Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
That would be pushing our luck! When it comes to matters of this kind, we should do only the minimum that is necessary. The backup BIOS should be perfectly fine; the issue is that the system did not automatically fallback to the backup BIOS. This does not mean the backup BIOS is defective. It just means that the conditions that would normally trigger a fallback were not triggered.

However, we can always do something like this:
  • Install the official BIOS F9i (available from Quick Reference spoiler in Post 1) with Q-Flash (from BIOS Setup).
  • During the upgrade procedure, I believe you'll be asked whether you want to update the Backup BIOS as well.
    • However, I would also advise against doing this.
Ok, I'll take your advice and leave it be.

Btw I couldn't figure out how you meant I should do the Y split so I did this :lol:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6160.jpg
    IMG_6160.jpg
    144.1 KB · Views: 47

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,965
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ
Re: "Is this Guide Applicable to Other Configurations?
Although the Guide has been tested only with the configuration stated in the Components section, it should be applicable to the following other configurations..."


Would this include my Z370 Aorus Gaming 7 (sans onboard WiFi)?
Ha, not quite. That section is for owners of the same Z390 Designare, but with slightly different other components.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
419
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Success! Thanks so much for helping me out @CaseySJ and @Elias64Fr! Working computer in basically no time. Plus I learned a ton.
Kudos! It happened to me with my Z97 Hackintosh: BIOS boot loop but unfortunately, I had flashed the Ozmosis BIOS for my board. As I understand (now!) from your situation, the backup BIOS probably tried to kick in but it was never updated by me. To resume, backup BIOS was probably from too early a version in my understanding.

I RMA’ed the board and bought the same ´cause I didn’t want to suffer the wait. I still have the old MB in its box and the Z97 is still working with the replacement board.

They probably just reflashed (or replaced) the BIOS chip @Gigabyte.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Kudos! It happened to me with my Z97 Hackintosh: BIOS boot loop but unfortunately, I had flashed the Ozmosis BIOS for my board. As I understand (now!) from your situation, the backup BIOS probably tried to kick in but it was never updated by me. To resume, backup BIOS was probably from too early a version in my understanding.

I RMA’ed the board and bought the same ´cause I didn’t want to suffer the wait. I still have the old MB in its box and the Z97 is still working with the replacement board.

They probably just reflashed (or replaced) the BIOS chip @Gigabyte.
Mine's still under warranty, and I could've had it repaired, but that could take weeks. Also no Z390 Designare in stock anywhere near, and this board is so good for hackintoshing. Just so relieved today to wake up and see the computer peacefully asleep, but happy to wake up and start working. :D
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
516
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Hello Elias,

When you say "copy them on same field on the downloaded BIOS firmware" do you mean the BIOS file I posted above, which was extracted using CH341a SPI ROM reader?


Once @Sapricot downloads the file, I'll remove it.
Hello @CaseySJ
late message… this GBe region copying is OK for your personal firmware as well as for Gigabyte website downloaded firmware. Better should be on a clean Gigabyte firmware (Nvram empty).
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
516
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Success! Thanks so much for helping me out @CaseySJ and @Elias64Fr! Working computer in basically no time. Plus I learned a ton.
Once done, you only have to verify if you have recovered your 2 MAC address (intel 219 and intel 211 controllers) on network settings.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2019
Messages
55
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare iMac19,1
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Once done, you only have to verify if you have recovered your 2 MAC address (intel 219 and intel 211 controllers) on network settings.
Yup, also confirmed by checking my DHCP server (assigning set IP per MAC). Do the two ports always have very similar MAC addresses? Mine are identical except last digit.
 
Top