Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Do I recall correctly from a post a few pages back that you’re booting via Clover? If so, I recommend giving OpenCore a try. I just switched to CaseySJ’s EFI a few weeks ago, and it’s running great. I followed the conversion guide and used his EFI as-is.

However, I did have to do a fresh install of macOS; apparently there was some crud on my old drive that caused some GPU isses with OpenCore (described in my posts in this thread about a month ago). I hadn’t done a fresh install in years, so although it was tedious (I have lots of third-party audio apps and plug-ins to reinstall and authorize), it was worth it. I then did an in-place update from Mojave to Big Sur with no problems. I use one Ethernet port for internet (lucky to have gigabit fiber service) and the other for a Metric Halo ULN-8 audio interface with no issues.
Thank you Bobmeister for your reply.

It's funny, I had a Hackintosh way back when Clover was a "new thing" (so about 10 years ago)! I was only really using it for Final Cut, and switched to Premiere, so I stopped using it. I felt good that Clover was still being used today and made the process familiar and more comfortable; though after 10 years, I've forgotten most everything. :rolleyes:

So I am curious about OpenCore, as I have seen plenty mention of it by now, but know NOTHING about it. It's on my "list" of things to bone up on and move to, as I can see that's how things are going. I literally know nothing about it though.

I certainly do NOT want to have to reinstall from scratch! Lord help me NO... I just spent the last two days solid loading all my software and music studio production software on it!! So much so, I said, "It's time to do a Time Machine, BEFORE I make some serious bonehead mistake", (which I KNOW is coming)!

So thank you for the endorsement of OpenCore and CaseySJ's EFI. I suppose I should now make moving to OpenCore my next priority, and your comments have encouraged me to do so. Thanks!!

Hey, we have the same machine! Z390, I9-9900K, RX580 (but my 580 only has 4GB). :(

WOW... Fiber! That must be simply amazing! What is your down and up with that?!

Thanks again!! ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@BOTMT ...FWIW, I've had a lot of ethernet network disconnection/speed drop problems even with my genuine 2018 Mini since updating to Big Sur. 10 Gb and 1 Gb ethernet hardware setup changes into an irritating 100 mbps, but WiFi is solid at 1 Gb. But no problems with the hack's ethernet with Mojave and OC 068.

I don't put my machines to sleep. I rarely use Bluetooth and WiFi.
Thank Jiffyslot!

Hey I've seen a lot of your posts on Thunderbolt and UA equipment, so thanks very much for those!! I was looking forward to chatting with you at some point, so thanks for reaching out and your help.

Ok... thanks for that report as it has been really strange and spotty, which is unusual for me. I have Spectrum Internet, and it has been rock solid, no outages or issues for over a year now, and I don't have any issues on any of my other machines.

I recently had issues where my 1 gb/s links were dropping to 100 also, and it turned out to be my network cables. They were only CAT5E and sometimes they worked. Swapped them out for true CAT6 and all good and solid now.

For now, I'm on Mojave, as I was well acquainted with the disastrous launch of Catalina, and I remember well the days on my Hack of moving from one version to the next, and what a nightmare it always was. So I won't be making any such moves until everyone confirms the "coast is clear" for one version or the other. I also remember the issues with the Hacks going to sleep and you couldn't get them to come back, so yes, thanks for reminding me... I will be doing the same!!!

Thanks again, and take care. :wave:
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2021
Messages
62
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare F9i
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Thank you Bobmeister for your reply.

So I am curious about OpenCore, as I have seen plenty mention of it by now, but know NOTHING about it. It's on my "list" of things to bone up on and move to, as I can see that's how things are going. I literally know nothing about it though.

I certainly do NOT want to have to reinstall from scratch! Lord help me NO... I just spent the last two days solid loading all my software and music studio production software on it!! So much so, I said, "It's time to do a Time Machine, BEFORE I make some serious bonehead mistake, (which I KNOW is coming)!

So thank you for the endorsement of OpenCore and CaseySJ's EFI. I suppose I should now make moving to OpenCore my next priority, and your comments have encouraged me to do so. Thanks!!

Hey, we have the same machine! Z390, I9-9900K, RX580 (but my 580 only has 4GB). :(

WOW... Fiber! That must be simply amazing! What is your down and up with that?!

Thanks again!! ;)

Via Ethernet, my hackintosh gets in the high 800s or low 900s both directions. WiFi test from my iPad is attached - 436 down, 444 up.

If you have a vanilla Clover EFI with no special kexts or customizations, switching over could be straightforward. In short, you transfer system vitals into the OC config.plist, install the EFI on a [properly-formatted] USB stick, and try to boot from that. If everything looks good, you can then replace the Clover EFI with OC. (This is just a summary, though. Follow the guide, linked in the first post!)

I don’t know the term for a non-vanilla hackintosh, but if that’s what you have, I can’t comment on the transition, as I’ve only run a vanilla one.

Good luck!
 

Attachments

  • 7B19DDBE-978B-45A7-BDF0-5B62D89C8F2F.jpeg
    7B19DDBE-978B-45A7-BDF0-5B62D89C8F2F.jpeg
    104.7 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
137
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
SUCCESS! I just upgraded to Opencore from Clover 5122 using HackinDROM

I was trying to follow this guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...700k-amd-rx-580.267551/page-2666#post-2183794. Using a USB, I got the Ghostbuster sign after the picker menu. After trying a few things and failing, I opened up HackinDROM, mounted the efi on the USB, and clicked “Install OC”.
  • I chose Gigabyte Z390 Designare with AMD GPU and Broadcom (even though I don’t have wifi)
  • Under PlatformInfo, I clicked “Import from My System”
  • The ROM was empty, but I found the number using Hackintool
  • I clicked “Create new OC EFI” then booted from the USB successfully.
Then I copied the USB EFI folder to my SSD EFI. It works!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
114
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
Aorus RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone, is it possible to activate WOL from the power down system? I checked the wol option in bios but it’s not working (but works from sleep).

I’d also like to reboot in windows disk if needed, which is in the clover boot options but I cannot access remotely of course
@CaseySJ
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone been successful connecting the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 via USB-C to your hackintosh? I'm considering some hardware changes so I can switch back to macOS.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
835
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
*** Mini Guide: Using UEFITool and ifrextract to View Firmware Settings ***

Background:
...

Hi Casey, excellent article. As I explore more articles on this website, I get more and more impressed each time with the breadth and depth and quality of information you've provided to the community. You are outstanding! Thank you so much!

Regarding the modifiedGrub shell, I'm sure you know this, but just want to point out that the modifiedGrub.efi doesn't actually need to booted from a USB. Opencore can load this just like it can other Tools. All we need to do is to put the efi binary into the Tools directory of the opencore EFI folder, and in config.plist, add the corresponding entry to Misc->Tools. Do so, and modifiedGrub will show up on the opencore boot screen, and can be loaded.

I found this out as I was modding the Z590 Vision D BIOS/firmware for better Thunderbolt performance.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
74
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ

For a while now I've had issues with sleep not working and I just put up with as it wasn't that important. Well, now I decided to finish what I started and decided to tackle the sleep issue. -- Everything else seems to be working well per your OpenCore 0.6.8 mini guide, I used some of your .aml & kexts you posted there. I have almost the same hardware as your Z390 Designare build except without the T1919, please see below..

Gigabyte Z390 Designare
Intel i9 9900K
Sapphire RX580 (PCIE Slot 3)
EVGA 2080Ti (Slot 1)
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 @ 3200MHz RAM
Corsair H150i AIO Water Cooler




My hack would instantly wake up after sleep. I checked the console and it showed this: "Wake from Normal Sleep [CDNVA] : due to XDCI CNVW USBW/UserActivity Assertion"

Well I finally figured out what was causing the issue. It was the Corsair H150i Micro USB connected on the MOBO.

Once I disconnected it, sleep was good every single time.

I noticed that in Post #1 you had mentioned in 7a that I can disable the HS11 or HS12 ports on my MOBO.

I'm looking into disabling one of those ports but not really sure how to go about it. Can you please advise?


I have attached some screenshots of my ACPI & Kexts folder to this post. (See bellow)


Once I disable the HS11 or HS12 do I need to change any of the .aml files associated with the kext? I'm not 100% sure and I don't want to screw up my working build :crazy:

Also, is there any other kexts or .aml files that are not needed in those folders? I want to make sure its a lean but rock solid EFI folder so I can finally save a GOLD back up of it.


I have also attached my EFI if you wouldn't mind taking a few min to look around and also at my config.plist to see if I missed anything or if there's anything that's unnecessary.


Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • ACPI_aml.png
    ACPI_aml.png
    108.2 KB · Views: 28
  • EFI-DTM.zip
    4.6 MB · Views: 26
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
138
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
SUCCESS! I just upgraded to Opencore from Clover 5122 using HackinDROM

I was trying to follow this guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...700k-amd-rx-580.267551/page-2666#post-2183794. Using a USB, I got the Ghostbuster sign after the picker menu. After trying a few things and failing, I opened up HackinDROM, mounted the efi on the USB, and clicked “Install OC”.
  • I chose Gigabyte Z390 Designare with AMD GPU and Broadcom (even though I don’t have wifi)
  • Under PlatformInfo, I clicked “Import from My System”
  • The ROM was empty, but I found the number using HackintoolMegaRAID SAS 9361-8i
  • I clicked “Create new OC EFI” then booted from the USB successfully.
Then I copied the USB EFI folder to my SSD EFI. It works!
Wonderful! Ok, I am going to try going to OpenCore today.

I will have an additional challenge as my macOS drive is on an M.2 SSD, and Clover got stuck on a separate SATA SSD. So I want to move Clover to the M.2, get that working, and THEN do the upgrade to OC.

Though I've been trying to do a Time Machine backup before attempting this, but WHY is TM SO FREAKIN' SLOW?!!! OMG!

I'm going to try using My Paragon Hard Disk Manager 17 from within Windows to back that whole M.2 SSD up (and I guess I will do Clover while I'm at it), and it can do the whole 300GB a heck of a lot faster than 12 hours!!! To heck with Time Waster!

UPDATE: SUCCESS

Backed up my entire 300GB Mojave SSD in 23 minutes.

This is just a disaster recovery backup, all or nothing. I can restore the whole drive if need be, but more about this below.

I'm using Paragon Hard Disk Manager 17 Advanced. I've only ever used the Windows version, but I see now they do have a macOS version. I'm sure with the macOS version you could do individual file and folder recovery, just as you can with the Windows version. However, the below mentioned controller card does not have macOS drivers, so that is why from Windows it's all or nothing. So you could use HDM with other macOS accessible storage devices, for more granular back up and recovery options with HDM for macOS.

If you are interested in a highly robust storage backup solution with drivers and software for use with Windows, Linux, and Unix, here is what I am using with Paragon HDM:

- Broadcom MegaRAID SAS 9361-8i 12Gb/s SATA and SAS controller (No MacOS drivers as far as I know).

MegaRAID SAS 9361-8i

On eBAy: MegaRaid SAS 9361 on eBay
[This is an absolute crazy deal as also comes with the CacheVault Module, EnergyPack and two cables!

- SilverStone 8 Hot Swap Cases: These are fantastic! The backplane board allows you to plug in SAS and SATA cables for each drive at the same time (two connectors each)! So you can connect both to your onboard SATA connectors and an AIB SAS RAID controller. Then each slot you can hot swap in either a SAS or SATA drive. It's really amazing and very useful. You can buy additional drive trays for $8 (I have a bunch of them), so I have a lot of external drives I use for various backups.

On Amazon
SilverStone Technology SST-CS380B-USA DIY ATX NAS/Server Storage Computer Case with 8 Front Hot Swap Cases CS380B-USA Cases

On Amazon
SilverStone Technology Premium Mini-Itx/DTX Small Form Factor NAS Computer Case, Black DS380B-USA Newest Version (SST-DS380B-USA)

- Seagate 8TB 7200 RPM 12Gb/s 256MB Cache SAS hard drives (I'm using three in RAID 5).

On Amazon
Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5 | ST8000NM0075 | 8TB 7200 RPM SAS 12Gb/s 256MB Cache | 512e | Internal Hard Disk Drive

2ND UPDATE: Holy Crap, how is this possible? I just discovered in HDM... in Windows... I can access every file and folder from my Hackintosh backup I just did! I can even fully access everything on the EFI partition. FYI.
 

Attachments

  • Done in 23 minutes w hl.jpg
    Done in 23 minutes w hl.jpg
    206.5 KB · Views: 26
Last edited:
Top