Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interesting!

When I disable I0Mapper I get AppleVTD but lose my BRCM4360! ARPT still loads but I've got the slash across the wifi symbol. Investigating.
On the Gigabyte Z390 Designare, the Fenvi FV-T919 is still fully functional:
Screen Shot 2021-06-22 at 9.43.13 AM.png
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
** Looking for one Antelope Audio owner willing to test new BIOS **

If you own an Antelope Audio Thunderbolt interface and ...
  1. You are running Mojave, Catalina, or Big Sur​
  2. You are using OpenCore​
  3. You are using Gigabyte Z390 Designare​
  4. Your Designare is running BIOS F9i (official version; download from here)​
... then we invite you to test a new Z390 Designare BIOS and slightly modified BIOS parameters and OpenCore config file. The goal is to see whether Antelope Audio drivers will recognize and work on your Z390 Designare Hackintosh.
Interested
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
484
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690 Creator WiF
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Interesting!

When I disable I0Mapper I get AppleVTD but lose my BRCM4360! ARPT still loads but I've got the slash across the wifi symbol. Investigating.
I'm having the same experience with these settings exactly. Apple Ethernet adapter is working, but the Fenvi card will not work. In fact, I'm seeing a message about the board in post, pre OpenCore.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmm, I just downloaded your EFI to see what you do for ARPT. Do you not use AirportBRCMFixup?
Correct -- we do not use AirportBrcmFixup because it's not needed for BCM94360 modules.
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Correct -- we do not use AirportBrcmFixup because it's not needed for BCM94360 modules.

You know what, I think in an earlier OS version I couldn't access the Handoff option in settings without device ARPT so I used the kext to do that. I just checked my settings and whattayaknow, Handoff option is there without the kext. Thanks for the tip.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interested
I see you edited your post! :)
  • With original BIOS, but Vt-d enabled, your Antelope Audio device connects, but Ethernet fails?
  • If so, can you please connect the Antelope Audio device and provide a screenshot of an application that shows it is working?
  • Also please run IORegistryExplorer and scroll down to RP05 section (do not use 'search') and post a screenshot of either DSB1 or DSB4 where the Antelope device is connected.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm having the same experience with these settings exactly. Apple Ethernet adapter is working, but the Fenvi card will not work. In fact, I'm seeing a message about the board in post, pre OpenCore.
Attached is the config.plist from my Z390 Designare (with DisableIoMapper unchecked and dart=0 removed). Please see if you can spot any meaningful differences between this file and your file.
 

Attachments

  • config-casey-z390-designare-vt-d.plist
    25.7 KB · Views: 38
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
I see you edited your post! :)
  • With original BIOS, but Vt-d enabled, your Antelope Audio device connects, but Ethernet fails?
  • If so, can you please connect the Antelope Audio device and provide a screenshot of an application that shows it is working?
  • Also please run IORegistryExplorer and scroll down to RP05 section (do not use 'search') and post a screenshot of either DSB1 or DSB4 where the Antelope device is connected.
Sorry, I was a little confused… the antelope was still connected to usb…
But I can confirm that ethernet fails
 
Top