Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
Intel i9-9900k
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Which NZXT USB hub are you using? There is a new Gen 3 that failed to work in my system.
For the USB Hub yes that's the one, the NZXT AC-IUSBH-M3. No issue with it so far, my internal USB layout is like this :
  • Z390 Designare USB 2.0 header (F_USB)
    • NZXT AC-IUSBH-M3
      1. Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge (USB 2.0 header)
      2. Fenvi FV-T919 (Bluetooth USB header)
      3. Corsair Commander Pro (for which I used this "UPS" fix, a band-aid solution but it works)
        • Lightning Node Pro
      4. Unpopulated
Not issue so far, all connected devices work as expected.

  • Are you using a DisplayPort or HDMI ghost plug to trick the system into believing there's a second monitor attached?

I'm not, what would be the purpose of this ? I do however have an actual second monitor that is sometime plugged directly to the GPU but not at all time and it doesn't seem to make a difference.
My video output layout is like this :
  • AMD Radeon VII
    • DisplayPort Out 1
      • Gigabyte Z390 Designare - DisplayPort In
        • Gigabyte Z390 Designare - Thunderbolt Out (to use the onboard TB ports as video out if needed)
          • Usually unpopulated, sometime connected to the Ultrafine 5k for testing (it works fine except it's in 4k)
    • DisplayPort Out 2
      • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Mini-DP In 1
        • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Thunderbolt Out 1
          • LG Ultrafine 5k
    • DisplayPort Out 3
      • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Mini-DP In 2
        • Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge - Thunderbolt Out 1
          • LG Ultrafine 5k
    • HDMI Out
      • Usually unpopulated, sometime with a WQHD HDMI display as a second monitor.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gygabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello @3908700,

This was brought to my attention a few days ago from someone who tried it, but they wanted to remotely control the machine and charge for the service. Alas the decision is up to each person to make.
Going on with the Antelope issues on hackintosh systems
I contacted them. The price is way too high, they offer a volume discount for 5 users. If anyone is interested in give it a try let's see if we reach the number. Sure, I don't like that much to pay for a mod but if it's the only way we must think about it.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
** Corsair Commander Pro Users **
Please see NOTE 7b in Post 1​

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 9.50.57 AM.png
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Going on with the Antelope issues on hackintosh systems
I contacted them. The price is way too high, they offer a volume discount for 5 users. If anyone is interested in give it a try let's see if we reach the number. Sure, I don't like that much to pay for a mod but if it's the only way we must think about it.
Did they mention what kinds of changes would be needed?
 

Rag

Joined
Jul 5, 2019
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,915
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes .. @CaseySJ GREAT !!!!

Thanks, it works.
Good job!

My only problem found now was in the startup of BIOS, which does not include the mouse and keyboard, I use a mouse and keyboard (Apple BT) .. any information to make it work?
Unfortunately we're not aware of any solution for this (yet) with the Intel Bluetooth module. But if you connect Apple Mouse and Keyboard via USB cable, then they should work.

I use Logitech wireless mouse and keyboard, which work in BIOS and OpenCanopy with no issues.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gygabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did they mention what kinds of changes would be needed?
Nope. They said it doesn’t matter if the firmware is flashed or not, and they said they need to remote control the computer. Honestly, for a price of a base Mac mini I don’t think it’s a fair trade.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Nope. They said it doesn’t matter if the firmware is flashed or not, and they said they need to remote control the computer. Honestly, for a price of a base Mac mini I don’t think it’s a fair trade.
This is not uncommon. It reminds me of Adobe. What they may be intending to do is to go into Security & Privacy Settings, L/Launch Agents, Launch Daemons, and L/Application Support to verify that all the right things and settings are what they should be for the Antelope stuff. If they're not providing a firmware or software update (which wouldn't require remote session control) -or perhaps running a special script, I'd be surprised if they could do anything beyond what you could do following the exact instructions for installing and running their drivers and software.

It is a very unfortunate and maddening situation. I know that you all have been dealing with Antelope for quite a while now without a lot of cooperation. Personally, if I my Thunderbolt 2 UAD Apollo 8 didn't work with my hack, I'd sell the Apollo, because replacing it with an SSL or RME or whatever would be cheaper than buying a $5K MacPro. -Even if I just ran my Digi 003R in Mojave via Firewire 400, it's only 4ms "slower" than a Thunderbolt interface.

I have no loyalty to companies whose service commitment vanishes the moment a return-period expires.
 
Top