Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Is it one of the two USB drives shown on your desktop? Two 5tb drives.

Could you test it on your Z97X build to be sure that’s not a drive slowly dying?
Hello brousseau

I recently got the drive replaced from the vendor under warranty and even after the replacement its doing the same thing and I don't have and access to Z97x Machine right now that is at the different location and that too far from my place around 900 KM away. If I use the same drive in windows OS its working fine its only with Mac. I even tried the drive with my MacBook Pro no changes there also it's a same.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
173
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I've seen this in Mojave. I'm not sure what's going on, but when this happens, I consider the copy to be invalid. I then delete the "ghost" items, empty the trash, and try again.
As per my knowledge its like the data is not copied properly and that why its like a ghost data and @jiffyslot its working fine in Windows and Linux Operating System but I am unable to access the data on my Hackintosh
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
I checked my System Information -> Thunderbolt/USB4: "No drivers are loaded", can someone please help? Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As per my knowledge its like the data is not copied properly and that why its like a ghost data and @jiffyslot its working fine in Windows and Linux Operating System but I am unable to access the data on my Hackintosh
Is this on Big Sur or Mojave?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
I checked my System Information -> Thunderbolt/USB4: "No drivers are loaded", can someone please help? Thanks!
Do I need to flash Thunderbolt firmware in order to use my device? If yes, can you please guide me with easiest way? Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My recently-installed dual RX-580 setup "worked" but it was of no observable benefit, so I removed the second GPU and flipped the BIOS switch from "Gaming to "Compute" on the remaining RX-580. It was worth a try.
 

Attachments

  • 2 GPU HEVC encode 1 of 2.png
    2 GPU HEVC encode 1 of 2.png
    429.1 KB · Views: 28
  • 2 GPU HEVC encode 2 of 2.png
    2 GPU HEVC encode 2 of 2.png
    225.2 KB · Views: 28
  • Single GPU HEVC encode_@nd GPU physically removed.png
    Single GPU HEVC encode_@nd GPU physically removed.png
    87.7 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As per my knowledge its like the data is not copied properly and that why its like a ghost data and @jiffyslot its working fine in Windows and Linux Operating System but I am unable to access the data on my Hackintosh
Does the Ethernet 0 (En0) hardware address in your BIOS setup match what you entered into the ROM section?

ROM needs to match your En0 hardware address.png
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Z390 Gigabyte Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Change CPU Name in About this Mac:

I am using my Z390 DESIGNARE, i9 9900K, MacOS BigSur and OpenCore 7.1
with a PlatformID 7.1 MacPro instead of the iMac 19.1 and want to change the cpu name from
"3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W" to show i9 9900k instead of the Xeon W.

I have tried the "cpu_name_v2.sh" but I get an error

"mount_apfs: volume could not be mounted: Permission denied
mount: / failed with 66"

Does the script only work in Catalina?
 
Last edited:
Top