Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So my wifi is also disabled with AppleVTd loaded and all 4 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro Dimms installed. Sorry.

I haven't tried removing any DIMMs to see if Wifi loads. Curiously, my iPhone's USB hotspot is working just fine (that's how I'm posting this message). Bluetooth continues to work as well.
With two of the four DIMMs installed (A1/B1 or A2/B2) everything will work fine with AppleVTD enabled. It's only when we exceed 16GB that things go awry. This problem does not affect X99 and X299 systems (nor Z170X Designare, it seems).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
- Antelope TB3 Drivers are the same on each system: Control Panels stay connected and function 100%. iOS application 100% connected and working.
...
Now that's more like it...
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
122
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have good news for you all. With this VTD mod, I was able to get pro tools carbon hardware working via the apple to ethernet adapter on my 390 board. Both tb ports worked and i used both the akiko tb 2 to 3 and star tech 2-3 adapter. I tired the original apple tb adapter but that never worked even in catalina.

My bottom Ethernet works but not my top. I didn't try wi fi as ill never use it. I also only have 2 8 gig sticks of ram so im at 16 gigs

Since i have the 10g card thats a pcie slot ...ill most likely be going back to that and using that for my avb setup. Plugging into that directly also works with this mod so i can use pt carbon via both tb ports and also my asus 10g nick card
But im happy to know this is working. TY

Also, if someone has a second, my amd 5700 gpx card is in my vision Dp board since i was working on that last week. I have a nvidia 1070 in pcie slot 1 on this 390 and is there a way to disable that only in mac so when i run this machine i can just use the intel built in gpx card. and the nvidia in windows? I tired to boot using the 390 hackindrom efi with intel but that hangs half way on boot and i think its cause of this nvida card. I can get into big sur but some of my plug ins in pro tools wont load cause no gpx support

thanks
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 11.37.03 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 11.37.03 PM.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 23
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
I'm not sure what the difference in RAM modules is, but I wonder if adjusting the timings in the BIOS effects the results.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2021
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX6800XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Does anyone have an SSDT for the RX580. On mine when playing music or videos the sound plays then stop for a quick millisecond and plays again. This happens every 10 to 20 seconds of the song/video. The fact that this is also happening in windows leads me to believe the RX580 needs patching or how do I extract my own SSDT from my DSDT.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
@CaseySJ Update on my PTT situation. I tried flashing official F9i through Qflash but it said invalid file, tried both the one in this thread and the one from Softpedia. Then I booted Windows directly (not through OC), installed Gigabyte bios updater and that was able to do it. Since it worked I ran it again but also updated the backup bios (I have a suspicion I somehow screwed that one up with the failed modified F9i). Then loaded safe defaults, set PTT to enabled, save&restart and... BOOM, it stayed enabled :D

Is it possible that my failed flash (using the complete setting to update Intel ME and stuff) didn't get fully fixed by manually flashing your bios and the Gigabyte tool was able to correct that? Can't think of any other reason since it was literally the same bios.

I also noticed that before flashing now, there was no Intel ME available at all in Device Manager in Windows. Haven't checked yet if it's there now since I wanted to make sure MacOS booted correctly first. Will update.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I confirm that WLAN (Fenvi-T919) and Ethernet (bulit-in Intel I211 and Intel I219V7) do not work with the following configuration:
- Bios F9i (modified)
- VT-d in BIOS enabled
- uncheck "DisableIOMapper" (config.plist -> kernel section)
- removed "dart=0" from Boot-Args (NVRAM section)

AppleVTD appears in IORegistryExplorer.

Hardware:
- Gigabyte Z390 Designare
- Intel Core i9-9900K
- WLAN Card Fenvi-T919
- RAM Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR3-3200 32GB-Kit (CMK32GX4M2B3200C16); 16GB in Bank-A1 and 16GB in Bank-B1

I would like to add:
- Running Big Sur 11.4 (20F71)
- OC (OpenCore) 0.7.0
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
259
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I wondered how reducing total memory from 32GB to 16GB for Experiment #3 would affect Geekbench 5.4.1 scores. In my case with a i9-9900K it was significant number-wise. The 32GB score was run in late Dec. 2019, which might also be a factor. In actual real-world performance for the way I use this hackintosh, probably not noticeably.

16GB 32GB
------ ------
Single-core 1233 1289
Multi-core 7301 9537

Now the question for @CaseySJ is whether I should return my BIOS, and EFI folder to pre-experiment settings. Or is there more experimenting to come?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,353
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I wondered how reducing total memory from 32GB to 16GB for Experiment #3 would affect Geekbench 5.4.1 scores. In my case with a i9-9900K it was significant number-wise. The 32GB score was run in late Dec. 2019, which might also be a factor. In actual real-world performance for the way I use this hackintosh, probably not noticeably.

16GB 32GB
------ ------
Single-core 1233 1289
Multi-core 7301 9537

Now the question for @CaseySJ is whether I should return my BIOS, and EFI folder to pre-experiment settings. Or is there more experimenting to come?
This is a good question. Thanks to the response from everyone who tried AppleVTD, here are some preliminary conclusions:
  • If you use Antelope’s Thunderbolt audio interfaces, enabling AppleVTD is the only known solution. If you also happen to have a system based on X99 or X299, you can use as much memory as you like because AppleVTD does not appear to cause any side effects on those systems. Gigabyte’s Z170X also has no side effects.

  • If you need AVB through Apple Thunderbolt to GbE adapter, then AppleVTD is also required. But you can also use a 10GbE PCIe card instead (e.g. Sonnet) and disable AppleVTD.

  • On all systems other than X99, X299 and GA-Z170X, using a maximum of 16GB also avoids side effects with AppleVTD.

  • The option to enable or disable AppleVTD is up to each person based on their circumstances.

  • I will, however, test @jiffyslot’s memory later in the week to see if there is at least one memory configuration that allows us to exceed 16GB on standard desktop platforms (not X99, X299, or GA-Z170X).
    • UPDATE: Jiffyslot tested this with Big Sur and found that WiFi/Ethernet will in fact disconnect.
 
Last edited:
Top