Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,201
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hello @casey I am facing the same issue again and I don't know how its rolled back to older version of OpenCore I am unable to update it to latest version that is Opencore 7.0 please help sharing the screen shot for the same. Also Need help in resizing the EFI partition for my hackintosh. I am tired of this see every screen shot one says 6.9 is installed and other says its 6.8 I don't know what to do please help
You dont need to resize your EFI partition, simply select a back-up folder then try to update to latest OpenCore version available
Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 11.41.51.png
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,201
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
That confirms the assertion that two 8GB modules in the 1st and 3rd banks work without any config modification.
If you need more info about my system here is my Report Archive
 

Attachments

  • ReportEFI_OC0.7.0_206.zip
    4.1 MB · Views: 22

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,048
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @casey I am facing the same issue again and I don't know how its rolled back to older version of OpenCore I am unable to update it to latest version that is Opencore 7.0 please help sharing the screen shot for the same. Also Need help in resizing the EFI partition for my hackintosh. I am tired of this see every screen shot one says 6.9 is installed and other says its 6.8 I don't know what to do please help
Your EFI folder probably contains an “APPLE” folder. Delete that folder and empty the trash to make more space available.

Also see the red PRO TIP in the instructions:
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,048
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Quick Updates (on Z490 Vision D):
  • This system has two 16GB G.Skill 3200MHz DIMMs, in A2 and B2.
  • SSDT-SBUS-MCHC.aml has always been present.
  • BIOS F6 (official).
  • PlatformInfo --> Memory configured as follows:
Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 3.42.42 AM.png

Results:
  • With DisableIoMapper checked on (VT-d disabled), WiFi/Ethernet are OK
  • With DisableIoMapper checked off (VT-d enabled), WiFi/Ethernet fail to connect
Next Step:
  • Move DIMMs to A1 and B1
  • UPDATE: Moving DIMMs to A1/B1 causes a POST failure (power-on self-test)


Title of earlier post changed to "Problem Identified" instead of "Problem Solved":

Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 3.55.01 AM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2016
Messages
283
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** AppleVTD Ethernet/WiFi PROBLEM SOLVED **

If the motherboard has only two DIMMs (in slots A1/B1 or A2/B2) then Ethernet and WiFi are fully functional with VT-d enabled! I just removed two of the four DIMMs from my Primary Z390 Designare and now it's working fine.

NOTE: Requires 8GB DIMMs. Higher capacity DIMMs may need “PlatformInfo —> Memory” to be filled out.
@CaseySJ

For the record, in my misbehaving system I have 16 GB DDR4-3200 in A2 and B2 and have X.M.P set to Profile 1.

I may not recall correctly, but when I first built this hack I think if I put the DIMMs in A1 and B1 the BIOS wouldn't show the proper 3200 MHz frequency.

Edit 1: X.M.P set to "Disabled" in BIOS, memory speed reduced to 2133 MHz, ethernet and WiFi not active.

Edit 2: Filled out "PlatformInfo -> Memory" using CaseySJ's example and did not enable Ethernet/WiFi.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,048
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

For the record, in my misbehaving system I have 16 GB DDR4-3200 in A2 and B2 and have X.M.P set to Profile 1.

I may not recall correctly, but when I first built this hack I think if I put the DIMMs in A1 and B1 the BIOS wouldn't show the proper 3200 MHz frequency.

Edit 1: X.M.P set to "Disabled" in BIOS, memory speed reduced to 2133 MHz, ethernet and WiFi not active.

Edit 2: Filled out "PlatformInfo -> Memory" using CaseySJ's example and did not enable Ethernet/WiFi.
These outcomes exactly match my experience on the Z490 Vision D in which there are also two 16GB DIMMs, one in A2 and the other in B2.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,048
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

I may not recall correctly, but when I first built this hack I think if I put the DIMMs in A1 and B1 the BIOS wouldn't show the proper 3200 MHz frequency.
...
Good memory. I just moved the 16GB DIMMs into A1 and B1 on the Z490 Vision D. Result: POST failure.
 
Top