Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,923
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...

However, in Windows 10, and I mean BOTH of my two installations of Windows 10, Thunderbolt is dead. This will not work for me, as most of my work is in Windows. :(

In Windows, I'm seeing: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

I've tried installing the latest Thunderbolt drivers (which were already installed before anyway), and now they fail to install.

Is there a way yet to have both working? What should I do at this point?
We warn people against BIOS F9j and we warn people about flashed controllers being less than perfect in Windows and Linux: ;)

Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 2.11.04 PM.png
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
98
Motherboard
ASRock W480 Creator
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
GT 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
That’s a wonderful article. It sounds plausible — copper is a much better conductor than aluminum. The Macronix chip might be more power hungry than the Winbond. That would certainly explain our past difficulties with the chip.

Are you planning to make the copper modifications?
My soldering wasn't up to scratch, so I order a higher quality clip that will accept the DuPont cables.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Struck by Thunderbolt.

Having flashed two Thunderbolt 3 chips on two boards successfully, I thought the gods of tech were smiling upon me.

In macOS, flashed Thunderbolt 3 support is perfect, from all I've seen so far. My Universal Audio equipment is hot-pluggable, and all devices are seen and accessible. [I am seeing the issue where Plug-Ins are going Disabled, but I think that is going to be easily fixable, just setting adjustments. If anyone has info on this though, please let me know. Thanks!]

However, in Windows 10, and I mean BOTH of my two installations of Windows 10, Thunderbolt is dead. This will not work for me, as most of my work is in Windows. :(

In Windows, I'm seeing: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

I've tried installing the latest Thunderbolt drivers (which were already installed before anyway), and now they fail to install.

Is there a way yet to have both working? What should I do at this point?
If you're using the GB Z390 Designare's onboard Thunderbolt and you're mostly concerned with UAD devices, you can probably revert your flashed Thunderbolt to the stock setting. I'm using the UAD Apollo 8 Quad (TB2) and hotplug works great with Mojave, Big Sur, and Windows 10 Pro beginning with OC 0.6.3 without flashing the TB chip. If you flash back, you may need to reinstall the driver in Windows. YMMV... If you don't need the UAD in Windows, maybe you can leave it be...
 

NorthAmTransAm

Moderator
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
1,719
Motherboard
MSI Pro Z690-A DDR4
CPU
i7-12700k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you're using the GB Z390 Designare's onboard Thunderbolt and you're mostly concerned with UAD devices, you can probably revert your flashed Thunderbolt to the stock setting. I'm using the UAD Apollo 8 Quad (TB2) and hotplug works great with Mojave, Big Sur, and Windows 10 Pro beginning with OC 0.6.3 without flashing the TB chip. If you flash back, you may need to reinstall the driver in Windows. YMMV...
I'm realizing more and more that ICM mode, for most of us, is actually the better option. I understand the obsession however.

I have an EX3 and an EX4 and they work more smoothly with OEM firmware.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
108
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
@Inqnuam - I just tested updating to 0.6.9, and when I clicked on 'Update Opencore', it crashed the app and I had to re-open via the Application folder. I think last time you mentioned it may have been code you forgot to remove, but it looks like it is still occurring after that change also.... Not sure if I am the only one with this issue.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
We warn people against BIOS F9j and we warn people about flashed controllers being less than perfect in Windows and Linux: ;)

View attachment 517552
Thank you @CaseySJ Yeah, I was well aware of the warning about F9j, so that was self inflicted. But I thought the only issue was the USB one, which didn't apply to me. Now we know stability issues may arise from its use as well.

OHHHH, thank you very much for pointing this out, "It may be necessary to boot to macOS first, then warm boot to Windows..." I just confirmed that DOES work on my system. That's what has been confusing me; I was certain I had tested Windows after the flash and it worked. Clearly I must have warm booted from macOS for that initial test. Not the most elegant procedure, but you know what... that will be fine for me, for the time being.

I still have my THREADRIPPER Designare TRX40 MB and I just need to get a 3970X for it. That will be my Windows machine, then my Z390 can become a dedicated Hackintosh.

Thanks again @CaseySJ !

Your wealth of knowledge and help is invaluable. You're awesome!
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
If you're using the GB Z390 Designare's onboard Thunderbolt and you're mostly concerned with UAD devices, you can probably revert your flashed Thunderbolt to the stock setting. I'm using the UAD Apollo 8 Quad (TB2) and hotplug works great with Mojave, Big Sur, and Windows 10 Pro beginning with OC 0.6.3 without flashing the TB chip. If you flash back, you may need to reinstall the driver in Windows. YMMV... If you don't need the UAD in Windows, maybe you can leave it be...
Thank you for your post!

It sounds like you just have the one Apollo 8, one UAD device. In my case, I have an Apollo Twin X and two OCTO CORE Satellites daisy chained. I think when you are daisy chaining TB3 devices is where the flashing of the FW becomes necessary. If you were able to test with one other device, then we'd know.

If someone could confirm if my understanding is correct, that would be great.

I tried before flashing (but I think I was still on Mojave at that point), and I believe with just the Twin X things worked (not 100% I tried that but seems like I did). But I know for sure when I connected all three, then it wasn't all good.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm realizing more and more that ICM mode, for most of us, is actually the better option. I understand the obsession however.

I have an EX3 and an EX4 and they work more smoothly with OEM firmware.
What do you mean by "ICM mode"?
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
We were just lamenting over how painless OpenCore updates have become that we no longer gain a sense of accomplishment. No pain, no gain.

And then you come along from the bowels of hell. And the balance has been restored.

May the 4th (be with you). :)
Well... I don't think OpenCore was ever a part of my problems. And I think you are correct; once I have all my issues sorted out, OpenCore updates WILL be painless for me as well.

Thank you for all you do to make OpenCore work so well with your methods and guides!

:thumbup:
 
Top