Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Speaking as an M1 Mac mini purchaser and having had the machine for about a month and a half, I say the following:

I too am a Hackintosher, and the Golden Build here is what I built in the beginning of 2019. I love my machine, though I don't relish the upgrade process on Hackintosh for the OS and for OpenCore. I'm comfortable with both, but there can be issues on Hackintosh that a real Mac simply won't experience for the most part.

Cost is an issue, especially now with some components having gotten more expensive like video cards. My 5700 XT was $420 when I bought it before the price hikes. Now its anywhere from $1000 on up. It's performance in all benchmarks "say" that it trounces the M1 Mac mini graphics, but in my actual use, this is not usually the case.

I have been live-streaming twice a week since the pandemic with my Hackintosh and recently tried the same setup on the Mini. The Mini is running so fast on its CPU that it actually transcodes that video from my stream faster than my Hackintosh using Compressor (or Handbrake or Final Cut Pro). Even when the Hack is faster, its no more than by about a minute or two.

I use presentation software in the live stream called Proclaim. On the hack, if I place a video (up to 5 min. in length) in Proclaim and stream that apps monitor output into the live stream, I get video playback frame drops and audio is not in sync. The same procedure on the Mini produces no drop out or audio sync issue in the live stream, even though Proclaim is not even M1 native yet!

So my little Mac mini, with 16GB RAM, and 512GB SSD is as fast as if not faster than my $3000 Hack with 64GB RAM, 2TB SSDs, i9-9900K for what I do.

The mini does require a Thunderbolt dock because of its lack of ports so I got the Caldigit T3 Plus Thunderbolt Dock (approx $269). I break the 2 monitor limitation with Startech displaylink adapters so I can use (2) 32" HD displays, and (2) 55" 4K Televisions to play my presentation in person and live stream simultaneously with Canon M50 as my camera.

The mini is also connected via a USB cable to a Pyle 6 channel Mixer (which I'm swapping out for a 12 channel model in a couple of days) that is connected to a Fender Passport PA System, at least two wireless mics, an electric keyboard, and a lapel mic which feed into the live stream (not the PA system though, its just used as speakers)

So, while I agree that the specs of the mini are a bit underspece'd (I'd like to see more RAM and a bigger internal drive, and more ports), I must say that in the real world, with a little help from a doc and some adapters, it is quite the powerful system and costs about half of what I paid for my hack even with the dock and adapters.

Currently, there is one other problem with the M1 mini that might affect your purchase decision. I think it affects probably all Macs with the M1 right now. It does not like many external thunderbolt drives, whether connected directly or to a dock. I've tried two NVMe SSDs in two different external enclosures and they won't stay connected for more than a few minutes. So until Apple fixes this issue, I probably won't be buying any more M1 based Macs. But if external storage isn't a deal breaker for you, the M1 Mini is a steal in my opinion for $1099 in my configuration.

I believe the rumored new M1x based Mac mini will be the machine that I may actually buy as I suspect it will be sub $1500, won't have the external drive issues, and should have the graphics beefed up, even in synthetic benchmarks, that will be more than fast enough to replace my Hack. We'll see!
I will seriously consider replacing my VEP7 node (Mini8,1 i7 3.2 GHz 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, 10Gb Ethernet) with a M1X/M2 Mini with at least 32GB RAM and discrete ethernet, or if Thunderbolt networking would work. My needs are timing/latency critical audio apps. Unfortunately, so far nothing beats my 9900KS setup for the price. I'm really hoping that the next-gen SOC devices will change that. Until then, Pro Tools still requires brute-force computing.

But this would be a deal-killer for me:

"Currently, there is one other problem with the M1 mini that might affect your purchase decision. I think it affects probably all Macs with the M1 right now" (the external/Thunderbolt SSD issue...)

I've never had a better Mac than my Z390 Multitronic Unit. Never.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello All,

Since my updates to OC 0.7.0 and 0.7.1 my system isn't loading L/E upon a reboot unless I do a

"sudo touch /Library/Extensions"

once booted and logged in. And for whatever reason, I still have to do that again the next time I reboot in order to load the extensions in L/E.

Before I try updating the KEXT cache in Big Sur (11.4) I want to make sure that's what I should be doing (and how I safely need to do that if so).

Thank you for the help!

Lam
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,822
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello All,

Since my updates to OC 0.7.0 and 0.7.1 my system isn't loading L/E upon a reboot unless I do a

"sudo touch /Library/Extensions"

once booted and logged in. And for whatever reason, I still have to do that again the next time I reboot in order to load the extensions in L/E.

Before I try updating the KEXT cache in Big Sur (11.4) I want to make sure that's what I should be doing (and how I safely need to do that if so).

Thank you for the help!

Lam
keep your 3rd party kexts in your EFI
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
keep your 3rd party kexts in your EFI
Hi @Feartech,

Thank you for the reply. So every time I install an app that installs a "kext" I should move it manually to /EFI/OC/Kexts?

Also, if I do that they each need entries in config.plist and need to be "enabled", correct?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,822
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @Feartech,

Thank you for the reply. So every time I install an app that installs a "kext" I should move it manually to /EFI/OC/Kexts?

Also, if I do that they each need entries in config.plist and need to be "enabled", correct?
no, those kexts should be left in /L/E

what app out of interest are you installing?

also in terminal do:
Code:
sudo kextcache -i /
and copy and paste the results here
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
no, those kexts should be left in /L/E

what app out of interest are you installing?

also in terminal do:
Code:
sudo kextcache -i /
and copy and paste the results here
Here's the output of the "sudo kextcache -i /"

kextcache -i /
Executing: /usr/bin/kmutil install --volume-root / --check-rebuild
rebuilding local auxiliary collection
kmutil done

I've attached a photo of my L/E directory.

1626475293080.png
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
115
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690i AORUS
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Hey @CaseySJ
I'm experiencing random freezes on my z390-designare hack since upgrading to 0.7.1
are you aware of any new problems since the new version? many thanks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,921
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey @CaseySJ
I'm experiencing random freezes on my z390-designare hack since upgrading to 0.7.1
are you aware of any new problems since the new version? many thanks
I'm not aware of such problems with OpenCore 0.7.1. One of the first suggestions we always make is to verify the assertion that OpenCore 0.7.1 is indeed the culprit. This is easy to do by downgrading to 0.7.0. If you used the HackinDROM App to upgrade, you will find a ZIP file in your EFI partition that contains the previous EFI folder.

Couple other things to check:
  • Was SIP disabled in your OpenCore 0.7.0 setup, but got enabled in OpenCore 0.7.1? (This can be checked by looking at csr-active-config in boot-args).
  • Is the USB port map SSDT (SSDT-UIAC-DESIGNARE-Z390-V7.aml) enabled in ACPI section?
  • Are both USBInjectAll kexts (USBInjectAll-071.kext and USBInjectAll-076.kext) enabled in Kernel section?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,921
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Here's the output of the "sudo kextcache -i /"

kextcache -i /
Executing: /usr/bin/kmutil install --volume-root / --check-rebuild
rebuilding local auxiliary collection
kmutil done

I've attached a photo of my L/E directory.

View attachment 524804
The /L/E directory looks okay. Was SIP disabled before and has been enabled in OpenCore 0.7.1? This can be checked by looking at csr-active-config in boot-args (NVRAM section of config.plist).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,921
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think I’m missing something really basic. Its been a few weeks since we’ve been graced with the Apple Vt-d fix that brought my Antelope Discrete 8 to life, but I can’t get it recognized without first booting into Win 10. That wasn’t an issue when I was only using the UA Apollo, its recognized from cold booting, and Thunderbolt is always visible in my IOReg no matter what. I wouldnt mind, but my X299 system boots/shuts down slowly so its a 5 min process to get going. Is this an old problem for people? How do you get Thunderbolt devices recognized without hot-booting from WIN 10? ‍:banghead:
Let's see if we can figure this out...
  • Are you using a GC-Titan Ridge in the X79-based Rampage IV Extreme?
  • If so, is the card's firmware flashed or original?
  • If you perform a cold boot (i.e. shutdown the system and flip power switch on PSU to OFF for 10 seconds) directly into macOS first, does the Antelope device connect?
  • In IORegistryExplorer, do you see AppleVTD near the top of the list on the left side?
 
Top