn on some other LEDs. Should some be turning on even before a boot of the computer?
Okay, this is not good... :(

Now it's a matter of isolating components to see which one (hopefully only one) is bad.
  • If you have another PSU, we should try that first.
  • But if you don't, then we can try something like this:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove GPU
    • Remove WiFi/BT card
    • Remove memory DIMMs
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
  • If nothing lights up, then:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove CPU (yes, remove CPU)
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
P.S. Statistically speaking, the PSU is most likely to have gone bad, particularly if you are not using a surge protector or uninterruptible power supply (UPS).
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay, this is not good... :(

Now it's a matter of isolating components to see which one (hopefully only one) is bad.
  • If you have another PSU, we should try that first.
  • But if you don't, then we can try something like this:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove GPU
    • Remove WiFi/BT card
    • Remove memory DIMMs
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
  • If nothing lights up, then:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove CPU (yes, remove CPU)
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
Yeah, was also feeling like it's NOT good T_T. I really wonder what could've happened, as I live in a new building and the electricity has never been an issue.

I'll try asking my neighbour's for another PSU, as I don't have any other to test.
I can't undergo the dismantling of my build today, but will do so tomorrow and post my findings here.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,289
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I really wonder what could've happened, as I live in a new building and the electricity has never been an issue.
If I'm away for an extended period I always unplug the PC from the wall. Your building could have experienced a power outage. When the power surges back on is when it does the damage. On the sunny side, your board should still be covered by Gigabyte's 3 year warranty so you could get it replaced if it's a goner.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If I'm away for an extended period I always unplug the PC from the wall. Your building could have experienced a power outage. When the power surges back on is when it does the damage. On the sunny side, your board should still be covered by Gigabyte's 3 year warranty so you could get it replaced if it's a goner.
I'll ask if anything happened. Would be very surprised if that was the case.
I happens at a very bad timing tbh.

I can hear a very faint noise coming from the PSU, so hoping that's it. Will try and snatch one on Monday to test.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2018
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Okay, this is not good... :(

Now it's a matter of isolating components to see which one (hopefully only one) is bad.
  • If you have another PSU, we should try that first.
  • But if you don't, then we can try something like this:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove GPU
    • Remove WiFi/BT card
    • Remove memory DIMMs
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
  • If nothing lights up, then:
    • Flip PSU to OFF
    • Remove CPU (yes, remove CPU)
    • Flip PSU to ON
  • Try to boot. Which of the 4 LEDs light up, if any?
P.S. Statistically speaking, the PSU is most likely to have gone bad, particularly if you are not using a surge protector or uninterruptible power supply (UPS).
Removed everything but the CPU, still no LEDs lighting up.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2021
Messages
41
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
I just recently purchased the logitech Brio which works great but I am facing a roadblock with Facetime. I am unable to see the other person and tried to test it by using my work phone as an alternate with my home wifi. Still scratching my head why I am receiving the error. I'm currently on open core 0.7.1 with Big Sur 11.5.2 .

djzoal6lzz771.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-08-21 at 5.29.15 PM.png
 

Ali

Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@CaseySJ
I finally managed to install Mac OS Mojave based on Opencore bootloader (0.7.2). I did the installation on a spare SSD and for now everything is stable and I did not notice anything unusual except small problems related with Bluetooth. The Bluetooth icon is missing in the system preferences. Wireless works normally.
I use original Apple Broadcom BCM943602CDP card.
There is no information under the menu Hardware, section Bluetooth (No information found.)
I used your "left file" (OC-072-Designare-Z390) Broadcom WiFi / BT. And I performed the recommended "Post-Update Procedure" for Mojave users.

Via HackinDROM I generated unique: System Serial Number, Motherboards Serial Number, System UUID and ROM ….
How should I fill in the remaining fields in the "platforminfo(SMBIOS)" section correctly? I use iMac 19,1 definition.
How can I check if everything on the system is working properly?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-08-21 at 21.37.46.png
    Screenshot 2021-08-21 at 21.37.46.png
    195.4 KB · Views: 20
  • Screenshot 2021-08-21 at 23.47.42.png
    Screenshot 2021-08-21 at 23.47.42.png
    18.9 KB · Views: 21

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,096
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just recently purchased the logitech Brio which works great but I am facing a roadblock with Facetime. I am unable to see the other person and tried to test it by using my work phone as an alternate with my home wifi. Still scratching my head why I am receiving the error. I'm currently on open core 0.7.1 with Big Sur 11.5.2 .

View attachment 527500View attachment 527501
LOL!! Over 800 Mbps and it’s waiting for the connection to improve. :)

When you say the Brio works, do you mean it works in Windows?

Do have Zoom installed in macOS? If so, please see if it can operate the Brio webcam properly.
 
Top