Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It hasn't worked for me. Do I need to change the SSDT? I haven't used a lite/skinny one.

Asus X299 Prime Deluxe II
i9-7900X
4x16GB 3000Mhz DIMM
OSX 10.13.6
TB3 Titan Ridge (built-in) original FW 36
ANTELOPE DISCRETE 8

VT-d -> Enabled
DisableIOMapper (never was on)
Removed 'dart=0'
In your Clover config.plist, please try deleting DMAR as shown below (i.e. remove that line), then reboot (VT-d must be enabled in BIOS). Does AppleVTD now appear in IOReg?
Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 12.27.37 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the quick turnaround. Looks like 2666MHz alone may not be the answer.
I’m going to manually set 2666MHz when I get home. As noted previously, with XMP off memory defaults to 2667MHz.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,041
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you already enabled VT-d on your Z370? If so, what side effects are you experiencing?

By the way, if you remove the DIMMs from memory slots A1 and B1 on the Z390 Designare, VT-d leaving only A2 and B2 populated with 16GB DIMMs, does WiFi and Ethernet still work?
Vt-d is enabled on the Z370, but the Z370 fails to load the OS on any version of OC higher than 060. See build #2 in my signature also seen here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...7-8700k-rx-580-2x-dell-p2715q-4k-60hz.252989/

I haven't removed any RAM from the CaseySJ Z390 build because the Ethernet never failed to connect.
 

Attachments

  • OpenCore 070 attempt on Z370.png
    OpenCore 070 attempt on Z370.png
    26.4 KB · Views: 19

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Vt-d is enabled on the Z370, but the Z370 fails to load the OS on any version of OC higher than 060. ...
This can happen if some of the Kexts and/or Drivers were not properly updated along with OpenCore itself. If you like, you may compress and post your OC 0.6.0 and the newer OpenCore EFI folder (with serial numbers removed from PlatformInfo).
  • Is MSR 0xE2 (CFG-Lock) disabled on the Z370?
  • The screenshot indicates that SecureBootModel may be set incorrectly (try Disabled or Default).
Screen Shot 2021-06-27 at 12.50.44 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Things I've done in order, without results.

1. Fully enable VT-d (in my case, just needed to set DisableIoMapper=false)
2. Load SSDT-DMAC.aml
3. Load SSDT-SMBUS-MCHC.aml
4. Try SSDT-MCHC.aml instead because like always, SMBUS activation breaks sleep for me
5. Move from the first and third RAM slot to the second and fourth.
6. Remove Fenvi card
7. Remove Aquantia card
8. Disable XMP, dropping me from 3200 to 2666
9. Loading OpenIntelWireless drivers for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
10. Turning XMP back on

I don't know if anyone else answered this when @CaseySJ asked, but Intel Wi-Fi dues not work for me with VT-d enabled.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,893
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Things I've done in order, without results.

1. Fully enable VT-d (in my case, just needed to set DisableIoMapper=false)
2. Load SSDT-DMAC.aml
3. Load SSDT-SMBUS-MCHC.aml
4. Try SSDT-MCHC.aml instead because like always, SMBUS activation breaks sleep for me
5. Move from the first and third RAM slot to the second and fourth.
6. Remove Fenvi card
7. Remove Aquantia card
8. Disable XMP, dropping me from 3200 to 2666
9. Loading OpenIntelWireless drivers for Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
10. Turning XMP back on

I don't know if anyone else answered this when @CaseySJ asked, but Intel Wi-Fi dues not work for me with VT-d enabled.
Please remind us:
  • How many DIMMs?
  • Capacity of DIMMs?
  • Brand name (Corsair, G.Skill, Crucial, Patriot, etc.)
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
419
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Correct. Clover does not work — at least I haven’t found a way. By now we should all be switching to OpenCore.
You surely mean Antelope and Big Sur? Running fine with Clover and Presonus here. No need for TB to Ethernet neither for me… Or did I missed something?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Please remind us:
  • How many DIMMs?
  • Capacity of DIMMs?
  • Brand name (Corsair, G.Skill, Crucial, Patriot, etc.)
G.Skill Ripjaws V 128GB (4x32GB) DDR4-3200. I'm using 2 DIMMs, the other 2 have been in my z590 since I built it, but it was sold as a 4x32GB kit.
 
Top