Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That is very strange. Please try setting all of the macOS recommended BIOS parameters except XMP Memory Profile. Keep this turned off, then save settings and see if the OpenCore Picker appears.
Seems as though my earlier response got deleted, but wanted to repost the video links of what's happening to see if that helps spot the issue.

1. After I reset my CMOS the computer will boot to the BIOS slash and then into OpenCore Picker, from here I can boot into Windows (can't boot into Mac since the BIOS settings are the default, but I can boot into Windows so seems like the hardware is functioning normally?)

2. If I shut my computer off again and then boot back to the BIOS I can go in and change my settings to the recommended ones from this guide, however once I save them and load the computer no longer can boot into the BIOS splash screen and thus can never get to OpenCore Picker allowing me to boot into my Hackintosh

Any thoughts? Seems like it's a MOBO/BIOS issue as my Hackintosh was booting just fine a week ago before I left for vacation.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,998
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Seems as though my earlier response got deleted, but wanted to repost the video links of what's happening to see if that helps spot the issue.

1. After I reset my CMOS the computer will boot to the BIOS slash and then into OpenCore Picker, from here I can boot into Windows (can't boot into Mac since the BIOS settings are the default, but I can boot into Windows so seems like the hardware is functioning normally?)

2. If I shut my computer off again and then boot back to the BIOS I can go in and change my settings to the recommended ones from this guide, however once I save them and load the computer no longer can boot into the BIOS splash screen and thus can never get to OpenCore Picker allowing me to boot into my Hackintosh

Any thoughts? Seems like it's a MOBO/BIOS issue as my Hackintosh was booting just fine a week ago before I left for vacation.
I see that you're loading a pre-saved BIOS Profile. Some questions:
  • Was the BIOS Profile saved with a different version of BIOS?
  • What happens if you do this?
    1. CMOS Reset
    2. Configure BIOS parameters individually without using a pre-saved profile
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see that you're loading a pre-saved BIOS Profile. Some questions:
  • Was the BIOS Profile saved with a different version of BIOS?
  • What happens if you do this?
    1. CMOS Reset
    2. Configure BIOS parameters individually without using a pre-saved profile
I've done it individually and still doesn't work (used the preset ones in the video to keep it from getting too long, sorry).
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,998
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've done it individually and still doesn't work (used the preset ones in the video to keep it from getting too long, sorry).
I would suggestion the following:
  1. Re-flash the BIOS. Then configure BIOS parameters individually and see if the same problem occurs.
  2. If the problem persists, try changing only 1 or 2 BIOS parameters at a time to see if you can identify which parameter causes the hang.
    • First test should be with Load Optimized Defaults and nothing else. We just want to see if OpenCore Picker will appear.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I would suggestion the following:
  1. Re-flash the BIOS. Then configure BIOS parameters individually and see if the same problem occurs.
  2. If the problem persists, try changing only 1 or 2 BIOS parameters at a time to see if you can identify which parameter causes the hang.
    • First test should be with Load Optimized Defaults and nothing else. We just want to see if OpenCore Picker will appear.
Just reflashed the BIOS (F9i) and same problem is occurring, I still see OpenCore Picker initially after a CMOS reset, but once I try to make any change to the BIOS needed for the Hackintosh to boot I no longer get the splash screen to come up and nor does it eventually move to OpenCore Picker.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just reflashed the BIOS (F9i) and same problem is occurring, I still see OpenCore Picker initially after a CMOS reset, but once I try to make any change to the BIOS needed for the Hackintosh to boot I no longer get the splash screen to come up and nor does it eventually move to OpenCore Picker.
I managed to go 1 by 1 with the settings and it seems like the XMP to Profile 1 is what’s causing the splash screen to not appear. So I was able to set all the other settings according to what you lay out and then it moves into OpenCore Picker, however now when I click on any of my bootable Mac drives it just displays a white apple logo against a black screen (no loading bar underneith). Does this mean there’s an issue with my RAM?

Update: I re-did everything 1 by 1 with the settings and it looks like I forget to disable the CFG lock and everything was able to boot!! The only setting I left to the default vs your recommendations was the Extreme Memory Profile (XMP) and that seemed to solve the problem. Any idea what setting the to Profile 1 does? Is it needed or just a mild performance booster?
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 23
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Mr CaseySJ, :)
So I installed a 2.0 Titan Ridge GC card on my Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming without flashing it, but with an adequate SSDT (I guess !!!)
My LG Ultrafine 5K (Apple 1st generation) monitor is well recognized and functional, but my Samsung X5 NVMe SSD external drive (recognized in NVMe express system info and gone up on the desktop), freezes after a few seconds. This happens whether it is alone plugged into one of the Thunderbolt ports or with the LG Ultrafine also plugged in ...

An idea ? :)
Thank you in advance !!

PS : This Samsung X5 NVMe SSD works fine on my Gigabyte Z390 Designare with non-flashed Thunderbolt firmware...

PS 2 : After many reboots, plug-unplug of the device, it seems to be more stable with, I think, good performances (write : 1800; read : 2500 with Blackmagic Disk Speed Test)... But, when I try to use it as boot drive, it starts macOs and all is OK (finder...) but only for few minutes, after that, it freezes...

PS 3 : Sorry, but it's to be precise : now everything is OK... I don't know why... Maybe because now I have in system info-->PCI : pci144d,a808 contrôleur NVMe Express, gestionnaire installé : oui, logement :Thunderbolt@131,0,0 but I don't remember if I had it before (pict 2), when it wasn't working :confused:
I however think that my system is not perfect (OpenCore config 0.6.7 or only the SSDT). But, as often said, when it works, it works !!

And finally: is it possible to integrate this configuration into the HackinDROM app ?
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 09.49.42.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 09.49.42.png
    429.4 KB · Views: 34
  • Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 14.15.18.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 14.15.18.png
    332.6 KB · Views: 52
  • Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 14.22.09.png
    Capture d’écran 2021-03-30 à 14.22.09.png
    371.9 KB · Views: 36
  • SSDT-Z390-RP05-SLOT4-TB3HP.aml
    6.2 KB · Views: 22
  • EFI.zip
    11.4 MB · Views: 32
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
518
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi @zgonda,
My current hack is also a Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming/i9-9900K, and I bought the same Titan Ridge AIC weeks ago for experimental purposes. But I never found the time to install and configure it...
Could you please share your settings (SSDT, config, etc.)?
Thanks in advance ;)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @zgonda,
My current hack is also a Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming/i9-9900K, and I bought the same Titan Ridge AIC weeks ago for experimental purposes. But I never found the time to install and configure it...
Could you please share your settings (SSDT, config, etc.)?
Thanks in advance ;)
You've my EFI folder in my previous post :)
 
Top