Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,894
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In almost all cases, the TB monitor almost never shows anything, or even lights up. I don't know if what I did works on the old BIOS, but the most consistent way for me to cause it to happen was to enter BIOS setup with a standard monitor (I'm using an LG 27UK650 over HDMI) then plugging the Thunderbolt cable into the LG UltraFine 5K (already plugged into AC power), waiting for video loss, then holding down the case power button and quickly pressing it to power back on.

The video import sounds interesting, as I suspect the BIOS fails to initialize the monitor on it's own without dGPU. I've also been curious how it handles in an RX 6800 XT USB-C port, but I haven't been able to get one.
@Elias64Fr,

Have you noticed any Apple video drivers (PEI or DXE) that we could import into the Z390 Designare BIOS? If so, maybe they could provide better support for Thunderbolt monitors during early stages of boot?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

I FIXED MY USB ISSUES!!!!

I now have full TB3 with Antelope and all working USB2/3 and Networking!!!!!!

I had to set ReleaseUSBOwnership in OCConfig to true!


The Antelope Remote Control Panel still disconnects from my main rig after 2 minutes. I am going to order more ram tonight to see if I can run more than 2x 8gb sticks.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G DDR4
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Are the DIMMs in A1 and B1?

Because each DIMM exceeds 8GB, it may be necessary to configure the Memory section regardless of how many DIMMs there are.

Once my liquid cooler is replaced, I’ll continue the tests on my end.
They show up under BANK 0/ChannelA-DIMM0, and BANK 2/ChannelB-DIMM0.

I'll try mapping the memory.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,894
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ @Elias64Fr

I FIXED MY USB ISSUES!!!!

I now have full TB3 with Antelope and all working USB2/3 and Networking!!!!!!
Awesome! Finally it works... :)

I had to set ReleaseUSBOwnership in OCConfig to true!
Very good thinking.

The Antelope Remote Control Panel still disconnects from my main rig after 2 minutes. I am going to order more ram tonight to see if I can run more than 2x 8gb sticks.
But from iOS there is no timeout?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,894
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
They show up under BANK 0/ChannelA-DIMM0, and BANK 2/ChannelB-DIMM0.

I'll try mapping the memory.
I tried this earlier today with two 16GB DIMMs. Alas, it did not work.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Awesome! Finally it works... :)


Very good thinking.


But from iOS there is no timeout?
Correct, There is no Timeout on the iOS application. The other observation I had is this:

-Boot System with Antelope Launcher closed : Remote System connects and can be used normally with no timeouts
-Antelope Launcher is then Opened: Remote system will stay connected for 10seconds-2min and then timeout.

Ioregistry Explorer will then have:
IOThunderboltFamilyUserClient Red/Crossed out
Apple HPMUserClient Red/Crossed Out
Apple HPMUserClient Red/Crossed Out
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
516
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
@Elias64Fr,

Have you noticed any Apple video drivers (PEI or DXE) that we could import into the Z390 Designare BIOS? If so, maybe they could provide better support for Thunderbolt monitors during early stages of boot?
Yes, there is 2 interesting graphic drivers : CoreEG2 and CoffelakeGraphics DXE drivers.
Both already imported on my custom firmware.

When I boot with "PCIe 0 Slot" on BIOS settings, theses drivers don't load on IGPU device.
When I boot with "IGFX" on BIOS settings, theses drivers don't load on IGPU device, another IntelGOP built-in driver has been loaded.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have my Z170X setup to have both the built in Alpine Ridge and Flashed Titan Ridge AIC controllers
Heres something for you all to check:

- Able to have USBC device and TB3 device working at the same time on a single controller (Mine currently defaults to the USBC device instead of TB3)
- Have both controllers show up in System Report under TB/USB4 panel (mine currently only shows the TR card, even though I have the working Antelope plugged into the Alpine Ridge and mapped correctly with SSDT)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,894
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have my Z170X setup to have both the built in Alpine Ridge and Flashed Titan Ridge AIC controllers
Heres something for you all to check:

- Able to have USBC device and TB3 device working at the same time on a single controller (Mine currently defaults to the USBC device instead of TB3)
- Have both controllers show up in System Report under TB/USB4 panel (mine currently only shows the TR card, even though I have the working Antelope plugged into the Alpine Ridge and mapped correctly with SSDT)
Is Thunderbolt Bus enabled on the Alpine Ridge? If so, can you post a screenshot of IORegistryExplorer that shows the Alpine Ridge device tree?
 
Top