Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,026
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So just to triple confirm:
  • AppleVTD appears in IOReg?
  • And WiFi / Ethernet can connect?
  • This is with four 16GB 2666MHz DIMMs on Z390 Designare?
(OS is Mojave)
Yes. I've reattached the essential screen shots above. Should I include a BIOS Setup file and a serial-cleaned copy of my EFI? I'd really like to make my Z370 OC 060 Mojave setup work as much the same as possible, hence the ants in my pants to get help for that troublesome build that is nearly identical to the Z390 build.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes. I've reattached the essential screen shots above. Should I include a BIOS Setup file and a serial-cleaned copy of my EFI? I'd really like to make my Z370 OC 060 Mojave setup work as much the same as possible, hence the ants in my pants to get help for that troublesome build that is nearly identical to the Z390 build.
Have you already enabled VT-d on your Z370? If so, what side effects are you experiencing?

By the way, if you remove the DIMMs from memory slots A1 and B1 on the Z390 Designare, leaving only A2 and B2 populated with 16GB DIMMs, does WiFi and Ethernet still work?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-DELUXE-3105
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

...here my experience with macOS Big Sur 11.4 (20F71)

ASUS X299

VT-d enabled in BIOS

Edit: The following two steps are not necessary. The system works flawlessly even with activated XMP profile and the higher clock rate of the memory.

XMP profile disabled in BIOS
Memory clock manually set to 2666 MHz

Four of eight memory banks used
4x Corsair - CMD32GX4M2B3000C15

WLAN OK
LAN 1 and 2 OK
Thunderbolt Ethernet OK
Bluetooth OK

AppleVTD present in IOReg
AVB works
 

Attachments

  • AppleVTD_01.png
    AppleVTD_01.png
    1 MB · Views: 22
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

...here my experience with macOS Big Sur 11.4 (20F71)

ASUS X299

VT-d enabled in BIOS
XMP profile disabled in BIOS
Memory clock manually set to 2666 MHz
Four of eight memory banks used
4x Corsair - CMD32GX4M2B3000C15

WLAN OK
LAN 1 and 2 OK
Thunderbolt Ethernet OK
Bluetooth OK

AppleVTD present in IOReg
AVB works
Awesome! I've added your info to Experiment Update #3. Because you have an Intel HEDT (high-end desktop) platform, it should not be necessary to down-clock the memory.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It hasn't worked for me. Do I need to change the SSDT? I haven't used a lite/skinny one.

Asus X299 Prime Deluxe II
i9-7900X
4x16GB 3000Mhz DIMM
OSX 10.13.6
TB3 Titan Ridge (built-in) original FW 36
ANTELOPE DISCRETE 8

VT-d -> Enabled
DisableIOMapper (never was on)
Removed 'dart=0'
In your Clover config.plist, please try deleting DMAR as shown below (i.e. remove that line), then reboot (VT-d must be enabled in BIOS). Does AppleVTD now appear in IOReg?
Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 12.27.37 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the quick turnaround. Looks like 2666MHz alone may not be the answer.
I’m going to manually set 2666MHz when I get home. As noted previously, with XMP off memory defaults to 2667MHz.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,026
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you already enabled VT-d on your Z370? If so, what side effects are you experiencing?

By the way, if you remove the DIMMs from memory slots A1 and B1 on the Z390 Designare, VT-d leaving only A2 and B2 populated with 16GB DIMMs, does WiFi and Ethernet still work?
Vt-d is enabled on the Z370, but the Z370 fails to load the OS on any version of OC higher than 060. See build #2 in my signature also seen here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...7-8700k-rx-580-2x-dell-p2715q-4k-60hz.252989/

I haven't removed any RAM from the CaseySJ Z390 build because the Ethernet never failed to connect.
 

Attachments

  • OpenCore 070 attempt on Z370.png
    OpenCore 070 attempt on Z370.png
    26.4 KB · Views: 17

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,278
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Vt-d is enabled on the Z370, but the Z370 fails to load the OS on any version of OC higher than 060. ...
This can happen if some of the Kexts and/or Drivers were not properly updated along with OpenCore itself. If you like, you may compress and post your OC 0.6.0 and the newer OpenCore EFI folder (with serial numbers removed from PlatformInfo).
  • Is MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) disabled on the Z370?
  • The screenshot indicates that SecureBootModel may be set incorrectly (try Disabled or Default).
Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 12.50.44 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
269
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Things I've done in order, without results.

1. Fully enable VT-d (in my case, just needed to set DisableIoMapper=false)
2. Load SSDT-DMAC.aml
3. Load SSDT-SMBUS-MCHC.aml
4. Try SSDT-MCHC.aml instead because like always, SMBUS activation breaks sleep for me
5. Move from the first and third RAM slot to the second and fourth.
6. Remove Fenvi card
7. Remove Aquantia card
8. Disable XMP, dropping me from 3200 to 2666
9. Loading OpenIntelWireless drivers for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
10. Turning XMP back on

I don't know if anyone else answered this when @CaseySJ asked, but Intel Wi-Fi dues not work for me with VT-d enabled.
 
Top