Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
60
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
For the USB Hub yes that's the one, the NZXT AC-IUSBH-M3. No issue with it so far, my internal USB layout is like this :
  • Z390 Designare USB 2.0 header (F_USB)
    • NZXT AC-IUSBH-M3
      1. Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge (USB 2.0 header)
      2. Fenvi FV-T919 (Bluetooth USB header)
      3. Corsair Commander Pro (for which I used this"UPS" fix, a band-aid solution but it works)
        • Lightning Node Pro
      4. Unpopulated
Not issue so far, all connected devices work as expected.



I'm not, what would be the purpose of this ? I do however have an actual second monitor that is sometime plugged directly to the GPU but not at all time and it doesn't seem to make a difference.
My video output layout is like this :
  • AMD Radeon VII
    • DisplayPort Out 1
      • Gigabyte Z390 Designare - DisplayPort In
        • Gigabyte Z390 Designare - Thunderbolt Out (to use the onboard TB ports as video out if needed)
          • Usually unpopulated, sometime connected to the Ultrafine 5k for testing (it works fine except it's in 4k)
    • DisplayPort Out 2
      • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Mini-DP In 1
        • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Thunderbolt Out 1
          • LG Ultrafine 5k
    • DisplayPort Out 3
      • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Mini-DP In 2
        • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Thunderbolt Out 1
          • LG Ultrafine 5k
    • HDMI Out
      • Usually unpopulated, sometime with a WQHD HDMI display as a second monitor.

Hi @zakinster,

Thank you for pointing all of us to the Corsair Commander Pro "fix" for Big Sur! I may be doing something wrong, but I put "CommanderProFix.kext" in EFI/OC/Kexts and updated the NVRAM boot parameters with "-revbeta".

It isn't working as Big Sur still believes a UPS is connected.

I do have a few "iCUE Lighting Node Pro RGB Lighting Controllers" install also. Not sure (without opening things up and disconnecting them) if that could be causing it as well.

Did I configure the kext correctly?

Thanks,
Lam
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,916
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
After installation I have three boot option in my bios:
1. Old EFI USB
2. New installation USB with same EFI
3. SSD drive where the Big Sur was in, I put the same EFI folder into the EFI partition

I can only boot by #2. Both #1 and #3 will give me black screen with single blinking underscore before the opencore boot picker. The blinking underscore will show up right after I exit the bios menu.
Hello @zk2004mb,

If you have Bootstrap enabled in the OpenCore 0.6.5 config.plist, temporarily disable it from these two EFI folders:
  • New installation USB
  • Internal SSD
Disconnect the old EFI USB. Now the system should only have:
  • New installation USB
  • Internal SSD
Boot from the Installation USB. When OpenCore Picker appears, press spacebar to reveal additional options and then select Reset NVRAM.

When system reboot, try booting from the Internal SSD. Does it work?

If not, then perform a CMOS Reset by following the instructions in your motherboard manual. This will reset BIOS parameters to factory defaults, so configure all BIOS parameters properly once again.

Then boot from the Internal SSD. Does it work?


The second problem which bothered me more was the LG Ultrafine 5K monitor. (I have a dual monitor set, one is DP based and another is the thunderbolt based LG) It worked perfectly with flashed titan ridge card before reinstallation. All I needed was booting into OSX first, reboot, and did a hot replug.
But now, things changed. For the first cold boot, both monitors lit up, like before. Then I reboot, the DP monitor lit up, LG monitor won't lit up but all the USB devices work. At this step, everything is the same. But when I replug the LG display trying to activate the monitor, I wouldn't be able to lit up the screen, and I also lost USB peripheral devices.
...
Which firmware is flashed on the GC-Titan Ridge? Have you tried the DSM2 version that we recommend for Big Sur?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
408
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I noticed that a lot of ppl are on BIOS F9. I'm still on F7 with CSM unlocked. Is there good reason to upgrade to F9i or not really? Currently on Clover but it appears that OC is the way forward so I plan to make the transition at some point in next few months.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,300
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I noticed that a lot of ppl are on BIOS F9. I'm still on F7 with CSM unlocked. Is there good reason to upgrade to F9i or not really? Currently on Clover but it appears that OC is the way forward so I plan to make the transition at some point in next few months.
BIOS Releases Notes (from Gigabyte official website)
Screen Shot 2021-05-19 at 00.26.37.png


Its always a good idea switching from Clover to OpenCore!
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2020
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Mater
CPU
Intel 9900k
Graphics
RTX2080
Hello @zk2004mb,

If you have Bootstrap enabled in the OpenCore 0.6.5 config.plist, temporarily disable it from these two EFI folders:
  • New installation USB
  • Internal SSD
Disconnect the old EFI USB. Now the system should only have:
  • New installation USB
  • Internal SSD
Boot from the Installation USB. When OpenCore Picker appears, press spacebar to reveal additional options and then select Reset NVRAM.

When system reboot, try booting from the Internal SSD. Does it work?

If not, then perform a CMOS Reset by following the instructions in your motherboard manual. This will reset BIOS parameters to factory defaults, so configure all BIOS parameters properly once again.

Then boot from the Internal SSD. Does it work?



Which firmware is flashed on the GC-Titan Ridge? Have you tried the DSM2 version that we recommend for Big Sur?
Thank you a lot! I did exactly as you said, now I can boot normally from SSD. I also changed the quirks back to Bootstrap after reset NVRAM, no further problems.

As for the firmware, I remembered I used the one for Gigabyte Xtreme on-board controller. I haven't tried the DSM2 version yet. The firmware I was using was very stable for MacOS 11.2.1 before the re-installation so I never intended to change it.
 
Top