Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
419
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
How did you make your Antelope device works with TB. I have almost same config with yours. Mine is clover build, do I need to convert it to Open Core. If yes how? Sorry for my questions , I’m very new on this things.
Try this in Clover (it will enable AppleVTD):

- VT-d enabled in BIOS
- dart=0 removed from boot args
- remove "drop DMAR" from Config.plist

If you loose USB, there is an equivalent to ReleaseUSBOwnership somewhere in Clover Config (don’t remember where, sorry!).

If you’re on Mojave or Catalina, no further intervention but if you are on Big Sur, you have to integrate a SSDT for DMAR.

Look at the post from @yosoyoco

 
Joined
Jun 4, 2020
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare- F9i
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
IMG_4263.jpeg

Hi,
you know how I fix that ?
I can't use cloverconfigplistvalidator....
thx
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
281
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
you know how I fix that ?
I can't use cloverconfigplistvalidator....
thx
@SCaRL3T

As @Feartech replied, you should be using OpenCore, not Clover. The errors show your EFI folder is not properly constructed. In your signature you show you are using Clover r5136. Go back to the first post in this thread and re-read it. Don't use Clover r5136!

Post #1.jpg
Look at the first post's Quick Reference spoiler and closely follow the Mini-Guide for OpenCore 0.7.1. @CaseySJ has supplied EFI folders using OpenCore that work well for this motherboard.

Quick Reference.jpg

All the guidance needed to get this motherboard working is there.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Howdy. I'm trying to figure out the best way to adapt an ACPI patch for a second RX580 as a compute GPU (PCIEX8 slot running at x8). The patch for the "display" GPU (PCIEX16 slot, running at x8) works in Mojave, but seemingly not in Big Sur. See attachments.
 

Attachments

  • Display RX580.png
    Display RX580.png
    72.1 KB · Views: 33
  • PEG0@1.png
    PEG0@1.png
    220.1 KB · Views: 31
  • 2nd RX580.png
    2nd RX580.png
    49.1 KB · Views: 32
  • PEG1@1.png
    PEG1@1.png
    213.3 KB · Views: 27
  • HW Wattage and temp details.png
    HW Wattage and temp details.png
    127.4 KB · Views: 29
  • SSDT-RX580.aml
    715 bytes · Views: 22
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Dec 23, 2019
Messages
40
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
I'm not sure what you mean.
You can inject the values from your attached SSDT using OpenCore DeviceProperties. So this can be done for any PCIe-Device itself. Please compare the values from my Screenshot with the values in your SSDT for the RX580. I'm injecting these values via DeviceProperties, not using a SSDT. You have to find out the right PCIe-Path with Hackintool and then take my example as Template. For 2 RX580 you have to create an entry for each RX580 PCIe device with the same values.

It worked for me from Mojave until Monterey and yes, I think the power consumption is okay.
Bildschirmfoto 2021-07-12 um 13.25.55.png
 

Attachments

  • rx580.plist
    1.3 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,981
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can inject the values from your attached SSDT using OpenCore DeviceProperties. So this can be done for any PCIe-Device itself. Please compare the values from my Screenshot with the values in your SSDT for the RX580. I'm injecting these values via DeviceProperties, not using a SSDT. You have to find out the right PCIe-Path with Hackintool and then take my example as Template. For 2 RX580 you have to create an entry for each RX580 PCIe device with the same values.

It worked for me from Mojave until Monterey and yes, I think the power consumption is okay.
View attachment 524418
Good information. This is a more user-friendly approach than editing SSDT.
 
Top