Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
ASUS ProArt Z690-CREATOR WIFI
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Awesome work on the Apple VTD front everyone! I tried following the instructions from CaseySJ but still came back to no working ethernet or wifi, despite AppleVTD and DMAC available in IOReg. On a whim I tried switching from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 on a spare drive to see if that could be the problem, and lo and behold: Networking works.

Made sure hevc and things were working, then tried on my main system. Seems like everything works. I've now also tried with Stefan's modified SSDT-DMAR.aml and it seems to work as well. I don't have any TB devices to try, though I'll be getting a GbE adapter soon and have an old TB2 dock I could test with if I get the TB2->TB3 adapter.

So I guess it's possible the DMAR tricks only work with iMac19,1 smbios.

I got it working on Z590 with MacPro7,1 SMBIOS, but it might vary per SMBIOS and GPU configuration.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Awesome work on the Apple VTD front everyone! I tried following the instructions from CaseySJ but still came back to no working ethernet or wifi, despite AppleVTD and DMAC available in IOReg. On a whim I tried switching from iMacPro1,1 to iMac19,1 on a spare drive to see if that could be the problem, and lo and behold: Networking works.

Made sure hevc and things were working, then tried on my main system. Seems like everything works. I've now also tried with Stefan's modified SSDT-DMAR.aml and it seems to work as well. I don't have any TB devices to try, though I'll be getting a GbE adapter soon and have an old TB2 dock I could test with if I get the TB2->TB3 adapter.

So I guess it's possible the DMAR tricks only work with iMac19,1 smbios.
When you say everything worked when you tried it again on your main system, does that mean you tried it with iMacPro1,1?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMacPro1,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
When you say everything worked when you tried it again on your main system, does that mean you tried it with iMacPro1,1?
No sorry I wasn’t clear, I meant I booted my regular system with 19,1. Which meant having to log in again on iCloud and other accounts.

But when I said everything works I seem to have spoken too soon. Now DRM seems broken in Safari and the TV app :-/
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No sorry I wasn’t clear, I meant I booted my regular system with 19,1. Which meant having to log in again on iCloud and other accounts.

But when I said everything works I seem to have spoken too soon. Now DRM seems broken in Safari and the TV app :-/
Fortunately DRM is a separate issue from AppleVTD. Or maybe I should qualify that statement by saying that as far as we know, DRM issues are not correlated with VT-d. It's easy enough to verify by checking-on DisableIoMapper in order to disable AppleVTD.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMacPro1,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Fortunately DRM is a separate issue from AppleVTD. Or maybe I should qualify that statement by saying that as far as we know, DRM issues are not correlated with VT-d. It's easy enough to verify by checking-on DisableIoMapper in order to disable AppleVTD.
Got TV app working with defaults write com.apple.AppleGVA gvaForceAMDKE -boolean yes but no luck with Netflix and Amazon in Safari. Not a big deal since I rarely watch anything on this machine, but would prefer if I could get everything working
:lol:
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @CaseySJ, so I'm trying to get OC 071 going on my Z370. I wanted to add-in the RX-580 low power patch. If the patch does not seem to be working, does anything need to be changed if the RX580 is in slot 1?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot GFX0_RX580.png
    Screen Shot GFX0_RX580.png
    26.2 KB · Views: 34
  • Z370 AOG7 info.txt
    1.7 KB · Views: 21
  • OC071_Z370_iMP_RX580_config.plist
    18.5 KB · Views: 27

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @CaseySJ, so I'm trying to get OC 071 going on my Z370. I wanted to add-in the RX-580 low power patch. If the patch does not seem to be working, does anything need to be changed if the RX580 is in slot 1?
I've never used the RX580 low power patch, and haven't suffered any consequences! It may be best to disable it...
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've never used the RX580 low power patch, and haven't suffered any consequences! It may be best to disable it...
Ah, got it. I want to enable it on the Z370 like I have going on the Z390. The low power mode is neato because it averages half the watts (19W) for ordinary tasks, but ramps up as needed. I just can't tell if it doesn't work with the Z370 or if I have to modify the patch.

The only differences in the two builds are the motherboards, and the CPUs (i9 9900KS and i7 8700K) everything else down to the power supply and cases are identical. These builds have the same Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB card in slot 1. Attached is the same patch posted a long time ago on this thread.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-RX580.aml
    715 bytes · Views: 31

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ah, got it. I want to enable it on the Z370 like I have going on the Z390. The low power mode is neato because it averages half the watts (19W) for ordinary tasks, but ramps up as needed. I just can't tell if it doesn't work with the Z370 or if I have to modify the patch.

The only differences in the two builds are the motherboards, and the CPUs (i9 9900KS and i7 8700K) everything else down to the power supply and cases are identical. These builds have the same Sapphire Pulse RX580 8GB card in slot 1. Attached is the same patch posted a long time ago on this thread.
This SSDT attaches to PCI0.PEG0.GFX0 by first removing PCI0.PEG0.PEGP. This makes it complaint with Z390 Designare as well, for use in Slot 1.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Welp... I made a new EFI for the Z370 (iMP1,1)that's very much like my semi-identical Z390 build (iMac19,1), but I can't get the RX580 into a low power state. This Z370 is going to be my VSL Orchestral Node and it will be controlled via Screen Sharing over Ethernet, and connected to the Z390 (the Pro tools rig). I have an HDMI dummy plug for the Z370.
 

Attachments

  • ACPI.zip
    8.9 KB · Views: 27
  • Kexts.zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 27
  • config.plist
    26.6 KB · Views: 23
  • io reg shot.png
    io reg shot.png
    186.9 KB · Views: 33
Top