Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
835
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

...with my Z390 Designare:

I have installed one 16GB memory module (G.SKILL - F4-3000C16Q-64GTZR)in bank A1. Everything works perfectly!

With two, three or four modules the LAN / WLAN is deactivated. It does not matter in which slot the modules are inserted.
@CaseySJ Is this problem limited to a certain version of macOS? Could it be a bug in the OS?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@StefanAM,
My experience with F11o and F11n was not good as it appeared to break some thunderbolt/USB-c functionality. I believe there are similar problems with the latest versions of the Designare BIOS. Since it is based on the F11o version, does this patched version only update the intel microcode? Or does it fix the problems introduced in the last two beta versions?
I experienced all the bios's for AOM. Everytime it was just some time spent to achieve what I need it. I run now I9 9900k at 5100 MHz and 3000 cl16 memory at 3600 cl18. Stabile. Alpin Ridge and all iMac19,1 I run on it, is fully functional. But this is my reality, yours could be different.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Just enabled Intel Platform Trust Technology in BIOS F9i (w/latest microcode update from Elias). No problem booting macOS. Will go back into BIOS now to see whether PTT is still enabled.

Update: Yes, it is still enabled. I did not reset CMOS or make any other changes to BIOS. Just flipped PTT on.
Oh well, if we have identical bioses it seems the CPU might be the problem. Could try standard F9i just to make sure. Is it safe to "downgrade" from modified F9i to standard using Qflash?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Oh well, if we have identical bioses it seems the CPU might be the problem. Could try standard F9i just to make sure. Is it safe to "downgrade" from modified F9i to standard using Qflash?
Yes it’s okay to downgrade, but should not be necessary. Please try configuring BIOS parameters again, starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults). See Post 1 for BIOS configuration. If problem persists then try downgrading.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Yes it’s okay to downgrade, but should not be necessary. Please try configuring BIOS parameters again, starting with F7 (Load Optimized Defaults). See Post 1 for BIOS configuration. If problem persists then try downgrading.
That's what I did when it didn't work after trying a couple of times with a cold boot inbetween. I reset CMOS, loaded optimized defaults, restarted once then tried setting it to enabled without doing any of the hackintosh related changes.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's what I did when it didn't work after trying a couple of times with a cold boot inbetween. I reset CMOS, loaded optimized defaults, restarted once then tried setting it to enabled without doing any of the hackintosh related changes.
What exactly happens? When you enable TPP from the Miscellaneous sub-menu, Save & Exit, then start MacOS, is everything okay? Then you reboot and go back to BIOS and TPP is suddenly turned off?
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
What exactly happens? When you enable TPP from the Miscellaneous sub-menu, Save & Exit, then start MacOS, is everything okay? Then you reboot and go back to BIOS and TPP is suddenly turned off?
That's what happened the first time. Or actually I booted Windows and it still said there's no TPM. MacOS is unaffected as expected. If I change the setting from disabled to enabled and save and exit setup it restarts, rechecks all the ram (takes a little while with 64 GB), then if I enter bios settings again before ever letting OC load the setting has reverted to disabled. Doesn't matter if I let OC start or not, it just doesn't stick.

Also there's no warning when enabling PTT, which is something I've seen for some other MBs, but maybe that's just a thing with this Gigabyte board.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
276
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

I just removed one 16GB Corsair memory module CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 from B1 on my Designare Z390, so I have one 16GB Corsair memory module in A1. Experiment #3 settings. AppleVTD in IORegistryExplorer, and Ethernet and WiFi are active.

With 32GB of this Corsair memory, Ethernet and WiFi were disabled.

This is using your modified F9i BIOS, and your SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml file -- if that makes any difference.

AppleVTD Active.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Hey y'all, can someone help me in trying to diagnose why my system is freezing? I'm not sure if it's a graphics issue but it seems to be. The screen freezes but doesn't restart so I'm not sure it is a kernel panic? Any ides how to troubleshoot and diagnose?

i9-9900k, Z390, rx580, OC 0.7.0

attached is the systems config.plist
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    32.2 KB · Views: 24

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

I just removed one 16GB Corsair memory module CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 from B1 on my Designare Z390, so I have one 16GB Corsair memory module in A1. Experiment #3 settings. AppleVTD in IORegistryExplorer, and Ethernet and WiFi are active.

With 32GB of this Corsair memory, Ethernet and WiFi were disabled.

This is using your modified F9i BIOS, and your SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml file -- if that makes any difference.
Thanks -- this is further validation of bullet #3 in this post:
 
Last edited:
Top