Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You surely mean Antelope and Big Sur? Running fine with Clover and Presonus here. No need for TB to Ethernet neither for me… Or did I missed something?
You are taking the statements out of context. We're referring to AppleVTD being enabled.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,086
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This can happen if some of the Kexts and/or Drivers were not properly updated along with OpenCore itself. If you like, you may compress and post your OC 0.6.0 and the newer OpenCore EFI folder (with serial numbers removed from PlatformInfo).
  • Is MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) disabled on the Z370?
  • The screenshot indicates that SecureBootModel may be set incorrectly (try Disabled or Default).
View attachment 523105
Yes, MSR/CFG is unlocked on this Z370 (I've switched over to this build now for the discussion/tryouts). I'm trying to find your 0.7.0 update page, unless you think at this point I should try the "beta" OC 071 zip that @Elias64Fr? posted. @CaseySJ I just downloaded the "OpenCore-0.7.0-RELEASE" package. Let me monkey with that for the Z370 and I'll add it in a few with a note of whether I can boot Mojave from it or not. Thanks again.

Update: Welp...It seems that the Z370 can't be cracked past OC 060.
Update: I built a new EFI for the Z370 from "ReportEFI_OC0.7.1_149" and I got a stop saying that the Z370 platform is not supported.
 

Attachments

  • OC 060 EFI for Z370.zip
    5.7 MB · Views: 20
  • Unbootable OC 070 EFI for Z370.zip
    2.7 MB · Views: 19
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, MSR/CFG is unlocked on this Z370 (I've switched over to this build now for the discussion/tryouts). I'm trying to find your 0.7.0 update page, unless you think at this point I should try the "beta" OC 071 zip that @Elias64Fr? posted.
In your OpenCore 0.7.0 folder, change SecureBootModel to Disabled (refer to screenshot in previous post).
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
988
Motherboard
Asus ROG Z690 Formula
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What is the part number? I'd like to add it to Experiment Update #3.
CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W - white Corsair vengeance rgb pro. I actually have two separate but identical 16 GB (2x8) RAM kits. Technically you’re not supposed to mix and match RAM kits, according to Corsair it could lead to stability problems, but I didn’t know that until after I’d purchased them.

I’ve never had any problems in any system except on the z490 vision d bios f20 and that problem was ejection of usb devices during sleep if XMP was on. Since I’m running macOS from usb (Samsung T7 10 gbps), I need my usb drives to not eject during sleep!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
ASUS ProArt Z690-CREATOR WIFI
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Using a single module from a CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-2666 kit, my Ethernet and Fenvi Wi-Fi work.

I was using both modules in my NAS+Router custom build, but took one from it and put it in the Z390.

None of the SSDTs (DMAC, SBUS-MCHC, MCHC) are needed for this to work in my case. I think it's all down to RAM, which makes me wonder what the best RAM choice is for maximum speed and capacity, that still works with AppleVTD active.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
CMW16GX4M2C3200C16W - white Corsair vengeance rgb pro. I actually have two separate but identical 16 GB (2x8) RAM kits. Technically you’re not supposed to mix and match RAM kits, according to Corsair it could lead to stability problems, but I didn’t know that until after I’d purchased them.

I’ve never had any problems in any system except on the z490 vision d bios f20 and that problem was ejection of usb devices during sleep if XMP was on. Since I’m running macOS from usb (Samsung T7 10 gbps), I need my usb drives to not eject during sleep!
I'm going to purchase and test the black version. You're sure that four of them work on the Z490 Vision D? :)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07D1XJH2W/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,927
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Using a single module from a CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-2666 kit, my Ethernet and Fenvi Wi-Fi work.

I was using both modules in my NAS+Router custom build, but took one from it and put it in the Z390.

None of the SSDTs (DMAC, SBUS-MCHC, MCHC) are needed for this to work in my case. I think it's all down to RAM, which makes me wonder what the best RAM choice is for maximum speed and capacity, that still works with AppleVTD active.
  • I've also successfully tested a single 16GB module (G.Skill TridentZ).
  • @jiffyslot has successfully tested four 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz modules for a total of 64GB on Z390 Designare.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,301
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Not about Apple VT-d or Thunderbolt but I lose Hand-Off, Continuity AirDrop and connection to AirPods Pro after wake from sleep, but "normal" Bluetooth is still functional, I can connect to Magic Mouse, Keyboard
To fix issue I have to restart my Hackintosh
Any idea or fix ?
 
Top