Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OpenCore 0.7.1 is expected next week. I'll make the EFI folder compatible with Monterey. Intel i211 Ethernet port (driven by SmallTreeIntel kext) does not connect (Monterey).
If you can keep your special 0.7.1 recipes compatible with Mojave, I'll be forever grateful.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
428
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
That is to have a fully functioning (or as close to a real mac as possible) Thunderbolt. Unlike UAudio's Apollos which use onboard DSP to achieve low latency, most of Thunderbolt audio interfaces out there, require direct access to memory (DMA) typically reserved for virtualization (VT-d). I have helped a good half dozen people setting this up for a range of audio interfaces, from MOTU, Slate, Presonus and others.

I believe (I could be wrong) that in order to have a fully working Thunderbolt implementation, the following need to be true:

  1. Enable VT-d in BIOS (assuming Thunderbolt devices are already enabled with 'no security' in BIOS)
  2. Remove dart=0 (Boot>Arguments in Clover / NVRAM>Add>boot-args in OC)
  3. Disabled SIP (if the installed driver doesn't produce a security prompt to allow driver to function)
Puzzled as I own a fully functioning Presonus Quantum 2626? I guess I could make the changes and see if there is a performance difference but I’m curious about your statement? I run Mojave so it won’t do any harm anyways…

Thanks,

Patrice
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,157
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Puzzled as I own a fully functioning Presonus Quantum 2626? I guess I could make the changes and see if there is a performance difference but I’m curious about your statement? I run Mojave so it won’t do any harm anyways…

Thanks,

Patrice
I've used a few different TB audio interfaces without VT-d and with dart=0 with zero problems. Also still on Mojave.

@brousseau6933: let me know if you notice a difference with VT-d and without dart=0.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
428
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I've used a few different TB audio interfaces without VT-d and with dart=0 with zero problems. Also still on Mojave.

@brousseau6933: let me know if you notice a difference with VT-d and without dart=0.
Well, I guess because I'm still using Clover 5099 and a patched OCQuircks EFI driver (old method), I can't see any Apple VT-d entry in IORegistryExplorer. If Im not mistaken, I would have to use a more recent version of Clover while implementing the quirks in the Config.plist. Not worth the hassle now... sorry!

**EDIT: confirmed by looking at Dortania guide that I should tick "DisableIOMapper" be it in Clover or OC. Only way to completely benefit of Apple VT-d in conjunction with removing Dart=0 and enabling VT-d in BIOS.

If ain't broken, don't fix it in my case then :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
408
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've used a few different TB audio interfaces without VT-d and with dart=0 with zero problems. Also still on Mojave.

@brousseau6933: let me know if you notice a difference with VT-d and without dart=0.
What are the interfaces?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
408
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Puzzled as I own a fully functioning Presonus Quantum 2626? I guess I could make the changes and see if there is a performance difference
I ALWAYS had to have VT-d enabled to have a fully functioning VRS8 as well as a friend's Quantum on his machine. I use the Designare, he uses an Asus ROG Maximus IX with a Alpine Ridge AIC. A disabled VT-d in BIOS was NEVER an option for me on any system. This has been true since Clover versions 4XXX. I'm not sure if/how you got around this issue, but it may be key to having a working Antelope interface without VT-d enabled. A few posts back I referenced my experience with the VRS8 and point to a post that leads to another thread on this forum where @joevt was instrumental in helping me figure this out. That thread was started by and eventually abandoned by someone who owns a Persons Quantum but had similar problem and couldn't get it to work. Worth reading through the first 20 pages or so.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
428
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I ALWAYS had to have VT-d enabled to have a fully functioning VRS8 as well as a friend's Quantum on his machine. I use the Designare, he uses an Asus ROG Maximus IX with a Alpine Ridge AIC. A disabled VT-d in BIOS was NEVER an option for me on any system. This has been true since Clover versions 4XXX. I'm not sure if/how you got around this issue, but it may be key to having a working Antelope interface without VT-d enabled. A few posts back I referenced my experience with the VRS8 and point to a post that leads to another thread on this forum where @joevt was instrumental in helping me figure this out. That thread was started by and eventually abandoned by someone who owns a Persons Quantum but had similar problem and couldn't get it to work. Worth reading through the first 20 pages or so.
Will look for the post ´cause I’m curious but my 2626 (not the original Quantum TB2) works flawlessly.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
428
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
@luckyal ,

@loloduarte owns the TB2 Quantum, not the same as the Quantum 2626. The post referenced someone not being able to have a working Quantum, right? Strange indeed…

**EDIT: it looks they have problems but not on the same board. They are on Z170 and 270.

**EDIT #2: looking at this post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...io-interface-help.226705/page-10#post-1900936

In your specific case, VT-d was a must. In the case of the 2626, it looks, at least on Mojave, that VT-d isn’t needed for proper function.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
DAW Users: Knowing what you know now about these homebuilt OSX machines, if you could get a do-over, which interface (and method of connection) would you choose? Or would you simply save for a MP 7,1?
 
Top