Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There was no D when I did the check, though the set has a different part number with a Q.

Also, you updated with my entry but you listed it as a 16GB module. These are 32GB modules.

Part number F4-3200C16Q-32GVK is 8GB:
Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 10.50.57 AM.png

Part number F4-3200C16D-32GVK is 16GB:
Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 10.51.59 AM.png

Part number F4-3200C16Q-128GVK is 32GB:
Screen Shot 2021-06-28 at 10.54.22 AM.png

I will switch to this third one.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,025
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not to throw a monkey wrench into the RAM issue, but I came across this unpleasantness last night: It's a LinusTechTips video about single/dual rank chips being swapped around by manufacturers to meet demand.
I don't know how much of a concern it is, but I thought I should at least post a couple links:



If one were building a new machine, is there any reason to not use 2x32GB RAM?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not to throw a monkey wrench into the RAM issue, but I came across this unpleasantness last night: It's a LinusTechTips video about single/dual rank chips being swapped around by manufacturers to meet demand.
I don't know how much of a concern it is, but I thought I should at least post a couple links:



Mods: These may not display as simple links. Please edit or delete this message as needed. Thanks.
Buildzoid posted a good follow-up video on this.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
795
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

...with my Z390 Designare:

I have installed one 16GB memory module (G.SKILL - F4-3000C16Q-64GTZR)in bank A1. Everything works perfectly!

With two, three or four modules the LAN / WLAN is deactivated. It does not matter in which slot the modules are inserted.
@CaseySJ Is this problem limited to a certain version of macOS? Could it be a bug in the OS?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
288
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@StefanAM,
My experience with F11o and F11n was not good as it appeared to break some thunderbolt/USB-c functionality. I believe there are similar problems with the latest versions of the Designare BIOS. Since it is based on the F11o version, does this patched version only update the intel microcode? Or does it fix the problems introduced in the last two beta versions?
I experienced all the bios's for AOM. Everytime it was just some time spent to achieve what I need it. I run now I9 9900k at 5100 MHz and 3000 cl16 memory at 3600 cl18. Stabile. Alpin Ridge and all iMac19,1 I run on it, is fully functional. But this is my reality, yours could be different.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Just enabled Intel Platform Trust Technology in BIOS F9i (w/latest microcode update from Elias). No problem booting macOS. Will go back into BIOS now to see whether PTT is still enabled.

Update: Yes, it is still enabled. I did not reset CMOS or make any other changes to BIOS. Just flipped PTT on.
Oh well, if we have identical bioses it seems the CPU might be the problem. Could try standard F9i just to make sure. Is it safe to "downgrade" from modified F9i to standard using Qflash?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh well, if we have identical bioses it seems the CPU might be the problem. Could try standard F9i just to make sure. Is it safe to "downgrade" from modified F9i to standard using Qflash?
Yes it’s okay to downgrade, but should not be necessary. Please try configuring BIOS parameters again, starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults). See Post 1 for BIOS configuration. If problem persists then try downgrading.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
53
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Yes it’s okay to downgrade, but should not be necessary. Please try configuring BIOS parameters again, starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults). See Post 1 for BIOS configuration. If problem persists then try downgrading.
That's what I did when it didn't work after trying a couple of times with a cold boot inbetween. I reset CMOS, loaded optimized defaults, restarted once then tried setting it to enabled without doing any of the hackintosh related changes.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's what I did when it didn't work after trying a couple of times with a cold boot inbetween. I reset CMOS, loaded optimized defaults, restarted once then tried setting it to enabled without doing any of the hackintosh related changes.
What exactly happens? When you enable TPP from the Miscellaneous sub-menu, Save & Exit, then start MacOS, is everything okay? Then you reboot and go back to BIOS and TPP is suddenly turned off?
 
Top