Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
271
Motherboard
ASUS ProArt Z690-CREATOR WIFI
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
** AppleVTD Ethernet/WiFi PROBLEM SOLVED **

@Elias64Fr @Inqnuam @yosoyoco @NCMacGuy @CODYQX4 @gandem @qthegaijin,

If the motherboard has only two DIMMs (in slots A1/B1 or A2/B2) then Ethernet and WiFi are fully functional with VT-d enabled! I just removed two of the four DIMMs from my Primary Z390 Designare and now it's working fine.

View attachment 522731View attachment 522732
I only have 2 DIMMs, but they are 2x32GB, since I put the other 2 I had in my Z590 build. They are 3200MHz with XMP enabled.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I only have 2 DIMMs, but they are 2x32GB, since I put the other 2 I had in my Z590 build. They are 3200Mhz with XMP enabled.
Are the DIMMs in A1 and B1?

Because each DIMM exceeds 8GB, it may be necessary to configure the Memory section regardless of how many DIMMs there are.

Once my liquid cooler is replaced, I’ll continue the tests on my end.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interesting. I tried pulling out 2 DIMMs on my board, and I'm still getting the same behavior with the networking bouncing on and off. The apple gigabit adapter remains rock solid though.
What is the size of each DIMM and which two slots are they in?
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
149
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Designare
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello @casey I am facing the same issue again and I don't know how its rolled back to older version of OpenCore I am unable to update it to latest version that is Opencore 7.0 please help sharing the screen shot for the same. Also Need help in resizing the EFI partition for my hackintosh. I am tired of this see every screen shot one says 6.9 is installed and other says its 6.8 I don't know what to do please help
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 12.48.00 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 12.48.00 PM.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 43
  • Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 12.53.02 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-06-25 at 12.53.02 PM.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 39

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,914
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, two DIMMs (16GB+16GB) in A1 and B1 doesn't work for me...
I’ve updated the post to say 8GB memory modules were used. For higher capacity modules we may need to fill out the Memory section. I have two 16GB modules in my Z490 Vision D. Will run some tests.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
525
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
No, two DIMMs (16GB+16GB) in A1 and B1 doesn't work for me...

Could you try 2 things :

Capture d’écran 2021-06-25 à 10.53.01.png


1. Adding attached SSDT-MCHC. MCHC is the Host Bridge/DRAM Registers. Maybe this is only a cosmetic IOReg displaying.

2. As real iMac 19,1 use A0/B0 slots, you can try moving them.

UPDATE:
  • On Z390 Designare, A1 slot is named as A0 on Apple system
  • On Z390 Designare, B1 slot is named as B0 on Apple system
  • On Z390 Designare, A2 slot is named as A1 on Apple system
  • On Z390 Designare, B2 slot is named as B1 on Apple system
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-MCHC.aml
    76 bytes · Views: 35
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
426
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Could you try 2 things :

View attachment 522753

1. Adding attached SSDT-MCHC. MCHC is the Host Bridge/DRAM Registers. Maybe this is only a cosmetic IOReg displaying.

2. As real iMac 19,1 use A0/B0 slots, you can try moving them.
Normally all should use SSDT-SBUS-MCHC.aml, with MCHC inside.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-SBUS-MCHC.aml
    252 bytes · Views: 36
Top