Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Nov 30, 2016
Messages
40
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Extreme X79
CPU
E5-1650 V2
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nope. They said it doesn’t matter if the firmware is flashed or not, and they said they need to remote control the computer. Honestly, for a price of a base Mac mini I don’t think it’s a fair trade.
So hundreds of dollars for a utility they don’t allow you to keep? @CaseySJ Did the person that reportedly tried this get a successfully modified TB3?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So hundreds of dollars for a utility they don’t allow you to keep? @CaseySJ Did the person that reportedly tried this get a successfully modified TB3?
Alas that person also balked at the idea of remote control and a high fee. I am not aware of anyone who has gone through the entire process.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
200
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some questions:
  • Did the Apple Magic Keyboard work in OpenCore 0.6.8?
  • Does a different USB keyboard work in OpenCore 0.6.9?
Yes, the Apple Magic Keyboard worked in OC 0.6.8
I've tried the same keyboard plugged in via USB (no bluetooth) and it doesn't work in the 0.6.9 "picker".
I'll see if I can borrow another keyboard to test.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,951
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, the Apple Magic Keyboard worked in OC 0.6.8
I've tried the same keyboard plugged in via USB (no bluetooth) and it doesn't work in the 0.6.9 "picker".
I'll see if I can borrow another keyboard to test.
It may be a good idea to re-check this keyboard in OpenCore 0.6.8. If it still works we should compare the UEFI --> Drivers section between 0.6.8 and 0.6.9.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
200
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It may be a good idea to re-check this keyboard in OpenCore 0.6.8. If it still works we should compare the UEFI --> Drivers section between 0.6.8 and 0.6.9.
Ok.

I booted with a cheap "Walmart" PC keyboard, and the OC .0.6.9 "picker" worked just fine. I was able to use the arrow keys to change the selection of Boot OS's.

I then rebooted with the Apple "Magic" Keyboard in OC 0.6.8 & 0.6.7, and the keyboard was unresponsive in the "picker". Which is odd, as I would have noticed this certainty before now as I boot Windows 10 about once a week.
Very strange for sure.

I don't see anything suspicious in the Config.plist files.

I have been into my BIOS settings last week. You don't think there's some setting in there that would cause this?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.07.14 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.07.14 AM.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 20
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
1,191
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Ok.

I booted with a cheap "walmart" PC keyboard and the OC .0.6.9 "picker" worked just fine. I was able to use the
arrow keys to change the selection of Boot OS's.

I then rebooted with the Apple "Magic" Keyboard in OC 0.6.8 & 0.6.7 and the keyboard was unresponsive in the "picker". Which is odd as I would have noticed this certainty before now as I boot Windows 10 about once a week.
Very strange for sure..

I don't see anything suspicious in the Config.plist files.

I have been into my BIOS settings last week. You don't think there's some setting in there that would cause this?
Yesterday I was reading OC latest official documentation and if I remember well there's a parameter in Misc that may overwrite/ be in conflict with AppleInput/Input

Try to making changes to a copy of your config.plist with OCC, maybe OCC supports theses parameters interdependencies
 
Joined
May 9, 2021
Messages
2
Motherboard
z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
Radeon RX 580 8gb
Final Cut Pro users:
  • If you have 2 AMD GPUs, how can Final Cut Pro recognize and use both?

I think I misunderstood some of what I read, haha. It seems the radeon vii's use amd's infinity link, with support up to 4 GPU's. I didn't realize it was unique to Radeon VII's/GPU's with infinity link. Evidently in a recent update of final cute, it brought support for that in Mac Pro's.

So that was what I was thinking, but doesn't appear it works for other AMD GPU's.

There are miscellaneous anecdotes from Final Cut users that I've see recently that have 2 matching GPU's. They claim Final Cut is spreading the load across them, while allowing them to select one of multiple GPU's specifically for rendering.

I mainly use Premier Pro. So I thought I could get a leg up by trying out multi GPU in Final Cut.

I believe with Premier and Media Encoder, though, multiple GPU's can be used for export rendering. It also appears there are some other software suites that are built for multi-acceleration. I am curious to give that a try.
Seems I misunderstood the problem. Both AMD GPUs should automatically appear in System Information --> PCI. Also check if they both appear in IORegistryExplorer (look for AMD9500Controller).

For some reason, only one shows up in both places. I made sure I didn't have the disable GPU in PCI-e 2 slot. But I do have (always have had) your SSDT for AMD Radeon RX580 in my EFI. I can't quite remember what it does. Could that be keeping it from seeing the second GPU?

I also have some custom output from hackintool when I switched my config over to headless mode. Not sure if that could be messing with it too.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ha, that was quick! Best post of the year! :)


Pondering a big decision right now...
I really tried to make Win10 work as my daily-driver, but I just didn't have the patience. I'm at peace now that I have macOS running again.

And, yes, the 6900XT works great. I had to install macOS with an older Vega 64, but afterwards I swapped in the 6900 and I was off to the races.
 
Top