Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,919
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Howdy. I'm trying to figure out the best way to adapt an ACPI patch for a second RX580 as a compute GPU (PCIEX8 slot running at x8). The patch for the "display" GPU (PCIEX16 slot, running at x8) works in Mojave, but seemingly not in Big Sur. See attachments.
Have you already tried changing PEG0 to PEG1? (For RX580 in Slot 2.)

Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 5.08.39 AM.png
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
419
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
View attachment 524393
Hi,
you know how I fix that ?
I can't use cloverconfigplistvalidator....
thx
Just looking at « ProvideConsoleGOPEnable », I think that’s not even available in newest Clover. Looks to me to be a mixup of different Clover versions and Config.plist. What do you think?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,919
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @CaseySJ, this is exactly what I was looking for. I'm editing it now. Do I need to change the Slot naming? "Slot-1@0,1,0/0,1" to "Slot-2@0,2,0/0,2"
We cannot assume that the PCI path for Slot 2 can be obtained by adding "1" to each part of the Slot 1 path! But we can do this instead:
  • Make a backup of your Slot 2 RX-580 SSDT (save it to Desktop or Documents).
  • In the original version of this SSDT, remove the slot-name field and save the file back in compiled (.aml) format (see screenshot below).
  • Copy it to OC/ACPI folder.
  • Physically install RX580 GPU in Slot 2 if not already installed, and (re)boot macOS.
Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 1.52.26 PM.png

  • When macOS starts, get the correct PCI path of RX 580 in Slot 2 like this:
    • Run OpenCore Configurator, but do not open config.plist
    • Just use the empty or blank default window
    • Go to Device Properties and hit the pop-up menu
    • You should find two VGA entries in the list
    • Select them both one by one
    • One of the them will have the slot-name you're already using (for slot 1) so delete it
    • The other one's slot-name will correspond to Slot 2
    • Go back to to the backup copy of SSDT that was copied to Desktop or Documents folder
    • Replace the slot-name string with the correct one you just discovered
Step 1:
Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 1.55.04 PM.png

Step 2: (select both VGA controllers, one by one)
Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 1.55.45 PM.png

Step 3: Get the slot-name from the correct GPU
Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 1.56.05 PM.png
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
We cannot assume that the PCI path for Slot 2 can be obtained by adding "1" to each part of the Slot 1 path! But we can do this instead:
  • Make a backup of your Slot 2 RX-580 SSDT (save it to Desktop or Documents).
  • In the original version of this SSDT, remove the slot-name field and save the file back in compiled (.aml) format (see screenshot below).
  • Copy it to OC/ACPI folder.
  • Physically install RX580 GPU in Slot 2 if not already installed, and (re)boot macOS.
View attachment 524447
  • When macOS starts, get the correct PCI path of RX 580 in Slot 2 like this:
    • Run OpenCore Configurator, but do not open config.plist
    • Just use the empty or blank default window
    • Go to Device Properties and hit the pop-up menu
    • You should find two VGA entries in the list
    • Select them both one by one
    • One of the them will have the slot-name you're already using (for slot 1) so delete it
    • The other one's slot-name will correspond to Slot 2
    • Go back to to the backup copy of SSDT that was copied to Desktop or Documents folder
    • Replace the slot-name string with the correct one you just discovered
Step 1:
View attachment 524449

Step 2: (select both VGA controllers, one by one)
View attachment 524450

Step 3: Get the slot-name from the correct GPU
View attachment 524451
Thank you, @CaseySJ ! I learned something new. This is a really cool patch for these cards. I'm not a gamer, so this is perfect for me.
 

Attachments

  • 2x Sapphire Pulse RX-580 8GB.png
    2x Sapphire Pulse RX-580 8GB.png
    429.8 KB · Views: 62
  • SSDT-RX580_Slot1.aml
    719 bytes · Views: 48
  • SSDT-RX580_Slot2.aml
    727 bytes · Views: 28

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,919
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you, @CaseySJ ! I learned something new. This is a really cool patch for these cards. I'm not a gamer, so this is perfect for me.
Looks good! I'll bookmark this in the Quick Reference spoiler in Section 7: Guides Contributed by Members | Miscellaneous.

Update: Done

Screen Shot 2021-07-12 at 4.10.15 PM.png
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,919
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Something I forgot to ask: Can I use an ACPI patch to power off the 2nd card on boot? Or is ACPI-patching only for populating the system?
The last two files attached to the bottom of Post 1 in this thread will hide a Slot 1 and Slot 2 GPU from macOS. Although we can include both the low-power SSDT and the hide-my-GPU SSDT into the OpenCore config.plist, we can only enable one of them at a time.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The last two files attached to the bottom of Post 1 in this thread will hide a Slot 1 and Slot 2 GPU from macOS. Although we can include both the low-power SSDT and the hide-my-GPU SSDT into the OpenCore config.plist, we can only enable one of them at a time.
Thanks. Yeah, I knew about hiding GPUs. I just didn't know if hiding was the same as disabling power draw.
 
Top